Adam Craig slid through the icy turns and enjoyed his singlespeed title-winning preride for Sunday's race. ©Cyclocross Magazine

Adam Craig slid through the icy turns and enjoyed his singlespeed title-winning preride for Sunday’s race. ©Cyclocross Magazine

by Ted Burns

The start of the 2013 Singlespeed Cyclocross National Championships. © Cyclocross Magazine

The start of the 2013 Singlespeed Cyclocross National Championships. © Cyclocross Magazine

VERONA, WISCONSIN — Without a cloud in the sky and temperatures almost hitting 40 degrees, the snow blanketing the ground at Badger Prairie Park seemed out of place. However, it made for muddy, slushy racing conditions: perfect for the singlespeed races today. Rocking his traditional jean shorts, Adam Craig (Giant Factory Off Road) took his second singlespeed win of the season (he won SSCXWC back in early December), followed by the defending champion, Bicycle Blue Book/HRS/Rock Lobster’s Aaron Bradford. Third place was scooped up by Wisconsin local Isaac Neff (Trek Cyclocross Collective).

Bradford was unable to defend his singlespeed title this year when 2010 national champion Craig stormed the first hill to take an early lead and the win.  “I didn’t mess up at the start, and I rode some pretty entertaining lines out there,” said Craig. “I don’t know if Bradford pre-rode so I had a little leg up on him on the first lap and got a gap.”

Aaron Bradford had a fast start before a softening rear tire struck. © Cyclocross Magazine

Aaron Bradford had a fast start before a softening rear tire struck. © Cyclocross Magazine

Bradford provided an early challenge the first lap but was hampered by a soft tire.  “I think I might have punctured on the first lap on the gravel descent leading into the barriers,” said Bradford as he squished his tire after the race.  “I’m riding sealant and it sealed up apparently. I figured running low and hitting the rim every once and a while would be faster than trying a wheel change and fooling with that.”

Riders were much more conservative than in 2012 race which was hotly contested between Bradford and Idaho ride JT Fountain.  Softer conditions created deep ruts in the course by the time the men started at 3 PM.  High cold winds started freezing water lining the crevices making each lap different.  Craig unsuccessfully attempted to hop the barriers the last lap after establishing a sizable lead and was quickly rebuffed despite his renown handling skills. Interestingly hopping the barriers on the last lap is exactly what last year’s champion Bradford did last year, but with success to gap his competitors.

The race for third was livened up by Adam Myerson who joined a chase group that included Isaac Neff, Jared Nieter, William Iaia, and Craig Etheridge (Raleigh-Clement). Neff, a Madison native and local favorite, was able to hold off a strong last lap charge by Myerson and Neiters to take third place on the frozen course.

Craig, who made a strong showing at the USGP event in Bend, Oregon, is a dark horse going into the Elite race on Sunday, and a dark horse to make the 2013 USA Worlds team [Read our recent post about the Worlds team selection process].  “I’m just going to try and do the same thing,” said Craig about the upcoming Elite race on Sunday.  “Take off, consistent laps, make no mistakes, try to take some chances in the corners, and ride fast.”


2013 Singlespeed National Champion Adam Craig Interview:

[youtube VEg0oflBUO4 580 380]

Photo Gallery of Singlespeed Men 2013 Cyclocross National Championships


Tune in regularly right here to Cyclocross Magazine’s 2013 Nationals Homepage for the most comprehensive source of Nationals 2013 info. We will be updating this page hourly for race reports, results, photos and videos!

