The MAC Cyclocross Series has published the final 2009 point standings for its team classification and 15 individual classes for the 2009 season.  Winning the MAC Team Classification for the second straight year was the C3-Athletes Serving Athletes squad, led by Laura Van Gilder who also repeats as the Elite Women’s Champion.  On the men’s side, Swiss rider Valentin Scherz made the trip from Europe profitable as he not only became the first racer in MAC history to claim both the U23 and Elite Men titles, but also the first to win both titles in the same year.In the other Elite age groups, Zach Bender used consistent results and savvy scheduling to take the inaugural Elite Junior title, while Jennifer Maxwell added the MAC Masters 35+ to her palmares.  Mike Yozell and Blair Saunders took Elite 35+ and 45+ Masters respectively.  For a full listing of all classes see

The Series now moves to Philadelphia for its annual awards “MACquet” on January 9 at the Manayunk Brew Pub, details to be posted soon on .  One rider who will not be attending is double MAC champ Valentin Scherz, who has returned home in search of a Swiss National Championship to compliment his American titles.  But in a recent interview with In the Cross Hairs, Scherz gave one of the year’s better acceptance speeches, “I’m honored to have won your beautiful MAC series, because it’s definitely a good series, mixing good courses, nice atmospheres, good competitors and fun! …You have nothing to envy from Europe.”