Van der Haar started in the leader's skinsuit, and he would keep it at day's end © Bart Hazen

Van der Haar started in the leader's skinsuit, and he would keep it at day's end © Bart Hazen

by Bart Hazen

European Champion Lars van der Haar won the 2010 U23 Superprestige in Gieten, besting Vincent Baestaens and Tijmen Eising in the final sprint. Micki van Empel and Marcel Meisen finished fourth and fifth, while Superprestige leader Jim Aernouts finished in ninth and lost his lead to van der Haar by one point.

Due to the frozen course the race looked more like a road criterium than cyclocross. About 30 riders still had a chance to win the halfway through the race, among them  Mike Teunissen, Emiel Dolfsma, Gert-Jan Bosman, Corné van Kessel, Vinnie Braet, Wietse Bosmans and David van der Poel.

Despite several attacks, the first real split came in the final lap due to an acceleration of Tijmen Eising. It looked like Eising was on his way to victory, but it slipped away in a corner. A small group sprinted for the win with Lars van der Haar wining the race by a bike length over his rivals.

“It was easy to stay in front of the group. I knew I was the fastest of them so it was quite easy to win”, said van der Haar. “I don’t love this course, despite the fact that I won this race once in my junior period. It’s very difficult to make a difference on this fast course due to many riders showing up in the lead group you normally don’t see.”

“I don’t know if I would have lost to Lars if I hadn’t shot out of my pedal”, said Baestaens. “It was a difficult race due to the large group in front. It was constantly a change of position on this fast course. But I am satisfied with this result.”

“I took too many risks in the final lap and slipped away”, said Eising. “I gave 100% until the finish but I ended up as third. I am satisfied with this after a difficult season thus far. ”

Van den Brand Takes Win in Women’s Race

Van Paasen leads van den Brand and the rest of the women's field © Bart Hazen

Van Paasen leads van den Brand and the rest of the women's field © Bart Hazen

Daphny van den Brand ( won the women’s race in Gieten, finishing ahead of Sanne van Paassen. Pavla Havlikova completed the podium. Sanne Cant, Sabrina Stultiens, Arenda Grimberg, Reza Hormes, Joyce Vanderbeken, Nikoline Hansen and Martina Mikulaskova rounded off the top 10.

From the start van Paassen, van den Brand, Cant, Havlikova and Stultiens broke clear from the field. Cant and Stultiens were the first to drop off. Three riders turned into the final lap together, and Van den Brand handled the frozen and slippery course best, winning with a five second advantage on her compatriot. Czech Havlikova finished in third and was very delighted with her first podium of the season.

Czechs Dominate in Junior’s Race

In the Junior’s race the win went to Czech Jakub Skala. Skala, who was also the best in Contern a few weeks ago, was fastest in the sprint over his compatriot Vojtech Nipl. Dutch Jeroen Meijers won the sprint of the chasing group for third. Diether Sweeck, who finished in sixth, takes over the lead in the Juniors Superprestige Series from his twin brother Laurens. Laurens finished in 17th one day after his big win in the Koksijde World Cup. The two Czech riders dominated the race from the start.  Mathieu van der Poel took his 17th season win in Gieten by winning the race for beginners.

U23 Photo Gallery:

Women’s Photo Gallery:

Juniors Photo Gallery:

Women’s Results:
1. Daphny van den Brand (Ned) 38:30
2. Sanne van Paassen (Ned) 0:05
3. Pavla Havlikova (Tsj) 0:27
4. Sanne Cant 0:41;
5. Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) 0:46;
6. Arenda Grimberg (Ned);
7. Reza Hormes (Ned);
8. Joyce Vanderbeken;
9. Nikoline Hansen (Den);
10. Martina Mikulaskova (Tsj);
11. Evy Kuijpers (Ned);
12. Helena van Leijen (Ned);
13. Ilona Meter (Ned);
14. Iris Ockeloen (Ned);
15. Lizzy Witlox (Ned);
16. Margriet Kloppenburg (Ned);
17. Lana Verberne (Ned);
18. Lotto Eikelenboom (Ned);
19. Maud Kaptheijns (Ned);
20. Julia Schobben (Ned)

