Courtney Comer Sprints to Win the 13-14 National Title in a Third Discipline – 2013 Cyclocross National Championships – Updated: Full Results, Photo Gallery, Video Interview

Pin It

VERONA, WISCONSIN–Not content with the road and time-trial National jerseys already sitting in her closet, Courtney Comer (CFC Racing Team) unleashed a devastating sprint over a close chasing Sydney Lach (Team Kenda) to take a comfortable win in the women’s 13-14 category of the National Cyclocross Championships.

Courtney Comer on her way to the win in the National Cyclocross Championships Women 13-14 © Cyclocross Magazine

Courtney Comer on her way to the win in the National Cyclocross Championships Women 13-14 © Cyclocross Magazine

The young women only raced a single lap in the foggy, muddy conditions, which saw more than a few of the 21 racers sliding out in the slick corners. Comer and Lach established an early lead, using the open straights and the long climb to escape from chasers Ashley Zoerner (Groove Subaru-Alpha), Anya Malarski (County Cycles)  and Turner Ramsay (Killington Mountain School). By the final turns, Comer had managed to slip away from Lach, and once her wheels found pavement there was no closing the gap as the multi-discipline champion rocketed down the finishing straight,  so focused she did not even slow to raise her hands for the win. Lach came in a few moments later, followed by Zoerner, Ramsay, and Abigail Youngwerth (BYRDS).

Tough, all-out racing turns to smiles after the Junior Women 13-14 race. ©Cyclocross Magazine

Tough, all-out racing turns to smiles after the Junior Women 13-14 race. ©Cyclocross Magazine

Interview with Courtney Comer:

Tune in regularly right here to Cyclocross Magazine’s 2013 Nationals Homepage for the most comprehensive source of Nationals 2013 info. We will be updating this page hourly for race reports, results, photos and videos!

Junior Women 13-14 Photo Gallery:

2013 Cyclocross Nationals Junior Women 13-14 Results

Place Points NameCity, StateTime BibTeam
1251.64Courtney COMER   San Marcos, CA0:12:05 CCF Racing Team/CPT
2265.72Sydney LACH   Cincinnati, OH12:13 11 Team Kenda presented by RACC
3279.81Ashley ZOERNER   Highlandsranch, CO12:18 21 Groove Subaru-Alpha Bicycle Co
4293.89Turner RAMSAY   Rutland, VT12:32 17 Killington Mountain School
5307.97Abigail YOUNGWERTH   Boise, ID12:33 20 BYRDS (Boise Young Rider Dev Squad)
6322.06Anya MALARSKI   Duluth Mn12:35 12 County Cycles/Gopher Wheelmen
7336.14Allison MOORHEAD   Lone Tree, CO13:15 13 Groove Subaru-Alpha Bicycle Co
8350.22Kennedy ADAMS   Stow, OH13:27 WAS Labs Cycling
9364.31Carrley SMITH   Boulder, CO13:37 18 Boulder Junior Cycling
10378.39Kate DIETRICH   Prospect, KY13:48 Red Zone Cycling
11392.47Alijah BEATTY   Washington, IA13:48 Twisted Spokes Racing Team
12406.56Anica KOONTZ MILLER   Craftsbury Common, VT14:09 Verge Sport/Test Pilot
13420.64Emma HAYES   Cincinnati, OH14:43 Queen City Wheels
14434.72Danielle KREBS   Saint Charles, IL16:23 10 Verdigris-Village CX Team/Village-Verdigris Cycling
15448.81Ella NEUROHR   Chicago, IL16:38 15 Chicago Cuttin Crew
16462.89Tess ANDERSON   South Elgin, IL17:39 Spin Doctor Cyclewerks/Spin Doctor Cyclewerks Cycling Club
17476.97Amelia VAN MALDEGIAM   Bartlett, IL17:58 19 Spin Doctor Cyclewerks/Spin Doctor Cyclewerks Cycling Club
DNSGrace OBANDO   Herndon16 HPC
DNSIsabella MYRAH   San Jose, CA14 
DNSVeda GERASIMEK   Transfer, PARed Zone Cycling



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!
Tagged as: , ,

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.