Full 2016 USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championship coverage can be found right here.

The age group race reports are brought to you in part by Verge Sport.

#CXNats race reports from Wed-Saturday are brought to you in part by Verge Sport.

ASHEVILLE, North Carolina—The late afternoon today saw the Men’s 65-69 Championship Race storm the field.

It was John Ruger who led the 29 racers around the opening left turn to the delight of the crowd lining the start chute. But it was a short time before a small group amassed at the head of the race to dictate the pace.

Last year’s winner, Phillip Bannister (Putney/West Hill) along with Fred Wittwer (Charm City Cycling LLC), Richard Pearson (Team Kaos Cycling) and David Linden (Team Dayton Bicycling).

At the first pass of the off camber section leading into the barn, both Bannister and Wittwer slid out and went down, and it looked like there would be a significant reshuffling.

But out of the barn and up and over Ingles Heckle Hill and Wittwer was on the front and with the effort had strung out the leaders with Pearson and Bannister giving chase but not gaining.

Wittwer never let up after that lead swap and limited any mistakes to build on his advantage and put the title well within his grasp.

Fred Wittwer in command of the Masters 65-69. © Cyclocross Magazine

Fred Wittwer in command of the Masters 65-69. © Cyclocross Magazine

With one lap to go, Wittwer was up by 30 seconds over Pearson and was planning on celebrating his National Championship title. And he had reason to celebrate as he is just recovered from a broken shoulder and hadn’t planned on racing just weeks ago.

2016 USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships Men's 65-69 Full Results

1Fred WITTWERCharm City Cycling LLC39:05.
2Richard PEARSONTeam Kaos Cycling39:37.
3Phillip BANNISTERPutney/West Hill41:25.
4Robert OGRENThe Fix Studio41:54.
5Michael MEYERLocal Velo42:21.
6David BEALSnycross.com42:34.
7Kim BUTLER42:44.
8Thomas GEELift Center Racing42:59.
9Chuck GILLISNashbar Cycling Club43:02.
10David LINDENTeam Dayton Bicycling43:38.
11John RUGER43:47.
12Rick ABBOTTExcel Sports Boulder44:01.
13Hunter SMITHBoulder Cycle Sport/ YogaGlo44:09.
14Ken RODGERS45:06.
15Bruce OLIVERNational Capital Velo Club/Unit45:21.
16Nunzio DIBIASIDeluxx Bicycles45:33.
17Charles SOUTHSummit City Cyclocross Team45:46.
18Tom CARR46:02.
19Albert WEIGELVillage-Verdigris Cycling47:24.
21Christopher MORIARTYJays Cycle Center39:59.
22Jim MUELLERBikesport / Slyfox Racing27:35.
23Larry MAYSE29:36.
24Victor FABRICIUSNorthstar Racing33:20.
25Angelo DESIMONENorthstar Racing33:29.
26Harry FORTNEYAmes Velo34:00.
27Frank WIGMOREGuys Racing Club34:40.
28Norman WELLINGS37:49.
29Myron SEGALArrow Bicycle38:51.

Be sure to enter Verge Sport’s Cyclocross Nationals giveaway, details here.

Stay up-to-date on every 2016 USA Cycling National Championship race this week and other Nationals news from Asheville, North Carolina, right here.