Lindine leading the Men's 30-34. © Mike Albright

Lindine leading the Men’s 30-34. © Mike Albright

It was Redline racer Justin Lindine’s 30th birthday today, and the new Masters racer celebrated with a solo win in the Masters 30-34 race today at Nationals. From the gun, he was off the front, taking the holeshot in front of last year’s National Champion Matt Shriver (Trek Cyclocross Collective), Kevin Bradford-Parish, Robert Marion (Raleigh/American Classic) and Brandon Melott (Team Soundpony), who quickly formed a group behind him.

The group separated early, with Lindine leading Marion, Shriver and Bradford-Parish around the windy course for the five-lap race.

Shriver faded into the chase group halfway through the race, and Lindine continued to lead Marion around the course, creating small gaps. But it wasn’t until the second to last lap that a bobble knocked Marion back and Lindine was able to open a large gap. Marion continued to hold second position by nearly a minute, followed by Bradford-Parrish and a chase group that now included Shriver, Ken Benesh (Evol Elite Racing), William Iaia (Groove Subaru Excel Sports), Michael Burleigh (Primal Audio Denver), Brad Cole (KCCX Fuji Elite Cyclocross Team).

“If this wasn’t at altitude, I would be unhappy, but that was my worry. I made one small mistake, front wheel slipped, got tangled in tape and had to pit, and that was just what he needed.”

Lindine’s gap stayed steady at a minute, but a refreshed Shriver was closing on Bradford-Parrish, who he passed in the last lap and began to close on Marion.

Lindine came in for the win, followed by Marion and Shriver. “Robert was pushing me pretty hard for a while,” Lindine explained. “I put a lot into the first lap hoping that I would get away. He had a small bobble and I took advantage of that.”

“It was super fun. I liked having some mud for a change,” he added. “I’ve wanted this for a long time. It’s pretty awesome.”

Gallery below results.

Masters Men 30-34 Race Results at 2014 USA Cycling National Championship of Cyclocross

1154LINDINEJustinTeam Redline
5120BENESHKenEvol Elite Racing
6145IAIAWilliamGroove Subaru Excel Sports
7123BURLEIGHMichaelPrimal - Audi Denver
8183STELLJESCoreyRacers Against Childhood Cancer
9152LEMKENicholasScalo Veloce
10136FLISMarkX-Men The
11149KLUCKJeffQueen City Cycling
13182COLEBradKCCX Fuji Elite Cyclocross Team
14148KLISHJohnFeedback Sports Racing
15158MELOTTBrandonTeam Soundpony
16164REARDONAndrewBob's Red Mill Cyclocross
17147KEOGHQuinnHarmony Systems Pro Cycling
18170ST GERMAINAdamNew Hampshire Cycling Club
19132DOLLJustinX-Men The
20166SCHAFFNERNickMarc Pro - Strava
21179WILKMichaelDurango Wheel Club
22161PIRIEBrettGroove Subaru Excel Sports
23125CARLSONEricTeam Edge
24139HARBUCKandrewAlpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru
27159MILLSFredMinnesota Cycling Team
28178WHITNEYJoshEvol Elite Racing
29155LUNDGRENEricJBV Coaching
30181THOMPSONCalebColavita Racing Inc.
31119BARCHECKAaronTeam Small Batch
32117ALLENWilliamFeedback Sports Racing
33146JACKSONGregFoxtrot Racing
36143HOLBROOKJasonMad Alchemy Rider Cooperative
37151LEEZachTeam Small Batch
39135FIVEHOUSEAdamPrimal - Audi Denver
40150KWANJayThe TEAM
42116ABRAHAMSONGregoryBoulder Cycle Sport
43175VAUGHNAaronRally Sport Cycling Team
45173THAYERRobertSonic Boom Racing
46176WEISJoshColavita Racing Inc.
49165REIMANNAndrewTeam Yacht Club
50157MARSHALLLucasMidwest Cycling Community NE
52167SCHNEIDERDanielType One United
58174THOMASDavidAsheville Cyclocross
59142HEUGELJudsonCharm City Cycling LLC
60137GETTERGarrettTeam Small Batch
61172SUDANRobinsonSemi-Tough Cycling Club
DNF127CLARKELucasPrimal - Audi Denver

Birthday Boy Justin Lindine Takes Men’s 30-34 Win at the 2014 National Cyclocross Championships – Gallery by Mike Albright

For all the best Cyclocross Nationals 2014 coverage, including bike profiles, race reports, results and video interviews, check out our 2014 Cyclocross National Championship Page here.