Nys takes the Zonhoven win. © Bart Hazen

Nys takes the Zonhoven win. © Bart Hazen

In the second race of the Superprestige series, held in Zonhoven, Belgium, on the same day as the European Championships for Women and Junior racers, Sven Nys took the win over Niels Albert and Klaas Vantornout.

“It is a beautiful race to win,” said Nys. “I will remember this victory and the battle in the race for a long long time. It was exciting until the end. In the beginning, I made a lot of mistakes and I couldn’t really move forward but in the final lap, I made it to the front. Niels attacked in the last lap and dropped Vantornout and Van der Haar, which was perfect for me for the sprint. Niels helped me this way to win the race.”

Albert, who has recently complained of his bad starts, said, “This result is satisfying me. I really needed a result and race like this. Sven and I were clearly the strongest in the race today. In the final lap, I gave everything to get rid off Sven but he didn’t make a mistake. In the sprint, Sven clipped out of his pedal and I pulled the brakes because I was to close on his wheel. If I was a little further, I might could have overtaken him. But I am glad with the progression I am making and I am hopeful for the next races.”

Quotes via Bart Hazen. Stay tuned for a full gallery!

Men Elite Superprestige #2 - Zonhoven (BEL_C1) 2013

1Sven NYSBEL3759:55:00
2Niels ALBERTBEL2759:55:00
3Klaas VANTORNOUTBEL311:00:10
4Lars VAN DER HAARNED221:00:24
5Bart AERNOUTSBEL311:00:52
6Philipp WALSLEBENGER261:00:52
7Tom MEEUSENBEL251:00:52
8Wietse BOSMANSBEL221:01:46
9Niels WUBBENNED251:01:46
10Kevin PAUWELSBEL291:01:52
11Julien TARAMARCAZSUI261:01:58
13Joeri ADAMSBEL241:02:33
14Ian FIELDGBR271:02:36
15Marcel MEISENGER241:02:49
16Thijs ALNED331:03:17
17Corne VAN KESSELNED221:03:17
18Mariusz GILPOL301:03:17
19Lubomir PETRUSCZE231:04:00
20Kenneth VAN COMPERNOLLEBEL251:04:12
21Patrick GAUDYBEL361:04:12
23Dave DE CLEYNBEL251:04:54
24Patrick VAN LEEUWENNED281:05:19
25Kevin CANTBEL251:05:40
26Micki VAN EMPELNED231:05:54
27Kevin EECKHOUTBEL241:06:01
29Niels KOYENBEL22
31Radomir SIMUNEKCZE30