Chloe Dygert (Midwest Velo) closes to Mackenzie Green (Borah) in the sand. © Kent Baumgardt

Chloe Dygert, right, closes on Mackenzie Green in the sand. © Kent Baumgardt

Yellow Springs, Oh. –  They may be juniors in age, but now they’re among the top elite riders in OVCX.  With the previous week’s winners, Ryan Knapp and Mackenzie Woodring, taking the week off, the young guns of OVCX fought hard and claimed the podiums under the falling leaves and crispy air of John Bryan State Park, east of Dayton, Ohio.

Chloe Dygert (Midwest Devo) and Gavin Haley (Red Zone Cycling) raced to wins at the fifth stop of the Zipp OVCX Series.  As it turns out, according to promoter TJ Turner, with the help of presenting sponsors Buckingham Financial Group, Inc., BioWheels and Kenda, “We also raised money to send both [local] junior teams to nationals.”

In a park known for its beautiful natural rock formations and creek carved valleys, the ground was mostly hard packed after a light shower the previous day.  Designed by BioWheels/Reece-Campbell Racing’s Phil Noble, the course featured challenging off camber corners, a wide stretch of single track, a sandy U-turn and a tempting set of logs.

Elite Women

Mackenzie Green (Borah) said, “The best part of the race yesterday was seeing us three 16-year-old girls towards the front the whole time.”  From the start, Green drove it hard, nearly gapping the field on the slightly off-camber uphill start.  Within the first 300 meters, the initial soft corners of the course funneled riders into the first set of off-camber ups and downs.

“I wanted to be the first one to get there so I wouldn’t get held up in the bottlenecks,” said Green after the race.  Chloe Dygert (Midwest Devo) and Katherine “KK” Santos (Red Zone Cycling) sensed the danger.  Dygert was the first to make contact just before the logs.

Fall Colors Drape Dygert. © Kent Baumgardt

Fall Colors Drape Dygert. © Kent Baumgardt

Green and Dygert would ride together until midway through the second lap when Dygert attacked at the barriers, using her incredible kick. Dygert added, “I was able to get in front of Mackenzie at the barriers and pull away from her for the win.”

This put Green in a pickle riding through the U-turn sand.  “KK was still close behind me.  It stayed that way for a good portion of the race, me trying to catch Chloe and stay away from KK,” said Green

Meanwhile, New York’s Katina Walker ( motored her way up and overtook Santos for third and kept driving forward.  Suddenly, Green had someone new in her rearview.  “Close to the finish line a spectator yelled at me to keep her from passing,” said Green.  The home crowd advantage worked. Green smartly held Walker off through the second set of tight off-camber corners headed toward the finish to claim second place behind Dygert.

Elite Men

Maybe he had something to prove before he left for Belgium this week. Whatever it was, Gavin Haley (Red Zone Cycling) gave it all he had to win Sunday. “I had an awful start, around 25th.  By the end of the first lap, I latched onto the back of the lead group,” said Haley.  Setting up a very tactical race, the front group consisted of Haley, John Francisco (Papa John’s Racing), Jason Monk (Team WHAYNE) and the Sophisticated Living p/b Bob’s Red Mill duo of Spencer Petrov and Ian McShane.

Haley was first to turn the screws.  While all rode the logs, Haley put in a huge effort when the rear wheel hit the ground, stretching the group out.  McShane later said, “When I went into the pit on the second lap, Gavin attacked and Spencer followed.” The move drew out Petrov, but left McShane behind with Francisco.

Haley commented that two laps later, “I pressed hard into a corner and Spencer slid out. I just said I’m going for it.”

With Haley gone and Petrov now chasing with McShane and Francisco, it became a race for second. “I kept the pressure on and turned it up on the last lap when we got a slight gap on Spencer,” said Francisco. “I hit it hard on the singletrack and after the barriers and that was enough to lock up second.”

Francisco McShane and Petrov chase Haley. © Kent Baumgardt

Francisco McShane and Petrov chase Haley. © Kent Baumgardt

McShane conceded, “[Francisco] ripped my legs off in the last lap and finished six seconds ahead of me.”

