ARDOOIE, BELGIUM—Zdeněk Štybar (Telenet-Fidea) pipped Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet) at the line to take the Kermiscross win today. The world champ looks to be coming into form leading into the World Cup kickoff in Plzen, Czech Republic, this Sunday.

Dieter Vanthourenhout (BKCP-Powerplus) emerged from the chase pack to claim the final podium step, just ahead of Bart Wellens (Telenet-Fidea). Niels Albert, winner in Ruddervoorde last weekend, settled for eighth.

With three laps left in the race, Stybar, Nys and Vanthourenhout made their move, breaking away from the front of the race. Nys and Stybar dislodged the BKCP-Powerplus rider, and the two sprinted for the finish in an extended sprint. Stybar told, “From the beginning of the race I felt really good. I knew already that the podium was possible. At the sprint I used the same tactics as last year. I began to sprint and held up well.” While Stybar has been missing in action in the early season as he recovered from a knee injury, it’s clear that his form has returned and he’s ready for the rest of the season.

Full Results:

1 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Telenet – Fidea 1:01:00
2 Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
3 Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus 0:00:25
4 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:00:28
5 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Powerplus 0:00:30
6 Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team
7 Joeri Adams (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
8 Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
9 Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea 0:00:55
10 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb Revor 0:01:22
11 Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) BKCP – Powerplus 0:01:26
12 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb Revor
13 Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike/Blue 0:01:30
14 Tom Van Den Bosch (Bel) AA Cycling Team 0:01:50
15 Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) CyclingChamps 0:01:59
16 Stijn Huys (Bel) Orange Babies Cycling Team
17 Romain Lejeune (Fra) Uv Aube
18 Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team 0:02:30
19 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
20 Vinnie Braet (Bel) Sunweb Revor 0:02:40
21 Jens Vandekinderen (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
22 Gianni Denolf (Bel) CyclingChamps
23 Kevin Van Hoovels (Bel) Versluys-Evenza Team
24 Matthias Bossuyt (Bel) Sunweb – Revor
25 Bart Hofman (Bel) Afdeling Oost-Vlaanderen WBV – VZW
26 Kristof Cop (Bel) Cycling Team Kessel 0:02:56
27 Bjorn Rondelez (Bel) Lingier Versluys Beachbikers VZW 0:03:10
28 Yannick Mayer (Ger) Team Nsp
29 Robby Cobbaert (Bel) A.S.B. Parein-Rogelli Cycling Team 0:04:50
30 Toon Devenyns (Bel) C.T.- DJ.Matic-Kortrijk 0:05:00
31 Ritchie Denolf (Bel) Cyclingchamps 0:05:10
32 Pieter Dewitte (Bel) WC De Molenspurters Meulebeke
33 Adrien Pascal (Fra) AC Bazancourt
34 Steven De Decker (Bel) Van Goethem/Prorace CT
35 Jirí Polnický (Cze) Sunweb – Revor Team
36 Tijmen Eising (Ned) Sunweb Revor
37 Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
38 Xandro Meurisse (Bel) Cyclingchamps