U23_Walsleben.jpg The U23 and Junior Cyclocross scene gathered together in Pijnacker (November 9) for the second round of their 2008-2009 World Cup. Americans Danny Summerhill, Bjorn Selander and Luke Keough were there in attendance, with Keough continuing his impressive European campaign with a strong fifth. Full reports below. Elite men’s and women’s reports are here.

by Bart Hazen of Daily Peloton

U23 – Espoirs

The second UCI World Cup of the season is won by World Cup leader Phillip Walsleben. “Walze” who is dominating the U23 category these days won with a 19 seconds lead on Kenneth van Compernolle. Jim Aernouts completed the podium. For Walsleben it’s his third big win in nine days with the win on the Koppenberg (November 1) and the win in the European Championships the day after.

With the win Walsleben extended his lead in the World Cup and he now has a lead of 46 points on France’s Aurelien Duval.

Walsleben dominated the race from start to finish. In the third lap he attacked and got rid of all of his companions. Only Van Compernolle was able to follow. At the end of the lap the gap on the first chasers with amongst others Marek Konwa, Marco Ponta, Tom Meeusen, Jim Aernouts, Aurelien Duval and Mitchell Huenders was 15 seconds.

About half way the race Van Compernolle dropped off the break but was able to stay ahead of the chasing group led by the Belgians Adams, Aernouts and Meeusen.

In the remaining three laps Walsleben was able to keep his lead to add another big win to his account.

The Americans finished respectively as 23rd and 24th with Bjorn Selander and Danny Summerhill.


The Junior race was dominated by Dutch Tijmen Eising. Eising is really outstanding this season everywhere he starts he wins and in Pijnacker that wasn’t different.

In a race where mud and wind affected the riders Eising led the race from start to finish. The podium was completed by the Belgians Sean de Bie and Wietse Bosmans. Dutch Lars van der Haar and the surprising Luke Keough from the USA completed the top five.

Lap by lap Eising increased his lead on his competitors until he created a gap of around the half a minute. From then on he took it a little easier as the win was already his.

After two races Eising has a comfortable lead in the World Cup Standings. He has an advantage of 30 points on his compatriot Lars van der Haar and an advantage of 47 points on Wietse Bosmans.

Photo Gallery:

Full Results:


  1. WALSLEBEN Philipp GER 0:48:36
  2. VAN COMPERNOLLE Kenneth BEL +00:19
  3. AERNOUTS Jim BEL +00:37
  4. HUENDERS Mitchell NED +00:39
  5. KONWA Marek POL +00:43
  6. ADAMS Joeri BEL +00:48
  7. MEEUSEN Tom BEL +01:01
  8. PONTA Marco ITA +01:07
  9. DUVAL Aurelien FRA +01:23
  10. JOUFFROY Arnaud FRA +01:24
  11. VAN DEN BRAND Twan NED +01:27
  12. PETRUS Lubomir CZE +01:39
  13. BERTHOLET Quentin BEL +01:43
  14. KLOUCEK Lukas CZE +01:51
  15. BAESTAENS Vincent BEL +02:04
  16. POLNICKY Jiri CZE +02:12
  17. BAMBULA Ondrej CZE +02:18
  18. COMINELLI Cristian ITA +02:27
  19. WEBER Sascha GER +02:42
  20. MEISEN Marcel GER +02:46
  21. HARTOGS Ivar NED +02:50
  22. VAN IJZENDOORN Rik NED +02:52
  23. SELANDER Bjorn USA +02:54
  24. SUMMERHILL Daniel USA +03:20
  25. NILSSON Mattias SWE +03:23
  26. GAVENDA Robert SVK +03:27
  27. GIRARD Thomas FRA +03:31
  28. SINKELDAM Ramon NED +03:38
  29. SCHERZ Valentin SUI +03:50
  30. VAN DER HORST Geert NED +03:53
  31. QUAST Ole GER +03:57
  32. BRÜNGGER Nico SUI +04:51
  33. VAN EMPEL Micki NED +05:17
  34. ARTS Edwin NED +05:25
  35. SLENTER Kaj NED +05:29
  36. HEREIJGERS Kobus NED +05:59
  37. CANECKY Marek SVK +06:08
  38. VAN DIJK Julian NED +06:15
  39. THWAITES Mark GBR +06:45
  40. BACHRATY Robert SVK +07:40
  41. BEUKER Jordy NED +08:37
  42. WINTERBERG Michael SUI -1LAP
  43. RUDZINSKI Amadeusz POL -1LAP


  1. EISING Tijmen NED 0:41:20
  2. DE BIE Sean BEL +00:38
  3. BOSMANS Wietse BEL +00:49
  4. VAN DER HAAR Lars NED +00:53
  5. KEOUGH Luke USA +01:07
  6. VAN DER HEIJDEN Michiel NED +01:11
  7. BOSSUYT Matthias BEL +01:12
  8. NESVADBA Jan CZE +01:36
  9. POLNICKY Radek CZE +01:43
  10. BRAIDOT Luca ITA +01:51
  11. FALASCHI Bryan ITA +01:54
  12. HNIK Karel CZE +01:54
  13. TEUNISSEN Mike NED +01:54
  14. DENOLF Ritchie BEL +02:01
  15. VEESTRAETEN Zeb BEL +02:10
  16. MEIJERS Daan NED +02:25
  17. BOROS Michael CZE +02:32
  18. VAN DER POEL David NED +02:33
  19. WAEYTENS Zico BEL +02:33
  20. VAN DEN ENDE Milan NED +02:49
  21. BOSMAN Gert-Jan NED +02:51
  22. LUGTEN Jelle NED +03:15
  23. VAN KESSEL Corne NED +03:31
  24. BRAIDOT Daniele ITA +03:31
  25. GEISLER Janik GER +03:31
  26. BARBEN Emilien SUI +03:45
  27. TODARO Fabio Alfonso ITA +03:47
  28. DALL’OSTE Daniele ITA +04:11
  29. KRAUWEL Bas NED +04:18
  30. QUAST Enno GER +04:20
  31. GRAND Anthony SUI +04:26
  32. STAUBLE Dario SUI +04:30
  33. MEDVED Matej SVK +05:13
  34. DE ROSSI Alessandro ITA +05:13
  35. SCHWEIZER Michael (JR) GER +05:27
  36. REINDERS Elmar NED +06:38
  37. PERKOWSKI Lukasz POL +07:39
  38. HERBA Wojciech POL +08:39