The podium: Pauwels, Meeusen and Stybar. Bart Hazen

Pauwels, Meeusen and Stybar on the podium for cyclocross, all racing now in the Tour of Belgium. © Bart Hazen

We’re craving race results here at Cyclocross Magazine headquarters, and luckily, the Tour of Belgium has arrived just in the nick of time. Since it is the Tour of Belgium, it only makes sense that a quick look down the start list reveals nearly all of the Euro cyclocross greats from the past season. In the first stage, Belgian racer Tom Meeusen (Telenet-Fidea) was the first cyclocrosser to cross the finish line in 10th place, followed immediately by fellow countryman Sven Vanthourenhout. In stage two, Vanthourenhout took 10th spot, and Kevin Pauwels, who had a breakout season in Europe this past year, took 12th spot.  With three stages left in the Tour, which cyclocrosser will take the win? Stay tuned!

On the US side of things, Jake Keough (United Healthcare) took 19th in the first stage. While Keough hasn’t been racing cyclocross much in recent years, he had a stellar record during his time in the dirt, and his younger brother Luke took the overall win in the Shimano Pro Series last season.

10 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet – Fidea
11 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony
19 Jake Keough (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team
48 Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
68 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Omega Pharma-Quickstep
88 Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony
109 Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP – Powerplus
122 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet – Fidea
125 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb – Revor
135 Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP – Powerplus
147 Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet – Fidea

10 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony
12 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb – Revor
19 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb – Revor
32 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet – Fidea
35 Jake Keough (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team
36 Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP – Powerplus
38 Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
48 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Omega Pharma-Quickstep
76 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet – Fidea
109 Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Euphony
126     Radomir Simunek (Cze) BKCP – Powerplus
127     Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP – Powerplus
150 Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet – Fidea