Mani had an amazing ride day two, keeping with with Compton until the national champion used the climbs to her advantage.

Mani had an amazing ride day two, keeping with with Compton until the national champion used the climbs to her advantage.

Compton Surges at the Start for Another Win

Katie Compton (Trek Factory Racing) had better start than Saturday and quickly established herself at the front of the Elite Women’s race. Gabby Durrin (Neon Velo) again took the holeshot, but by the time they reached the tricky Trek downhill section Compton was in the lead with Caroline Mani (Raleigh-Clement), Durrin, and Nicole Duke (Marin-Spy) on her wheel.

At the run-up, Compton and Mani opened a gap over the front group.  Mani’s tenacious ride would be the story of the day.  Mani stuck with the reigning U.S. National Champion until Compton opened a gap by riding the hills lap after lap. Compton wore Mani down and moved into a comfortable lead.

Compton found her footing right from the start of the Trek CXC Cup.

Compton found her footing right from the start of the Trek CXC Cup.

“Today was good. It was kind of similar to yesterday. It was windy and bumpy, of course. The course broke down a little bit,” said Compton. “I just rode smooth. It was fun. You get the course dialed in from the night before, and today it just felt a little faster, so it was good. A close race today.”

A hard-charging Georgia Gould (Luna Pro Cycling) rode solo for third while Meredith Miller (Noosa Pro Cyclocross) and Durrin battled for fourth.

By the last lap Miller had opened a slight gap over Durrin and held it to the line.

Powers Takes Fourth Win in a Row, Krughoff Gives Chase

The elite men set a blazing pace from the gun. Jeremy Durrin (Neon Velo) took the holeshot and led the field into the front section of the course with Jeremy Powers (Aspire Racing) and Zach Macdonald (KCCX) on his wheel.

Tim Johnson (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld), Durrin, and Powers led the race through the start/finish, while Shawn Milne (Boulder Cycle Sport/YogaGlo), Ben Berden (Raleigh-Clement), and Allen Krughoff (Noosa Pro Cyclocross) chased behind them.

With seven laps to go, Powers opened a small gap heading into the run up as Johnson, Durrin, Berden, Krughoff, and Jamey Driscoll (Raleigh-Clement) continued to chase.

The next lap the deck was reshuffled after Krughoff launched an attack out of the chase group. Powers rolled through the start/finish alone with Krughoff nipping at his heels.

Krughoff chased Powers first, and was rewarded with a second place finish.

Krughoff chased Powers first, and was rewarded with a second place finish.

At five to go, Johnson disappeared from the chase group leaving Durrin, Berden, and Driscoll on their own to battle for third.

“It was a struggle. The first couple laps I knew I was kind of in trouble, then I fell off the cliff, so to speak,” said Johnson. “I tried to keep it together. I didn’t want to stop and waste the day because it’s such a fun course. One of those days, a struggler.”

At two to go it was a race for third with Powers and Krughoff well clear of the chase. The Raleigh-Clement duo of Berden and Driscoll rode a tactical race taking turns attacking the Durrin. Driscoll attacked in the closing laps of the race, but his move gapped off Berden and left him alone with Durrin.

With Powers and Krughoff taking first and second, the race for third came down to the last corner. Durrin and Driscoll came into the finishing stretch flying, but as Driscoll launched his sprint he pulled out of his pedals. Durrin went clear for third.

“He [Durrin] actually overtook me in the last corners, and I pulled out of my pedal on the sprint,” said Driscoll. “So I’m not sure if I would have come around him, but it was kind of a bummer way to end the race.”

It was Powers’ second consecutive win of the weekend. “It wasn’t easy. Allen put up a good fight today,” said Powers. “He came a little late but by the time he got to me he kept the gap at 10 or 12 seconds. Then with 3 to go I pushed it as hard as I could and I was able to open it up another 5 or 10 seconds. I was happy with that; it was enough of a buffer. I rode to keep that gap for the rest of the day.”

Jeremy Powers rides the barriers on his way to yet another win.

Jeremy Powers rides the barriers on his way to yet another win.

