LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY – As the sun came out, briefly calming the snow flurries and giving a welcome moment of warmth to the racers, current National Champion Steve Tilford (Tradewind Energy) wasted no time establishing his lead. Though the holeshot went to Gunnar Shogren (Pathfinder of WV / Stan’s NoTubes), Tilford was ahead of him before the first turn and never looked back, slogging his way through the thick, muddy course and taking the win three laps later with a comfortable lead.

Steve Tilford wasted no time moving to the front in the first 100 feet, and within one lap had 40 seconds. © Cyclocross Magazine

Steve Tilford wasted no time moving to the front in the first 100 feet, and within one lap had 40 seconds. © Cyclocross Magazine

“It’s so slow,” said Tilford of the course. “You put an extra hundred watts in, you go a quarter mile faster. There’s no bike handling involved. Just trying to pick the wet lines. I’d like to do another lap.”

The man most likely to challenge Tilford, was Shogren, who qualified with the fastest time. The two former mountain bike professionals raced together in the 90’s, and Shogren recalls being in a break with Tilford and Don Myrah, another ex-pro who continues to race cyclocross at a high-level.

Shogren made a strong bid for the holeshot before Tilford took over, but soon rolled his tubeless Maxxis Mud Wrestler clincher on the first lap [see our Going Tubeless for cyclocross series and tire recommendations and thoughts on Maxxis tires being run tubeless], and had to run a large portion of the course to reach the pits, where he swapped out for a singlespeed while his crew replaced the wheels on his geared bike.

Shogren then had the ride of the race, working his way up from the back of the field to contest the podium, ultimately finishing in third behind Canadian Soul Sportif’s Peter Lawrence. Shogren is a tubeless convert, and said that despite having a basement full of tubulars, he’s run tubeless all season without a single burp. Today’s mishap doesn’t diminish his dedication to racing without tubes. See Shogren’s thoughts on tubeless in the Gunnar Shogren video interview below.

Steve Tilford Interview:

Peter Lawrence Interview:

Gunnar Shogren Interview (with Tilford Cameo):

2013 Cyclocross World Championships Masters Men 50-54 Photo Gallery:

Masters Cyclocross World Championships 50-54 Results

1Stephen TILFORDTopeka, KSTradeWind Energy Cycling Team
2Peter LawrenceSoul Sportif Racing
3Gunnar SHOGRENMorgantown, WVBackyard Bike Club
4Daniel LACHCincinnati, OHZephyr Wheel Sports
5Thomas PriceOverland Park, KSTrek Cyclocross Collective
6Robert ORANGERide with Rendall
7Ron HUEBNERWaterford, VAEvolution Cycling Club p/b Long
8Paul NYBERGAvon, CTTWZ Masters Cycling Team
9Robert ColbertTrinity, NCMock Orange Bikes
10Jeffrey APPELTANSPhiladelphia, PAMAMBO CX/GoCycling/Mid Atl Mast
11Derek GRIGGSSeabrook, NH0
12Geoffrey HOUSEGreat Barrington, MANorthampton Cycling Club
13Todd ANDERSENFort Wayne, INMen Of Steel Racing LLC
14Mark FEATHERMANElkins Park, PAGuys Racing Club
15John MANDROLALouisville, KYPapa John's Racing Team/Better
16David LuczynskiElgin, ILSpin Doctor Cyclewerks/Spin Doc
17Dave ECKELTrevor, WIKS Energy Services / Team Wisco
18John SHULLLibertyville, ILAlberto's Sport
19Jeffrey WELCHLenoir, NCFiets Maan Racing p/b Luna Cycl
20Hans RUSSENBERGERRV Merishausen
21William IrvingGardiner, NYFavata's TRT Bicycles
22Stephen SONGEROverland Park, KS360 Racing
23Mark MASTORASSan Bruno, CA0
24Ed BURGESSNewburgh, NYTeam Hammer Nutrition
25Rob ABELLSan Clemente, CABicycle Sport Shop Cyclocross C
26David HartCincinnati, OHZephyr Wheel Sports
27Andy LUCASLeawood, KS360 Racing
28Derek WILFORDEuclid, OHSpin
29john schmitzBargersville, INTeam Indiebike
30Bob BERGMANSharon McCrindle
31Greg CASTEELLenoir City, TNHarper Auto/KnoxVelo Club
32David LoweBala Cynwyd, PAPhiladelphia Ciclismo
33John McGrathWestford, MANEBC p/b Cycle Loft/Northeast B
34Scott STAHLFairfax, VASEAVS/Haymarket
35Timothy SheaAmherst, NHBlue Steel Cyclery
36Shawn DOWNINGBaltimore, MDCharm City Cycling LLC
37Hanspeter KUNZKunz Cycling Systems
38Jon HicksWinchester, VASportif Coaching Group/Western
39Mark HenryIncline Village, NVTeam Clover
40Christopher ADOLFEverett, WASCCA/Starbucks Cycling
41Charles STEARNSBoise, IDBobs Bicycles Cycling Club
42Gary MOONWinchester, VASBR Cycling
43Kenneth SmithNew Orleans, LAOklahoma City Velo Club
44Paul GERHARDTWoodway, TXSquadra di Tirapeidi/Jubilee Su
46William PITTLeawood, KSSlimenundgrossen
47Christopher FullerEast Aurora, NYBuffalo Bicycling Club Inc.
48Mike GETTINGERGlenwood Springs, CO0
49Neal ScottGears and Grinds
50Paul WATKINSHarrah, OKVillain CX
51Craig ROTILEDemarest, NJFinkraft
52Michael ShepherdHouston,
53George HLUCKPainted Post, NYCorning/NoTubes Race Team/Cryst
54William AndersonLawrence, KS360 Racing
55Joseph Christian(1 - Cat4)Edmonds, WA0
56Lonnie BROOKSRaleigh, NCGreensboro Velo Club
57John DZUBINSKIWarminster, PATri State Velo
58Mark BrownRowayton, CTCyclocrossworld
59Paul COLONLouisville, KY0
60John POLANDMacedon, NYFull Moon Vista Bike and Sport


Don’t miss our LIVE STREAMING VIDEO of the 2013 Cyclocross World Championships. And for all the latest news, results, photos and videos from the 2013 Cyclocross World Championships and Masters World Championships in Louisville, KY, keep checking our 2013 Cyclocross World Championships page.