In his first race after the world championships, Sven Nys wasted no time in showing that he’s still the boss of trade team racing. Nys gapped breakaway companions Sven Vanthourenhout and Bart Wellens on the last lap, just after a sand section, and held his one second gap to win the Parkcross UCI C2 race in Maldegem, Belgium.

New world champion Niels Albert finished in 10th place.

Albert was not surprised with his lackluster result, blaming it on late nights and obligations since winning the rainbow stripes. “I have had too many celebrations and saw too little bed,” said Albert afterwards, reports.  “After obtaining my rainbow jersey I was dragged from here to there. Tuesday, again after midnight, I crawled under the blankets, for the third consecutive time. It’s logical that you can not perform. Of course, driving around with this jersey a kick. The public encouraged me greatly, but there was really no juice in the legs to perform well. I am glad that I am relieved of all those celebrations.”

New U23 world champ Philipp Walsleben finished an impressive 12th, just seven seconds behind Albert. Perhaps the soon-to-be-elite racer have a chance at repeating Boom and Albert’s first-year elite world championships wins next year in Tabor.

Lars Boom, who finished a disappointing 20th on Sunday in his defense of the rainbow jersey, skipped the Maldegem race, complaining of the flu.

Full Results:

Place Rider Time
1 Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago 57.27
2 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb-Projob 0.01
3 Bart Wellens (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team 0.03
4 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team 0.06
5 Thijs Al (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team 0.14
6 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Projob 0.19
7 Radomír Šimunek Jr. (Cze) BKCP – Power Plus 0.22
8 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team 0.23
9 Gerben de Knegt (Ned) Rabobank 0.28
10 Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP – Powerplus 0.38
11 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank 0.45
12 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) Team BKCP-Power Plus
13 Marco Bianco (Ita) 0.51
14 Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Sunweb-Projob 0.55
15 Christian Heule (Swi) RendementhypoCycling Team 1.34
16 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team 1.42
17 Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Rendement Hypo Cyclingteam VZW
18 Tim Van Nuffel (Bel) Rendement Hypo Cyclingteam VZW
19 Gianni Denolf (Bel) BKCP – Powerplus
20 Bart Verschueren (Bel) Revor-Jartazi Continental Team
21 Magnus Darvell (Swe)
22 Kendric Van Grembergen (Bel) Profel-Prorace Continental Team
23 Mattias Nilsson (Swe)
24 Jo Naert (Bel) Lingier Versluys Beachbikers Team
25 Freddy De Meester (Bel) Rijschool Ah – Gentse Vs
26 Dries Cauwelier (Bel) Cycling Team Cauwelier Roeselare