Sanne van Paassen attacks Sophie de Boer and Nikki Harris

Sanne van Paassen attacks Sophie de Boer and Nikki Harris. ©Bart Hazen

by David Evans

ASPER-GAVERE, BELGIUM — Sanne van Paassen (Brainwash) won the women’s cyclocross classic in Gavere on Sunday, and marked her win by giving voice to discontent felt by the women’s peloton. The women’s race was run in cold and dewy conditions, very early in the morning. The early start time, lack of a truly equivalent Superprestige series for women, and lack of facilities open to the field drew fire from Van Paassen.

The super fast and largely dry course prevented those involved in crashes from regaining contact with the front. Thus, Helen Wyman (Kona), Sanne Cant (Telenet-Fidea) and Amy Dombroski (Crank Brothers Race Club) had their chances of victory scuppered.

Nikki Harris (Telenet-Fidea) was dropped by Van Paassen on the course’s long climb. A crash caused by Van Paassen in the last lap allowed the Brit to bridge back up, the same crash damaging Sophie de Boer’s (Telenet-Fidea) derailleur, preventing her from sprinting in her desired gear, although she still managed to come within a bike length of the eventual winner. Harris held on for third.

Superprestige Asper-Gavere 2011 Elite Women

1Sanne VAN PAASSENNED2440:17:00
2Sophie DE BOERNED2240:17:00
3Nikki HARRISGBR2640:21:00
4Sabrina STULTIENSNED1940:34:00
5Pavla HAVLIKOVACZE2940:45:00
6Helen WYMANGBR3140:51:00
7Sanne CANTBEL2241:05:00
8Amy DOMBROSKIUSA2541:34:00
9Joyce VANDERBEKENBEL2842:01:00
10Nikoline HANSENDEN2542:30:00
11Gabriella DAYGBR2842:52:00
12Hilde QUINTENSBEL4843:02:00
13Tessa VAN NIEUWPOORTNED2143:24:00
14Christine VARDAROSUSA4343:48:00
15Lana VERBERNENED2044:12:00
16Ilona METERNED3444:37:00
17Nicole DE BIE - LEYTENBEL3744:59:00
18Margriet Helena KLOPPENBURGDEN2445:10:00
19Kim VAN DE STEENEBEL2645:10:00
20Katrien THIJSBEL2745:10:00
21Vicki THOMASCAN4046:45:00
22Madara FURMANELAT2048:54:00