Pauwels and Van den Brand Snag Top Titles at Dutch GP Heuts, US Racer Jonathan Page Snags Fourth- UPDATED Full Results, Photos

Pin It
Pauwels takes the win at GP Heuts. Bart Hazen

Pauwels takes the win at GP Heuts. © Bart Hazen

HEERLEN, THE NETHERLANDS – GP Heuts is one of the last races of the season, but despite “battle fatigue,” the Euro pros (and some Americans) are still making it to the starting line. In the men’s race, Kevin Pauwels would prove dominant. He was followed 13 seconds later by Lars van dar Haar, who typically dominates the U23 races (and took the win at Cross Vegas in September). The two were followed by Thijs van Amerongen, and American racer Jonathan Page sailed in with a fourth place finish, easily his best of the season. [Editor's Note: stay tuned for an interview with Page tomorrow.]

In the women’s race, Daphny van den Brand took the win, followed by Sanne van Paassen and Nikki Harris. This is Van den Brands third UCI victory in a row. American racer Amy Dombroski finished 11th and said, “After a long break from competition, every race is going better and better. It feels like every time I gain another five minutes of effectiveness. At first I only had a good first lap, then a good first two laps. I should be ready to go by the end of the season … next week.”

The other American in the race, Christine Vardaros, finished in 17th and said she was, “simply disappointed. With such cold dry air, I was wheezing within a minute of the start. It took all I had to simply finish. I would have stopped in fact if there weren’t so many folks there to cheer for me.”

Results follow photos.

Bart Hazen’s Men’s Gallery:

Thomas Van Bracht’s Men’s Gallery:

Bart Hazen’s Women’s Gallery:

Thomas Van Bracht’s Women’s Gallery:

Men’s Results:

1Kevin PAUWELSBEL2859:30:008080
2Lars VAN DER HAARNED2159:43:006060
3Thijs VAN AMERONGENNED261:00:394040
4Jonathan PAGEUSA361:00:583030
5Gert-Jan BOSMANNED201:00:582525
6Bart AERNOUTSBEL301:00:582020
7Gerben DE KNEGTNED371:01:001717
8David VAN DER POELNED201:01:001515
9Emiel DOLFSMANED201:01:001212
10Thijs ALNED321:01:001010
11Micki VAN EMPELNED221:01:1488
12Twan VAN DEN BRANDNED231:01:3266
13Mike TEUNISSENNED201:01:4844
14Niels WUBBENNED241:02:0722
15Francis MOUREYFRA321:02:3911
16Philipp WALSLEBENGER251:02:39
17Patrick VAN LEEUWENNED271:04:24
18Jordy LUISMANNED271:04:24
20Kaj SLENTERNED221:05:30
25Thomas RIEFFNED24
26Talius KALINALTU19

Women’s Results:

1Daphny VAN DEN BRANDNED3437:50:00800*
2Sanne VAN PAASSENNED2438:00:00600*
3Nikki HARRISGBR2638:08:00400*
4Sophie DE BOERNED2238:26:00300*
5Helen WYMANGBR3139:06:00250*
6Arenda GRIMBERGNED3439:16:00200*
7Sabrina STULTIENSNED1939:16:00170*
8Reza HORMESNED4539:44:00150*
9Nikoline HANSENDEN2539:52:00120*
10Joyce VANDERBEKENBEL2840:00:00100*
11Amy DOMBROSKIUSA2540:00:0080*
12Iris OCKELOENNED2040:52:0060*
13Ellen VAN LOYBEL3241:00:0040*
14Evy KUIJPERSNED1741:00:0022
15Nancy BOBERBEL3741:25:0010*
16Yara KASTELIJNNED1541:55:00
17Christine VARDAROSUSA4342:11:00
18Margriet Helena KLOPPENBURGDEN2442:30:00
19Madara FURMANELAT2043:27:00



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!
Tagged as: , ,

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.