After the race Dygert, the Elite Women’s winner summed up the day, “It’s cool to see the juniors dominating both Men and Women Elite races.”

This Sunday, Zipp OVCX Series rekindles the World Championship spirit as racing returns to the site of the 2013 Cyclocross World Championships at Eva Bandman Cyclocross Park in Louisville, Kentucky. In its tenth anniversary season, the Zipp OVCX Series, including the MudFund Derby City Cup and Cincy3 UCI weekends, and Cross After Dark, will continue its focus on maximizing the growth of regional cyclocross through great courses, competitive fields, and good times.  Find the complete schedule and registration links online at

OVCX #5 Photo Gallery:

Elite Men’s Results:

HaleyGavinRed Zone Cycling0:58:441
FranciscoJohnPapa JohnÕs Racing0:59:072
McShaneIanSophisticated Living/Bobs Red Mill0:59:133
PetrovSpencerSophisticated Living/Bobs Red Mill0:59:334
TiemanChadSummit City Specialized0:59:405
KendallRobertPapa John's Racing Team1:00:156
MonkJasonTeam WHAYNE1:00:267
MesserAndrewCannondale Cyclocrossworld1:00:358
McDanielJoeLake Effect1:00:549
VitonAnthonyBSM Cycling1:01:0010
WeeksMatthewWasLabs Cycling1:01:0811
HubbsRyanSpeedway Wheelmen1:01:3112
ProppeJohnTeam Lake Effect1:02:0014
MonroeTravisVertical Earth1:02:2915
ShermanWilliamShamrock Cycles1:02:5716
MuthCoryBSM Cycling1:03:0617
BilliterJamesBioWheels/Reece-Campbell Racing1:03:1918
GrahamMitchellBioWheels/Reece-Campbell Racing1:03:3419
OttDanielDarkhorse Racing1:03:4221
RoseDavidTeam WHAYNE1:04:0422
MottJasonBio Wheels Racing1:04:3323
FritzingerMicahMcDonalds Cycling Team1:04:4624
BoneffAndrewJ's Bikes/IHOP1:04:4925
HerrmannScotMichelob Ultra Cycling1:05:0026
CarrawayDougTeam Six One Four1:05:0627
GersStevenBioWheels Racing1:05:1028
HatleyJosephTeam WBR - Indiana/ Bicycle Exchange-1LAP29
StonerJasonFiets Met Slagroom-1LAP31
HemelgarnMichaelDRT Racing-1LAP32
MirusNathanBioWheels Cincy-1LAP33
HackettSpencerCap City CyclingDNF

Elite Women’s Results:

DygertChloeMidwest Devo0:36:411 
SantosKatherineRed Zone Cycling0:37:274
BrodeSamanthaCleveland Clinic Sports Health Women's0:38:385
ThomasKimberlyNew Holland Brewing0:38:416
SiebenlistSierraMatthews Bicycles0:38:527
AmbjornCooperTeam Hungry*0:38:598
ClarkSheraMcDonalds Cycling Team0:39:089
DonovanBridgetBio Wheels Racing0:39:2910
GossageValarieGray Goat Sports0:39:3311
AdamsKennedyWAS Labs Cycling0:39:5212
StrangKellieCleveland Clinic RGF p/b felt0:40:2715
NeffKathleenBishops Bicycles0:41:0417
DobrozsiRachelLionhearts Jr. Racing0:41:2018
McDonaldAnneTeam Hungry0:41:4820
MandrolaStaciPapa John's Racing Team0:41:5121
O'DayAdrienneTeam Dayton - Secret Cycling0:41:5422
LeRoyAmyParadise Garage Racing0:42:0825
ZinkRebeccaShamrock Cycles0:42:1626
BlandfordJennaVO2 MultiSport0:42:4728
FritzingerClaudiaMcDonalds Cycling Team0:43:0229
HallJillianQueen City Wheels0:43:5230
ShermanChienhui (Janet)Shamrock Cycles-2LAP33