VERONA, WISCONSIN—While no one was surprised that Katie Antonneau took the collegiate D1 title, racing for Marion University in Division 1, what did surprise crowds was how close to her the D2 women’s racer Erica Zaveta of Brevard College was by the end of the race. Despite starting a minute behind the D1 racers, Zaveta plowed through the field ensuring her win and showing the crowd that she’s got mud handling down to a science.

Erica Zaveta of Brevard College cruised to an easy Division 1 Collegiate National Championship. © Cyclocross Magazine

Erica Zaveta of Brevard College cruised to an easy Division 1 Collegiate National Championship. © Cyclocross Magazine

As temperatures steadily drop in Wisconsin, a sign of what’s in store for tomorrow, the mud is slowly getting thicker and thicker, making lap times significantly longer as the day has worn on. Earlier this morning, laps were sup-10 minutes, but in the collegiate race, even Antonneau was posting 15 minute laps.

Collegiate Women Division 1

Antonneau took the holeshot, and was untouchable from the start. Brittany Clawson of Fort Lewis gave chase and was able to stay close to Antonneau through the first set of barriers, but it was readily apparent that the race was Antonneau’s to lose. Behind the two, a group consisting of Kimberly Flynn (UNC), Sofie Gomez-Villafane (Fort Lewis), Kaylan Comer (Virginia Polytechnic), and Sarah Sturm (Fort Lewis) chased.

By the second lap, Antonneau and Clawson retained first and second, and Flynn had moved into third spot well ahead of the rest of the group. Behind them, D1 and D2 racers became intermixed and spread out across the entire course. With one to go, Flynn had moved into second spot, and Sturnm and Gomez Villafane were chasing for third.

Collegiate Women Division 2

While Zaveta’s early lead was nearly unstoppable, early action between second and third – MIT’s Christina Birch and University of Denver’s Rebecca Gross – was heating up. Gross had the initial gap on Birch, but halfway through, Birch caught the U Denver rider and began to dig in, slowly creating a gap and passing all but a couple of the Division 1 racers. The top three racers were literally minutes ahead of the rest of their strung out field, and in both D1 and D2, a lot of the women were pulled before having to do a third lap.

The gaps remained for the entire race, and while Zaveta took the win, a beaming Birch took second and Gross sailed in for third.

Interview with Katie Antonneau:

[youtube wRFTxxfXT04 580 380]

Interview with Erica Zaveta:

[youtube cVnBL_vT_B0 580 380]

Don’t forget to enter to win a trip to Worlds courtesy of  Raleigh!

Collegiate Women D1 and D2 Photo Gallery:

Tune in regularly right here to Cyclocross Magazine’s 2013 National Championship Homepage for the most comprehensive source of Nationals 2013 info. We will be updating this page hourly for race reports, results, photos and videos!