U23 Results:

1Lars van der Haar (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:47:50
2Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team
3Tijmen Eising (Ned) Sunweb-Revor
4Micki van Empel (Ned)
5Marcel Meisen (Ger)
6Mike Teunissen (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team
7Corné van Kessel (Ned)
8Emiel Dolfsma (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team
9Jim Aernouts (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
10Tim Merlier (Bel)
11Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
12Michael Boroš (Cze) Cyklo Team Budvar Tábor
13Ole Quast (Ger) Stevens Racing Team
14Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
15Vinnie Braet (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
16Twan van den Brand (Ned)
17Kobus Hereijgers (Ned)
18Kenneth Hansen (Den)
19Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned)
20Jens Adams (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
21Michiel van der Heijden (Ned)
22Kevin Eeckhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
23Max Walsleben (Ger)
24David van der Poel (Ned) BKCP-Powerplus
25Tomáš Paprstka (Cze) Scott Cycling Team Kolín
26Jelle Brackman (Bel) MTB dreamteam0:00:35
27Sven Beelen (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:00:45
28Karel Hník (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:50
29Angelo De Clercq (Bel)0:00:55
30Joeri Adams (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:01:05
31Maurits Lammertink (Ned)0:01:10
32Radek Polnicky (Cze)0:01:20
33Jirí Polnický (Cze) Sunweb – Revor0:01:30
34Arnaud Grand (Swi) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:01:35
35Jan Nesvadba (Cze) KC Kooperativa Sg Jablonec N.N0:01:40
36Jonas Guddal (Den)0:02:35
37Geert van deer Horst (Ned)0:03:10
38Bart Barkhuis (Ned) WV Meteoor Assen-Roden0:03:50
39Allan Veenstra (Ned)0:04:00
40Peio Goikoetxea (Spa)-2laps
41Lars Maris (Ned)-3laps
42Erwin Ketellapper (Ned)-5laps

Junior’s Results:

1Jakub Skala (Cze)0:41:30
2Vojtech Nipl (Cze)
3Jeroen Meijers (Ned)0:00:15
4Stan Godrie (Ned)
5Yannick Eckmann (Ger)
6Diether Sweeck (Bel)
7Xabier Goikoetxea (Spa)
8Jaap de Man (Ned)
9Dylan Groenewegen (Ned)
10Twan Brusselman (Ned)
11Jens Vandekinderen (Bel)0:00:35
12Tim Ariesen (Ned)0:00:40
13Jonathan Lastra (Spa)
14Tomas Medek (Cze)
15Pjotr van Beek (Ned)
16Daniel Peeters (Bel)
17Laurens Sweeck (Bel)
18Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel)
19Julian Lehmann (Ger)0:01:30
20Toon Wouters (Bel)0:01:45
21Koen Weijers (Ned)0:02:05
22Felix Rieckmann (Ger)
23Steffen Müller (Ger)
24Yannick Gruner (Ger)0:02:35
25Erik Kramer (Ned)0:02:40
26Xabier Rodriguez (Spa)
27Ondsrej Louvar (Cze)
28Jan Brezna (Cze)
29Tomas Bohota (Cze)
30Dennis Eikelenboom (Ned)
31Thybo Notredame (Bel)
32Johannes Cords (Ned)
33Emiel Arvid Olsen (Den)
34Max Lindenau (Ger)
35Jonathan Bilbao (Spa)
36Bryan Borowski (Ned)
37Bram Merlier (Bel)
38Marco Brienesse (Ned)
39Patrick Mulder (Ned)
40Lucas Carstensen (Ger)
41Sebastian Beyer (Ger)
42Silvio Herklotz (Ger)
43Martijn Dijkstra (Ned)
44Stephan Biesheuvel (Ned)-2laps
45Bert Wienia (Ned)
46Maarten van der Veeken (Ned)
47Sjors Dekker (Ned)
48Richard Hol (Ned)
49Nicky Gieskens (Ned)
50Tristan Timmermans (Ned)
51Rick Nobel (Ned)-3laps
52Rob Nijmeijer (Ned)