Riders barrel down the start at Campus Cross. © Kenneth Hill, Light and Shadow Photography

Riders barrel down the start at Campus Cross. © Kenneth Hill, Light and Shadow Photography

by Dave Sheek

Round 15 of the 2010 SoCalCross Prestige Series of Cyclocross presented by H2O Overdrive

San Marcos, CA- With plenty of sunshine and dry conditions to remind racers of warmer weather, the SoCal series stopped on the grounds of Cal State University, San Marcos, for a fast, flowing, loose race that surprised riders with the tricky conditions. The race hosting was all family done, as the Hansen’s presented crossers with a warm homey feel.Elite Women

Christina Probert-Turner (Team SoCalCross) took the race from the start as she had her confidence up after being crowned women’s master champion the week prior. Amanda Schaper (SDG Factory) was on her heels and then took control on lap two. Unfortunately, a mechanical issue slowed Schaper making her visit the pits for a bike change. From there Turner attacked and held her gap to take her first elite win. After a couple of exchanges Schaper was back in pursuit and pedaled in for second on the day.

Behind the two was Dorothy Wong (Team SoCalCross) who led the chase and eventually soloed in a minute ahead of the next group for third. Fourth and fifth were Alicia Kaye and Angela Wimberly (Cal Coast) who chased hard finishing just seconds apart to round out the top five.

Elite Men

Ty Kady (Sho-Air), who has not raced much cross this season but has been very successful on the MTB, exploded out front to lead the race until the run up. From there it was John Behrens (Bailey Bikes) and Gary Douville (Platinum) who took control of the race. While the lead group was intact these two were on the front with a large dose of Behrens drilling the pace.

While the two controlled the race at the front, Jason Siegle (Bike Religion) was working his way back on the group after wadding himself up in the course tape on lap one. Eventually, Siegle was able to recover sitting in the group and attacked to lead with a lap and a half to go. Then with just less than a half of a lap to go Douville jumped the group and popped out front. Berhens put it all out and tried one last attack but crashed in a technical section leaving Siegle and Douville to duke it out. But, it was Douville who held strong to take the win with Siegle second. Behrens rolled in third with Kady behind for fourth. And, Anton Petrov (SDG Factory) came in to take fifth.

It was another fun week of racing and prep for those headed north to Bend, OR for Cyclocross Nationals. All others will have a nice week off and should look forward to the final round of 2010 and the Prestige Series finale, Santa Cross on Sunday 12/19.

For more information go to:

Photo Gallery

Full Results

Elite Men

Pos No. Name Club/Team
1 409 Gary Douville Platinum
2 406 Jason SIEGLE Bike Religion
3 401 John BEHRENS Bailey Bikes
4 156 Ty Kady Sho Air
5 152 Anton Petrov SDG Factory
7 402 Ben BERTIGER
8 143 Timothy SPARKS METAL MTN
9 157 Eric Bostrom Sho Air
10 160 Mark Nagy Dogfish Racing Team
11 155 Griffan Vertican Bear Valley Bikes
12 403 andrew DICKINSON
13 148 Dean Lihou Mudfoot
14 158 David Sheek SDG Factory
15 154 Jay Kwan The Team So Cal
16 405 Jarrod SHOEMAKER
17 153 Kyle Torres Sho Air
18 144 Matthew SPEER VCRC Factory Racing
19 142 Christopher BASSETT Mafia Racing
20 159 Dan Breyer Celo Pacific / Focus Bikes
21 147 David Williams Celo Pacific
22 145 Jesus Ortega Celo Pacific

Elite Women

Pos No. Name Club/Team
1 173 Christina Probert The Team
2 174 Amanda Schaper SDG Factory
3 169 Dorothy WONG The TEAM – SoCalCross
4 168 Alicia KAYE
5 170 Angela Wimberly Cal Coast
6 171 Lisa Crowe The Team
7 363 Denise Henderson The Team
8 358 Shannon Castle PAA / Remax
9 355 Antje HEINZ Team Ranchos
10 172 Virginia Clark
11 361 Maria Larrea Colavita / Outback
12 359 Maggie Bobbin
13 364 Kathy Dekold Canari Queens
14 357 Hannah Eckvahl The Team
15 360 Stacey Kotrla