While the top US racers came back for a wild weekend of racing on the East Coast at Cycle-Smart International and the Cincy3 Festival this weekend, racers in Europe had a full schedule as well, with Pauwels taking the win at the GvA Trofee race and the Women, U23s and Juniors lining up at the European Cyclocross Championships in Lucca, Italy.

For Elite Women, Elite Juniors and Elite U23 racers, Sunday was their turn to shine one a day where attention was placed directly on them, as opposed to the Elite Men’s field that typically receives the lion’s share of the attention. The Netherlands was well-represented in the races, taking the wins in all categories.

In the women’s race, Daphny van den Brand took the win about Lucie Chainel and Pauline Ferrand Prevost. Van den Brand has been having a great season, taking the win at the 2011 Nacht Van Woerden cyclocross race.

[vimeo 31809500 590 360]

In the U23 race, Lars van der Haar took the win, surprising few. He’s had a stellar season so far, starting with a win at the 2011 CrossVegas, the unofficial season opener for 2011.

Elite Women:

1Daphny van den Brand (Netherlands)
2Lucie Chainel (France)
3Pauline Ferrand Prevost (France)
4Sophie De Boer (Netherlands)
5Nikki Harris (Great Britain)
6Sanne van Paassen (Netherlands)
7Sabrina Stultiens (Netherlands)
8Helen Wyman (Great Britain)
9Sanne Cant (Belgium)
10Sabrina Switzerlander (Germany)
11Chrystel Ferrier Bruneau (France)
12Pavla Havl’kov‡ (Czech Republic)
13Rocio Gamonal Ferrera (Spain)
14Vania Rossi (Italy)
15Martina Mikul‡kov‡ (Czech Republic)
16Jasmin Achermann (Switzerland)
17Arenda Grimberg (Netherlands)
18Alice Maria Arzuffi (Italy)
19Sabrina Maurer (Switzerland)
20Linda Van Rijen (Netherlands)
21Lise-Marie Henzein (Switzerland)
22Madara Furmane (Latvia)
23Lelde Ardava (Latvia)
24Laura Braziulyte (Lithuania)


1Lars van der Haar (Netherlands)
2Mike Teunissen (Netherlands)
3Stan Godrie (Netherlands)
4Arnaud Jouffroy (France)
5Vinnie Braet (Belgium)
6Gianni Vermeersch (Belgium)
7Gert-Jan Bosman (Netherlands)
8Tijmen Eising (Netherlands)
9David Menut (France)
10Tim Merlier (Belgium)
11Arnaud Grand (Switzerland)
12Jan Nesvadba (Czech Republic)
13Tomas Paprstka (Czech Republic)
14Michael Schweizer (Germany)
15Corne Van Kessel (Netherlands)
16Lars Forster (Switzerland)
17Igor Smarzaro (Italy)
18Michael Wildhaber (Switzerland)
19Vincent Dias Dos Santos (Luxembourg)
20Jakub Skala (Czech Republic)
21Luca Braidot (Italy)
22Michael Boros (Czech Republic)
23Julian Alaphilippe (France)
24Bryan Falaschi (Italy)
25Yannick Mayer (Germany)
26Nicolas Samparisi (Italy)
27Vojtech Nipl (Czech Republic)
28Laurens Sweeck (Belgium)
29Pietro Santini (Italy)
30Fabian Lienhard (Switzerland)
31Constantin Liebenow (Germany)
32Irwin Gras (France)
33Domenico Papaleo (Italy)
34Ismael Felix Barba (Spain)
35Lex Reichling (Luxembourg)
36Domenico Maria Salviani (Italy)
37Domas Manikas (Lithuania)
38Matis Preimanis (Latvia)
39Fernando San Emeterio Gandiaga (Spain)
40Eduard Michael Grosu (Romania)


1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Netherlands)
2Quentin Jauregui (France)
3Romain Seigle (France)
4Wout Van Aert (Belgium)
5Anthony Turgis (France)
6Matthias Van De Velde (Belgium)
7Koen Weijers (Netherlands)
8Daan Soete (Belgium)
9Pjotr Van Beek (Netherlands)
10Quinten Hermans (Belgium)
11Yorben Van Tichelt (Belgium)
12Gioele Bertolini (Italy)
13Daan Hoeyberghs (Belgium)
14Hugo Robinson (Great Britain)
15Tim Ariesen (Netherlands)
16Stefano Valdrighi (Italy)
17Joseph Moses (Great Britain)
18Jose Manuel Ribera (Spain)
19Marco Kšnig (Germany)
20Karel Pokorny (Czech Republic)
21Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spain)
22Francesco Pedante (Italy)
23Riccardo Redaelli (Italy)
24Dominic Grab (Switzerland)
25Max Lindenau (Germany)
26Nadir Colledani (Italy)
27Tomas Novacek (Czech Republic)
28Daniel Lukes (Czech Republic)
29Lubos Malovec (Slovakia)
30Yannick Gruner (Germany)
31Simon Vitzthum (Switzerland)
32Stefano Debellis (Italy)
33Lukas Spengler (Switzerland)
34Jan Brezna (Czech Republic)
35Jakub Rydval (Czech Republic)
36_imon Mateju (Czech Republic)
37Karel Svrcina (Czech Republic)
38Jir’ Reh‡k (Czech Republic)
39Ondrej Glajza (Slovakia)
40Peio Olaberria (Spain)
Sven Fritsch (Luxembourg)
Steffen MŸller (Germany)
Vlad Dobre (Romania)