This Friday’s Jaarmarktcross in Niel continues the Soudal Classics cyclocross series, and although this series doesn’t always draw out the biggest names, back in 2007 the race was part of the GVA Trofee series (now DVV Verzekeringen Trofee) and attracted all the biggest stars in cyclocross to contest one of the heaviest, muddiest races of the season.

2007 was a special time in cyclocross, with two overlapping generations of cyclocross stars going to battle each weekend, and it was anyone’s guess as to who would land on top. Erwin Vervecken and Richard Groenendaal were the sport’s aging superstars, while the young talent in Niels Albert, Zdenek Stybar and Lars Boom were already competing for titles and glory. Bridging that gap were established stars Sven Nys and Bart Wellens. Amazingly, all of these racers spent time wearing rainbow stripes as World Champions.

Although former Stybar and Boom still line up for an occasional cyclocross race, none of these legends are full-time professional cyclocross racers today.

Jump back nine years and watch the 2007 Jaarmarktcross Niel race below. Our legs were already tired after watching just one lap.

This weekend, the field and course will look a bit different:

Stay tuned for coverage of the 2016 edition.