East Coast-based Anthony Clark flew the coop and skipped the KMC Cross Fest this weekend to instead contest the West Sacramento Cyclocross Grand Prix and put on a show for his Sacramento-based sponsor Squid Bikes.

The gamble paid off for both Clark and cyclocross fans. The Squid racer battled U23 National Champion Lance Haidet (Donnelly) for the entirety of the short, 54-minute nail-biter of a race, and outkicked the young champion in the race to the line.

Allen Krughoff (Krughoff Racing) held off local hero Cody Kaiser (Lange Twins / Specialized) for third.

The WSCXGP is a two-day UCI C2 cyclocross race, with the same schedule on Saturday and Sunday.

Stay tuned for a full report. Full men’s results below.

2017 West Sacramento Cyclocross Grand Prix - WSCXGP Day 1 - Elite Men's Results

142 Anthony Clark31 Feeding Hills MA Squid Squad54:35:00
243 Lance Haidet21 San Luis Obispo CA donnelly sports54:35:000:00
341 Allen Krughoff34 Boulder CO Krughoff Racing55:46:001:11
445 Cody Kaiser26 El Dorado Hills CA LangeTwins/Specialized55:59:001:24
544 Mark Mcconnell30 Calgary AB Hot Sauce Cycling56:30:001:55
646 Carl Decker43 Bend OR Giant Factory Off Road56:58:002:23
748 Kevin Bradford-Parish36 Spokane WA Gillespie Eye Care/SETcoaching/Specialized57:03:002:28
847 Cameron Beard20 Bend OR Cannondale Cyclocrossworld/Devo57:07:002:32
950 Max Judelson31 Berkeley CA Voler/Clif/Rock Lobster57:46:003:11
1059 Alex Wild26 Los Gatos CA58:15:003:40
1185 Mark Flis35 Park City UT X-men/ Trek/ Storm Cycles58:23:003:48
1272 Molly Cameron42 Portland OR Point S Racing58:30:003:55
1352 Josh Direen26 Denver CO Groove Subaru-Excel Sports58:42:004:07
1483 Jose Alfredo Pacheco33 Brea CA BUENA PARK BICYCLES58:51:004:16
1557 Jeff Bender29 Salt Lake City UT KUHL Clothing59:01:004:26
1653 Justin Robinson39 Bonny Doon CA Cal Giant59:50:005:15
1751 Cody Cupp24 Durango CO Gillespie Eye Care/Arlberg Sports/SET Coaching59:59:005:24
1890 Parker Bloom28 Victoria BC Broad Street Cycles1:00:075:32
1994 Justin Morgan44 Portola Valley CA Team Roaring Mouse1:00:165:41
2095 Allan Schroeder26 Boise ID1:00:185:44
2196 Donald Myrah52 San Jose CA Ibis/Buy-Cell1:00:295:54
2269 Aj Snovel26 Sacramento CA Davis Bike Club Elite Team1:00:335:58
2393 Garrett Follmuth31 Santa Monica CA Squareone Helens1:00:506:15
2487 Ryan Rinn35 San Francsico CA vive la tarte cx1:00:596:24
2549 Andrew Juiliano30 Santa Barbara CA GRIT WORLD RACING p/b Shimano1:02:127:37
2678 Rainier Schaefer32 San Francisco CA MASH SF53:25:00-
2889 Brendan Lehman29 Santa Cruz CA Rock Lobster53:42:00-
2774 David Greif24 Reno NV VeloReno53:46:00-
3084 David Sheek42 Laguna Hills CA SDG - Muscle Monster53:50:00-
2975 John Mundelius52 Concord CA Will Finnerty Finish53:53:00-
3280 Matthew Paez27 Bend OR46:12:00-
3198 Nick Thomas24 Phoenix AZ Trek Cyclocross Collective46:17:00-
3367 Ian Megale30 Boise ID UpCycle Boise46:20:00-
3482 Derek Yarra31 Sf CA MASH SF38:41:00-
3677 Timber Weiss29 Reno NV39:02:00-
3765 Kyle Johnson29 Denver CO Team Yacht Club39:03:00-
3586 Andrew Loaiza31 Portland OR Cyclepath PDX39:09:00-
3979 Ryan Grenier40 Oakland CA Velo fratello39:14:00-
3855 Brent Franze19 Fullerton CA giant co factory /fullerton bikes39:15:00-
4399 Damian Schmitt40 Bend OR Point S Racing31:38:00-
4197 Andrew Frank21 Helena MT Montana Velo31:43:00-
4088 Kailin Waterman39 Oakland CA Voler/Clif/HRS/Bell/Rocklobster31:54:00-
4268 John Behrens47 San Diego CA Knobbe Martens32:07:00-
4564 Jeffrey Stern31 Santa Barbara CA Cycle Sport Specialized p/b Muscle Milk32:18:00-
4461 Garret Thompson28 Raleigh NC Oak City Cycling Project32:24:00-
4756 Nicolas Padilla20 Aliso Viejo CA G2 Bike32:28:00-
46100 William Youngman49 Rocklin CA Kinetics Cycle32:32:00-
4881 Brian Staby47 Santa Rosa CA CX Nation32:51:00-
4970 Anastasio Flores47 La Selva CA Spokesman Cyclocross24:36:00-
5073 Steve Hindman51 Los Altos CA Pen Velo/Summit Bikes24:49:00-
5191 Miles Keep51 Menlo Park CA Menlo Velo Cyclocross24:55:00-
5266 Dean Poshard46 San Rafael CA Rock Lobster17:27-
dnf60 Evan Murphy30 Portland OR Ludwig & Larsen Racing44:16:00-
dnf76 Clint Claassen35 El Dorado Hills CA Santa Cruz / Fox30:39:00-
dnf54 Steven Beardsley36 Portland OR Point S Racing23:12-
dnf63 Jason Siegle39 Solvang CA SDG Muscle Monster15:02-
---71 Sage Aldebaran43 Novato CA CxNation--
dns62 Christopher Jones39 Bend OR--
dns92 Jim Gentes61 Soquel CA Buy-cell--