2013 Cyclocross National Championships - Collegiate Women Division 1 Results

Place BibNameCity, StateTime Team
1451 Kaitlin ANTONNEAU   Racine, WI0:44:49 Marian University
2480 Kimberly Flynn   Hixson, TN47:17 University Of North Carolina At Greensboro
3461 Sarah STURM   Durango, CO47:56 Fort Lewis College
4465 Sofia Gomez Villafane   Durango, CO48:00 Fort Lewis College
5452 Coryn RIVERA   Tustin, CA49:01 Marian University
6486 Kaylan COMER   Blacksburg, VA49:14 Virginia Polytechnic University
7470 Jessica KUTZ   Danville Pa49:44 Pennsylvania State University
8472 Katherine SHIELDS   Salisbury, NC50:57 Lees-Mcrae College
9453 Jacqueline KURTH   Palm City, FL51:12 Marian University
10471 Emily SHIELDS   Salisbury, NC51:28 Lees-Mcrae College
11454 Allie DRAGOO   Grand Rapids, MI51:43 Marian University
12463 Brittany CLAWSON   Sandpoint, ID51:57 Fort Lewis College
13475 Erin DONOHUE   Norwich, VT52:02 Lees-Mcrae College
14462 Lauren CATLIN   Fairfax, CA53:31 Fort Lewis College
15466 Nathalie KRANTZ   Durango, CO55:24 Fort Lewis College
16457 Corrie KARAS   Rochester, MI55:49 Marian University
17483 Mollie BREWER   High Point, NC56:10 University Of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
18468 Sarah LUKAS   Eagle River, WI57:11 Lindenwood University
19473 Cinthia LEHNER   Greer, SC58:59 Lees-Mcrae College
20464 Matilda FIELD   Durango, CO59:48 Fort Lewis College
21485 Julie HUNTER   Richmond, VA1:00:01 Virginia Commonwealth University
22476 sarah hill   Banner Elk, NC1:00:02 Lees-Mcrae College
23477 Kaitlyn Lawrence   Banner Elk, NC@1Lap Lees-Mcrae College
24460 Suzie LIVINGSTON   Fort Collins@1Lap Colorado State University
25455 Emily ELBERS   Syracuse, NY@1Lap Marian University
26467 Lindsey DURST   Saint Charles, MO@1Lap Lindenwood University
27479 Mckenzie MELCHER   Mentone, CA@1Lap San Diego State University
28459 Jordan DUBE   Beverly, MA@1Lap Northeastern University
29492 Margaret ROBINSON   Madison, WI@1Lap University Of Wisconsin-Madison
30484 Grace CHAPPELL   Chapel Hill, NC@1Lap University Of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
31481 Morganne ENDICOTT   Lebanon , TN@1Lap Cumberland University
32478 Hailey SARAUSKY   Littleton, NH@1Lap Lees-Mcrae College
33456 Catherine HOLLIBAUGH   Carmel, IN@1Lap Marian University
34469 Ashley RETHEMEYER   Hermann, MO@1Lap Lindenwood University
35458 Riley MISSEL   Grand Haven@1Lap Marian University
36491 Cassey LYNN   Madison, WI@1Lap University Of Wisconsin-Madison
37482 Cathleen HAMILTON   Avilla, IN@2Lap Cumberland University
DNS487 Eva WILSON   Kensington, NHColorado State University
DNS474 Mackenzie FILIPPI   Banner Elk , NCLees-Mcrae College

2013 Cyclocross National Championships - Collegiate Women Division 2 Results

Place BibNameCity, StateTime Team
1181 Erica ZAVETA   Erwinna, PA44:57 Brevard College
2188 Christina BIRCH   Somerville, MA46:14 Massachusetts Institute Of Technology
3190 Rebecca GROSS   Lakewood, CO47:06 University Of Denver
4178 Allison ARENSMAN   Rutherford College, NC51:05 Mars Hill College
5187 Bailey SEMIAN   Mertztown, PA51:06 Kutztown University Of Pennsylvania
6191 Katy APPLIN   Winston-salem, NC58:04 Wake Forest University
7177 Addyson ALBERSHARDT   Matthews, NC@1Lap Mars Hill College
8184 Ariana DITTMER   Grand Junction, CO@1Lap Colorado Mesa University
9176 Laura RICE   Hendersonville, NC@1Lap Mars Hill College
10192 Catherine WATKINS   Evanston, IL@1Lap Loyola University-Chicago
11182 Nicole MIRANDA   Valley City, OH@1Lap Brevard College
12186 Stacy NORRIS   Grand Junction, CO@1Lap Colorado Mesa University
13185 Lexie MILLARD   Grand Junction, CO@1Lap Colorado Mesa University
14179 Sarah Felpel   Lancasterpa@1Lap Mars Hill College
15194 Kara UHL   Smithville, TX@1Lap Union College-Ky
16183 Allyson BEACH   Cleveland , OH@1Lap Case Western Reserve University
17193 Mary MARTINEZ   Austin, TX@1Lap Union College-Ky
18195 Jana EILERMANN   Brevard@1Lap Brevard College
19180 sarah huber   Jacksonville, NC@2Lap Mars Hill College
DNF189 Lindsay KNIGHT   Chicago, ILUniversity Of Chicago