Men’s Full Results:

2014 Trek CXC Cup Day 2 Men

1POWERS JeremyRapha-Focus57:47:00
2KRUGHOFF AllenNoosa Professional Cyclocross57:58:00
3DURRIN JeremyUci Ct/Wpt: Team Optum P/B Kell58:39:00
4DRISCOLL JamesDonnelly Sports58:45:00
5BERDEN BenRaleigh/Clement59:08:00
6THOMPSON EricPlan C P/B Challenge Tires59:51:00
7MATTER Brian1:00:13
8DILLMAN Andrew1:00:13
9NEFF Isaac1:00:37
10JOHNSON TimothyCannondale Cyclocrossworld1:00:51
11MILNE ShawnBoulder Cycle Sport/Yogaglo1:01:07
12MACKEY SkylerTeam Soundpony1:01:14
13MALONEY Joseph1:01:24
14LASLEY Jacob1:01:25
15ROBINSON HugoNeon Velo Cycling Team1:01:34
16MCCONNELL KevinMercy-Specialized1:01:43
17KLUCK Jeff1:01:47
18RUSS Kyle1:02:08
19TEATERS Dan1:02:28
20DUFOUR Jerry1:02:28
21MCDONALD ZachKccx Elite Cyclocross Team P/B1:02:41
22LEMKE NicholasHifi/Thefeed/Crafthairstudio1:02:44
23ETHERIDGE CraigRaleigh/Clement1:02:46
24SIEGLE JasonSdg Bellwether Pb Krema Peanut1:02:48
25ACKERMANN Maxwell1:03:04
26STROTHMAN Jay1:03:23
27MORAN Micah1:03:32
28REYES David1:03:38
29BAUER Josh1:03:39
30BRAUN TravisMagnus1:03:49
31SCHOUTEN Tristan1:04:04
32ALLEN Matthew1:04:19
33DUTCZAK Michael@1Lap
34FOSLER Bryan@1Lap
35WOHLSCHLAEGER CraigGiant Southwest Racing@1Lap
36BROCKET JpEthos Racing@1Lap
37KELLEY Matthew@2Lap
38GINIAT Andrew@2Lap
39BRAMEL Samuel@2Lap
40SPAUDE Kip@2Lap
41HAUPT Ian@3Lap
42RAMIREZ Ryan@3Lap
DNSMARTIN AlexanderRevolution Cycles

Women’s Full Results:

2014 Trek CXC Cup day 2 Women's Race

1COMPTON KatherineTrek Cyclocross Collective42:29:00
2MANI CarolineRaleigh/Clement42:52:00
3GOULD GeorgiaLuna Pro Team43:19:00
4MILLER MeredithNoosa Professional Cyclocross43:38:00
5DURRIN GabriellaNeon Velo Cycling Team43:44:00
6MCFADDEN Courtenay44:01:00
7DUKE NicoleMarin/Spy44:09:00
8ZAVETA Erica44:21:00
9GILBERT Sunny44:31:00
10NAUMAN AmandaSdg Bellwether Pb Krema Peanut44:50:00
11ANTHONY CrystalTeam Optum P/B Kelly Benefit St44:55:00
12STRIGEL AbbyTrek Cyclocross Collective45:19:00
13GÓMEZ Carolina45:29:00
14RATHBUN LaurelTwenty16 Junior Development Tea45:44:00
15GROSS RebeccaVanderkitten Cx (Vkcx)46:09:00
16SANSOME Carol Jeane46:57:00
17ARNOLD KatieStanridge Speed Bicycles47:01:00
18MCCONNELL BrittanyMercy-Specialized47:07:00
19NOWLIN Jennifer47:29:00
20SANTOS KatherineBorah Development47:42:00
21SCHAPPERT AnnaDark Red Racing47:44:00
22WOODRING MackenzieU.S. National Paralympic Cyclin48:03:00
23GREEN MackenzieBorah Development48:07:00
24COOGAN CISEK Corey48:33:00
25DOBROZSI RachelBorah Development48:34:00
26CAMPBELL JenniferWheel and Sprocket48:50:00
27KNIGHT Lindsay@1Lap
28SCHAAP Amanda@2Lap
29ZUCCO Lindsay@2Lap
30MERTZ Nicole@3Lap
31ISERMANN Katie@3Lap
32THORNBURG Christine@3Lap
DNFSWARTZ EmmaBorah Development
DNSANTONNEAU KaitlinCannondale Cyclocrossworld