Tom Meeusen reeling in the leader © Bart Hazen

Tom Meeusen reeling in the leader © Bart Hazen

Tom Meeusen and Daphny van den Brand have take their first wins of the season in the Kiremko Nacht van Woerden. Both won solo in the night race under the lights.

by Bart Hazen

Woerden, Netherlands – Belgian Tom Meeusen took his first win of the season in the 2010 Kiremko Nacht van Woerden. The Telenet-Fidea rider, added to the field a day before the race due to illness of his teammate Bart Wellens, was too strong for the Rabobank-Giant Offroad duo of Bart Aernouts and Gerben de Knegt. Christophe Pfingsten and Tom van den Bosch finished as fourth and fifth. British rider Ian Field had an impressive ride to snag sixth place. Both Meeusen and Tom Peeters had also been controversially left off of the Belgian World Cup contingent, which is limited to eight riders per country.

Dutchmen Gerben de Knegt and Thijs van Amerongen took the holeshot, followed by Bart Aernouts, Christophe Pfingsten and British Ian Field, among others. The strong and surprising Pfingsten took control in the second lap and led the race for about three laps, followed by a large group with the favorites Aernouts, Meeusen, de Knegt and Dieter Vanthourenhout.

Bart Aernouts would claim another second place © Bart Hazen

Bart Aernouts would claim another second place © Bart Hazen

About halfway through the race, Aernouts took control. Meeusen took over one lap later, and Aernouts wasn’t able to follow the pace of the young Belgian. Aernouts dropped back to the chasing duo De Knegt and Pfingsten in the battle for second.

The impressing Meeusen extended his lead lap by lap and was making a real one-man show of it. He was even animating the public by jumping over the planks on the course. The battle for second was  decided in the final lap when Aernouts attacked his companions on the barriers.

Meeusen was excited by his first Elite win. “I’m very happy with this win. It’s my first win in an A-Cross. Last year I was close several times between racing the pros and the U23s,” says Meeusen. “I had a bad start, but once I got in front I quickly created a gap on my competitors. The past weeks I trained hard as I wasn’t selected for the first two World Cups, but all the work luckily paid off.” Aernouts took his third second place of the season after Erpe-Mere and Ruddervoorde. “It didn’t go badly today, but I wasn’t super. It was a course with lots of turns, and I couldn’t answer the attack of Tom. He just was a little better today. The feeling is still good and I am going to make the best of it in the next races.”

The win in the U23 race went to Twan van den Brand. Micki van Empel finished in second, with Mike Teunissen third. 

Van den Brand on the run © Bart Hazen

Van den Brand on the run © Bart Hazen

Van den Brand beats Van Paassen
Daphny van den Brand (ZZPR) took her first win of the season in Woerden after four second places. Van den Brand profited from a small mistake by Sanne van Paassen in the final lap. Britain’s Helen Wyman finished third, Pavla Havlikova fourth and Sanne Cant filled out the top five. Van den Brand and van Paassen animated the race from start to finish. Dutch Reza Hormed was less fortunate as she crashed badly and had to be transfered to the hospital.

“It’s a special win”, said Van den Brand. “It’s the only night ’cross, and it just has something special. The course was slippery due to the rain and it was necessary to take fewer risks in the corners. In the final lap I guess Sanne took a little too many risks as she went down in one of the corners.”

Cyclocross Magazine regular contributor had a strong ride to claim 20th, the last point-scoring position.

The wins in the other races went to Sabrina Stultiens (Junior Women), Evy Kuipers (Beginner Women) and Danny van Poppel (Junior Women). Full results beneath the Photo Gallery.

