Sanne Cant continues an impressive season, highlighted by a double win weekend. © Bart Hazen

Sanne Cant continues an impressive season, highlighted by a double win this weekend. © Bart Hazen

(RUDDERVOORDE, Belgium) – A day after winning the 2014 European Championships, Sanne Cant (Enertherm – BKCP) claimed another top podium spot and her seventh win of the season at the 2014 Hansgrohe Superprestige Ruddervoorde.

Cant rode well through the sand distancing herself early in the race, holding the lead for the remaining six laps to take win. “It was not necessarily the intention to attack so early,” said Cant. “But on a technical piece I suddenly had a few lengths.”

Helen Wyman (Kona Factory Team) and Ellen van Loy (VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team) made up the battle for second place, unable to close the increasing gap to the race leader. Wyman was the ultimate victor, holding off van Loy after briefly being passed by the Telenet Fidea rider mid-race.

Filling in the remaining top five positions were Jolien Verschueren (Wielerteam Decock-Woninbouw Vandekerckhove) and Pavla Havlikova (VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team).

Telenet Fidea teammate and British National Champion Nikki Harris abandoned the race after taking a spill early in the race in the deep sand, citing mechanical issues.

2014 Hansgrohe Superprestige Ruddervoorde Elite Women’s Results

1Sanne Cant
2Helen Wyman
3Ellen Van Loy
4Jolien Verschueren
5Pavla Havlikova
6Karen Verhestraeten
7Eva Colin
8Monique van de Ree
9Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn
10Katrien Thijs
11Femke Van den Driessche
12Julie Boucher
13Hannah Payton
14Stephanie De Croock
15Christine Vardaros
16Shana Maes
17Joyce Vanderbeken
18Suzanne Verhoeven
19Meg De Bruyne
20Axelle Bellaert
21Gertie Willems
22Anja Geldhof
23Valerie Boonen
24Anja Nobus
25Jessika Timmermans
26Marijke De Pauw
27Ayse Cakir
28Chris Van Dorsselaere
29Mesude Senol
30Cindy Diericx
31Sandra Sintobin
32Busra …nder
33Maud Vandenbrande
34Maaike Lanssens