The women head up the run up. Liz Farina Markel

The women head up the run up. © Liz Farina Markel

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS – The rain went away, but snow and wind showed up in its place Sunday for the second day of the Chicago Cyclocross Cup New Year’s Resolution races at Indian Lakes Resort in Bloomington. Sue Butler (River City Bicycles-Ridley) seized the lead on the last lap of the Elite women’s race from Saturday’s winner Sally Annis ( Cycles) to solo in for the win.

After getting off to a slow start on Saturday and having to battle back for third, Butler wasted little time Sunday, grabbing the holeshot and setting a high pace in the blustery wind. She was joined in an initial lead group by Annis, Nicole Thiemann (Team CF-Elite), Laura Van Gilder (Ladies First) and Andrea Smith (Ladies First), who finished second Saturday.

Crystal Anthony (Ladies First) joined Annis and Thiemann in a lead group after one lap, with Butler and Van Gilder bringing up the chase. Annis attacked during the second lap and gained about a 10-second lead over Anthony and Butler, followed by Smith, Thiemann and Van Gilder.

Anthony began to fade on lap three and Butler found herself chasing alone as the snowfall increased in the waning laps. Annis held a lead of as much as 16 seconds over Butler, but the Portland rider closed the gap and made contact with Annis just before the pair took the bell for the final lap.

In near-white-out conditions during the final lap, Butler launched an attack that had Annis on the ropes. Saturday’s winner bobbled, extending Butler’s lead and clearing the path for a solo win. Annis followed Butler for second. Anthony clung to third in front of Smith, Thiemann, Van Gilder and Arley Kemmerer (Charm City Cycling).

“I was riding through things that people were running, and I would ride to things a little bit closer because every time I just rode a little bit more than someone else I would catch people,” said Butler. “When I got around someone, I punched it.”

Liz Farina Markel’s Gallery:

Chicago Cyclocross Cup New Year’s resolution, Day 2

1BUTLER SusanRiver City Bicycles/Ridley
2ANNIS p/b JRA Cycles
3ANTHONY CrystalLadiesFirst Racing
4THIEMANN NicoleTeam CF-Elite
5KEMMERER ArleyCharm City Cycling LLC
6VAN GILDER LauraMellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers
7SMITH AndreaLadies First
8ANDERSON ElleLadies First
9FISHER-GOODWIN KellyKCCX Fuji Elite Cyclocross Team
10SHIELDS EmilySmartStop / Mock Orange Bikes p
11SCHNEIDER Samantha
12COOGAN CISEK CoreyTeam Plan C PB Stevens
13SHIELDS KatherineSmartStop / Mock Orange Bikes p
14DINGMAN AnnaCycleution
15SMILEY MarneBobs Red Mill
16BOREM NicoleMen Of Steel Racing LLC
17SO ElizabethTeam TATI
18SHERRILL EllenBike Station Aptos
DNFZUCCO LindsayTeam Bicycle Heaven