Van Kessel Stuns in U23 Dutch National Championships – UPDATED – Photo Gallery

Pin It
Corne van Kessel on the top step. © Bart Hazen

Corne van Kessel on the top step. © Bart Hazen

Telenet-Fidea rider Corné van Kessel is the surprising Dutch Champion in the U23 ranks. The first year U23 proved too strong for Ramon Sinkeldam (second), Mitchell Huenders (third), Tijmen Eising (fourth) and Micki van Empel (fifth) on the snowy “hellegat” course in Heerlen.

Micki van Empel took the hole-shot followed by Mitchell Huenders and Corné van Kessel. In the second lap Van Kessel made the decisive attack and Huenders and Van Empel were not able to follow. Van Empel dropped even further back as both Tijmen Eising and Ramon Sinkeldam past him.

Huenders was the only one who could stay close to Van Kessel, but in the final laps, he lost more terrain. In the battle for second, Sinkeldam bridged up to Huenders and left him behind.

Van Kessel didn’t made any mistakes and took the most beautiful win of his career thus far.  “I was not the top favorite beforehand and was hoping for the podium. I think I have to thank my victory on a really good day (f0r me since) I perform well in the snow,” he said.

Results- Men U23:
1  van Kessel, Corne Veldhoven 52:04
2  Sinkeldam, Ramon Wormer 52:20 0:16
3  Huenders, Mitchell Hoofddorp 52:40 0:36
4  Eising, Tijmen Emmen 52:55 0:51
5  van Empel, Micki Berlicum NB 53:02 0:58
6  van den Brand, Twan Volkel 53:11 1:07
7  van der Haar, Lars Woudenberg 54:06 2:02
8  van Poppel, Boy Moergestel 54:18 2:14
9  Smit, Kevin Arnhem 54:25 2:21
10  van der Horst, Geert Woerden 54:33 2:29
11  Hereijgers, Kobus Hedel 54:53 2:49
12  Moorlag, Henk Jaap Arnhem 55:05 3:01
13  Ockeloen, Jasper Arnhem 55:09 3:05
14  Hofland, Moreno Roosendaal 55:18 3:14
15  Arts, Edwin Overloon z.t.
16  Wubben, Niels Naaldwijk 55:28 3:24
17  Lammertink, Maurits Enter 55:33 3:29
18  Slenter, Kaj Reijmerstok 56:04 4:00
19  van Kooij, Nils Krimpen aan de Lek 57:00 4:56
20  van der Sanden, Harm Nuland 57:17 5:13
21  Schellevis, Rutger Stolwijk z.t.
22  Vermeltfoort, Coen Schuinesloot 58:09 6:05
23  van der Heijden, Rob Den Dungen 58:15 6:11
24  Smit, Mark Geldrop 58:44 6:40
25  Barkhuis, Bart Norg 58:53 6:49
26  van Beem, Tommy Tiel 59:02 6:58
27  van Nunen, Patrick Barendrecht 59:11 7:07
28  van Vliet, Luuk Mijdrecht + 1 lap
29  Roelofs, Robin Berghem
30  van den Ende, Milan Berkel en Rodenrijs
31  van der Weijst, Geert Reusel
32  Fransen, Casper Culemborg
33  Lommers, Marcel Sprang-Capelle

Photo Gallery



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!
Tagged as: , , , ,

Trackback message
Title: Social comments and analytics for this post
Excerpt: This post was mentioned on Twitter by crossnatz: Van Kessel Stuns in U23 Dutch National Championships
Blog name: uberVU - social comments

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.