2013 Singlespeed Men Cyclocross National Championships Results:

2013 Cyclocross National Championships Results Singlespeed Men

1Adam CRAIGBend, OR0:43:14ÊGiant Factory Off-Road
2Aaron BRADFORDSanta Cruz, CA45:25:00ÊBicycle Bluebook/HRS/Rock Lobster Cyclocross
3Isaac NEFFMadison, WI46:22:00ÊTrek Cyclocross Collective
4Jared NIETERSHaymarket, VA46:36:00ÊSEAVS/Haymarket
5Adam MYERSONDorchester, MA46:37:00ÊUCI CT: Team SmartStop p/b Mountain Khakis
6William IAIAEnglewood, CO46:38:00Ê
7Craig ETHERIDGESeattle, WA47:01:00ÊDonnelly Sports
8Devin CLARKSt. Louis, MO47:34:00ÊHub Bicycle Company
9Scott CHAPINSanta Cruz, CA47:37:00ÊBay 101/HRS/Rock Lobster/Bicycle Bluebook/HRS/Rock Lobster Cyclocross
10Brad COLELansing, MI47:57:00ÊKCCX Fuji Elite Cyclocross Team p/b Challenge Tires
11Alexander MARTINMadison, WI48:01:00ÊKS Energy Services / Team Wisconsin/Team Wisconsin
12Corey STELLJESMadison, WI48:02:00Ê
13Jesse LALONDEEly Mn48:41:00ÊTwin Six
14Trevor KOSSMadison, WI49:11:00ÊMagnus
15Travis BRAUNMadison, WI50:09:00ÊMagnus
16Joe CURTESMilwaukee, WI50:23:00ÊTwin Six
17Luke WOODARDMason, OH50:36:00Ê
18Eric NELSONSan Clemente, CA50:37:00ÊMudfoot
19Brad YOUNGPorter Corners, NY50:40:00ÊWoodstock Bicycle Club
20Micah FRITZINGERGeorgetown, IN51:04:00ÊMcDonalds Cycling Team/Peloton Sports Group
21Jeff CURTESMenomonee Falls, WI51:08:00ÊSpeedvagen Racing
22Isaac YOUNGMinneapolis, MN51:15:00Ê
23Walid ABU GHAZALEHChicago, IL52:03:00ÊThe Pony Shop
24Kailin WATERMANOakland, CA52:14:00Ê
25Lee UNWINMadison, WI52:41:00Ê
26Adam RACHUBINSKICentennial, CO53:41:00ÊGroove Subaru-Alpha Bicycle Co
27Daniel CASPERNorthfield, MN54:05:00ÊRevolution Cycle/Twin Six
28Kristopher AUERBaltimore, MD@2LapÊCharm City Cycling LLC
29Michael CURTESMequon, WI@2LapÊTwin Six
30Mark HARMSMadison, WI@2LapÊHTFU Racing
31Chris MCGEEGolden, CO@2LapÊFeedback Sports Racing
32Samuel DOBROZSILoveland, OH@2LapÊ
33Ernesto MARENCHINStow, OH@2LapÊTwin Six
34Alex WORKSanta Cruz, CA@2LapÊBicycle Bluebook/HRS/Rock Lobster Cyclocross
35Daniel WHEELERSt. Paul, MN@2LapÊGopher Wheelmen
36Derek GRIGGSSeabrook, NH@2LapÊ
37Jeffrey WALKERTully, NY@2LapÊ
38Brian MILNICKBennett, CO@2LapÊRoutine Leg Works
39Michael JAMESGainesville, GA@2LapÊDingo Race Productions LLC
40Alan ZINNIKERAliso Viejo, CA@2LapÊRitte CX Team
41Steve SCHAFERBarrington, IL@2LapÊVerdigris-Village CX Team/Village-Verdigris Cycling
42Rory MURPHYChampaign, IL@2LapÊ
43BRENNAN WODTLIBend, OR@2LapÊAll Access Racing
44James SUMMERSOverlandpark, KS@2LapÊSlimenundgrossen
45Joseph FORTINAlbuquerque, NM@2LapÊ
46Joshua ARENDSChicago, IL@2LapÊROBOTS <3
47Ross GIESELake Geneva, WI@2LapÊTeam Velocause
48Robert HIGGINSChicago, IL@2LapÊJohnny Sprockets
49Keith ORTIZChicago, IL@3LapÊHalf Acre Cycling
50Drew WILSONRochester, MN@3LapÊ
51Matthew PRIORMinneapolis, MN@3LapÊ
52Jonah THOMPSONAlbuquerque, NM@3LapÊHigh Desert Bicycles Team
53dominic LEONEWauwatosa@3LapÊ
54John GROSZWaupun, WI@3LapÊ
DNSMichael ROWELLBedford, MABikeway Source/Bell Lap Racing/Bell Lap Cycling Club
DNSMarcus BUSHMinneapoilis, MN
DNSChad BROWNFitchburg, WI
DNSMark BABCOCKMarietta, GADeeds Publishing/Nouveau Velo Cycling Team
DNSLouis KUHNEvanston, ILThe Pony Shop
DNSChristopher WOODYColorado Springs, CO
DNSJeremiah GANTZERBettendorf, IADouble I Cycling Experience (DICE)
DNSOliver VRAMBOUTBayport, MNThe Bikery Du Nord
DNFDavid SCHUNEMANDuluth, MNVelo Duluth
DNFCJ CONGROVERandolph, MACycle-Smart Inc.
DNFChristopher JENSENChicago, ILROBOTS <3