Photo Gallery:

Full Elite Results:


1.Daphny Van Den Brand25-
2.Sanne Van PaassenBrainwash23-
3.Helen Wyman21-
4.Pavla Havlikova19-
5.Sanne CantBkcp-powerplus17-
6.Arenda GrimbergMerida Cycling Team15-
7.Sabrina StultiensBrainwash14-
8.Sophie De BoerZZPR Destil Prolease Merida13-
9.Linda Van RijenW.V. Eemland12-
10.Nikki Harris11-
11.Joyce Vanderbeken10-
12.Tessa Van NieuwpoortBatavus Ladies Cycling Team9-
13.Helena Van LeijenW.V. Eemland8-
14.Nancy Bober7-
15.Lana VerberneRTC Buitenlust6-
16.Evy KuijpersBrainwash5-
17.Hielke ElferinkHWV De Tubanters4-
18.Britt JochemsJagersveld Cycling Team3-
19.Dirkje BazuinRestore Cycling2-
20.Christine Vardaros1-
21.Maud KaptheijnsTWC De Kempen--
22.Mika OgishimaUWTC De Volharding--
23.Bianca Van Den HoekW.V. Eemland--
24.Iris OckeloenDRC De Mol--
25.Kim Banga--
26.Annefleur KalvenhaarAWV De Zwaluwen--
27.Julia SchobbenGRC Jan Van Arckel--
28.Lotte EikelenboomDRC De Mol--
29.Lizzy WitloxTWC Tempo--
30.Nadine LiebeRTC Buitenlust--
31.Joyce Van Der PeetRestore Cycling--
32.Marjolein ClaessenRSC De Zuidwesthoek--
33.Ilona Valkenburg--
34.Lija Laizane--
35.Madara Furmane--
36.Romy AdegeestWTC Woerden – Rietveld--
37.Pernilla Van RozelaarHoornse Ren En Toerclub--
38.Yulia Van Der LeeWTC Woerden – Rietveld--
39.Anne PeerWV Uden--
DNFReza Hormes RavenstijnZZPR Destil Prolease Merida--
DNFKatrien VermeirenEmversport International Cycling Team--
DNFLiga Smite--
DNFVeerle Goossens--


1.Tom MeeusenTelenet-Fidea Cycling Team25-
2.Bart AernoutsRabobank-Giant Offroad Team23-
3.Gerben De KnegtRabobank-Giant Offroad Team21-
4.Christoph PfingstenVan Vliet – EBH Elshof19-
5.Tom Van Den BoschAA Cycling Team17-
6.Ian Field15-
7.Patrick Van LeeuwenTWC De Kempen14-
8.Dieter VanthourenhoutBkcp-powerplus13-
9.Eddy Van IjzendoornJvR De Batauwers12-
10.Mitchell HuendersWv Noord-holland11-
11.Mariusz Gil10-
12.Twan Van Den BrandWV Schijndel9-
13.Sascha Weber8-
14.Micki Van EmpelTelenet-Fidea Cycling Team7-
15.Marco Bianco6-
16.Thijs Van AmerongenAA Cycling Team5-
17.Ben BerdenQin Cycling Team4-
18.Mike TeunissenRabobank-Giant Offroad Team3-
19.Ole Quast2-
20.Kenneth Van CompernolleSunweb – Revor1-
21.Wilant Van GilsWV Schijndel--
22.Geert Wellens--
23.Thijs AlAA Cycling Team--
24.Kevin Cant--
25.Kobus HereijgersZZPR Destil Prolease Merida--
26.Rikke DijkxhoornVan Vliet – EBH Elshof--
27.Maurits LammertinkWV De Jonge Renner--
28.Bart Verschueren--
29.Bram SchmitzVan Vliet – EBH Elshof--
30.Nils Van KooijTeam Rojo – Specialized--
31.Rene Birkenfeld--
DNFDirk Van De CraatsGrontmij-team Amsterdam--
DNFPatrick De LaatF.M.C. The Whoopers--
DNFJordy LuismanRSE Cycling Team--
DNFKaey Van RijPRC Delta--
DNFBart BarkhuisWV Meteoor Assen-Roden--
DNFAxel DekkerW.V. Eemland--
DNFPatrick Van NunenRTC De Hoekse Renners--
DNFBas Oude ElferinkRTC De Hoekse Renners--
DNFEnno Quast--
DNFJeffrey VinkWV De Valleirenners AXA--
DNFJohannes Sickmuller--
DNFRobin HuizingaPRC Delta--