Stephen Tilford wins the mens 50-54 © Steve Anderson

Stephen Tilford wins the mens 50-54 © Steve Anderson

For full coverage, schedules and information on the 2012 UCI Master’s Cyclocross World Championships in Louisville, Kentucky visit our 2012 Masters Cyclocross World Championships homepage.

Check back soon for a race report and photos.

by Lee Waldman

LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY —Stephen Tilford (Tradewind Energy/Eriksen Cycles; USA) took the win nearly a minute ahead of Kevin Hines (Corner Cycles; USA) and Gunnar Shogren (Team Pathfinder of WV; USA), making the podium All-American.

The story line for all of the races today was incredibly similar. The first few riders coming off of the start straight were the race. Behind them, the consistent pattern was chaos, causing the races to blow apart within the first 3 minutes of the Women’s 35 – 39 race, the Men’s 50 – 54 and 45 – 49 races. They were won, by Lyne Bessette, Steve Tilford and Don Myrah respectively. Those were the stories, but the course conditions truly contributed to the story line today. Bessette, Tilford and Myrah were clearly the strongest riders in each of their fields stamping their authority on the races early on.

Coming off of the pavement Tilford grabbed the hole shot with Kevin Hines and Gunnar Shogren hot on his heels. By the end of the first lap it was a one man race for first and a dogfight till the end for the next two podium placings. Ultimately, Hines took second with Shogren third. Again, the gap to the remainder of the field was substantial.

Results follow videos and photos.

Pete Webber interviews Stephen Tilford:
[youtube dn2Vgc7iWi4 580 380]

Photo Gallery by Brian Nelson:

Full Results:

1TILFORD StephenTradewind Energy/Eriksen CyclesUSA42:01:00
2HINES KevinCorner CycleUSA43:00:00
3SHOGREN GunnarTeam Pathfinder Of WvUSA43:17:00
4ROACH PhilipRugby VeloGBR45:46:00
5HACKER TimPlanet BikeUSA46:44:00
6HUEBNER RonEvolution Cycling Club P/B Long & Foster USA47:41:005:40
7ANDERSEN ToddMen Of Steel RacingUSA47:47:00
8SULE RobertChain Reaction/Molson67CAN47:48:00
9LUCZYNSKI DavidSpin Doctor CyclewerksUSA47:57:00
10FARRELL DennisBcv/ScionUSA48:06:00
11INOMATA KiyoshiClubSilbestJPN6:12
12THOMPSON JohnSt. Paul Bicycle Racing ClubUSA48:18:00
13BLANCHARD AlanBlue Ribbon Restaurants / Translations.ComUSA48:26:006:25
14CALLAHAN KevinCycle LodgeUSA48:50:00
15COLBERT RobertMock Orange BikesUSA48:55:00
16YOUNG BradTeam Tinney'S Tavern CyclingUSA48:58:00
17DUCKETT ChipSmartchoice/Mob; Mock Orange RacingUSA49:21:00
18FUNK ColinFirst Capital CyclingCAN49:26:00
19THORSTROM RussellTeam IcoUSA49:26:00
20BLISS JohnJustin'S CyclingUSA49:41:00
21FABRIS JoeFightin' Bobas / Plus 3 NetworkUSA50:14:00
22EDWARDS DrewEuro-SportsCAN50:19:00
23HOUSE GeoffreyNorthampton Cycling ClubUSA50:31:00
24THOM AllanChicago.CxUSA50:42:00
25VAUGHAN JimmieBicycle-HeavenUSA50:43:00
26BELKNAP DavidCycle LodgeUSA.@1LAP
27MCGRATH JohnNebc P/B Cycle LoftUSA.@1LAP
29NYBERG PaulHorst Engineering Cycling TeamUSA.@1LAP
30SCHWAB BruceOa/CyclemaniaUSA.@1LAP
32RAMBUSKI EdwinTeam Rambuski LawUSA.@1LAP
33BUTTON KeithCcb RacingUSA.@1LAP
34TOTH PeterJuventusCAN.@1LAP
35SAINT CLAIR KevinMain Line Cycling - Bikyle/Mazur CoachingUSA.@1LAP.
36SHEPHERD MichaelCyclocrossracing.ComUSA.@1LAP
37FEATHERMAN MarkGuys Racing ClubUSA.@1LAP
38SIMON WayneEnzo'S/ PsimetUSA.@1LAP
39FISHER JeffreyOa/CyclemaniaUSA.@2LAPS
40DOWNING ShawnC3 - Athletes Serving AthletesUSA.@2LAPS
41GRENIER JohnClif Bar/ PactimoUSA.@2LAPS
42KUSTER WilliamLoon State CyclistsUSA.@2LAPS
43SHEA TimothyBob-Goodale' S Bike Shop/Speed MerchanUt SAAero/Te.d@W2LoAjcPikSCustom.Cyc
44RHINEHART KirkThe Nationals ProjectUSA.@2LAPS
45TOLER RichardMerrill Lynch CyclingUSA.@2LAPS
46WELLSMAN PeterPro City RacingCAN.@2LAPS
47WARREN RandalXxx Racing-AthleticoUSA.@2LAPS
48REED DaveHup UnitedUSA.@2LAPS
49YOUNG ScottTritecUSA.@2LAPS
50LETTERMAN DwayneTri Cities Road Club/Msg Cyclo-CrossUSA.@3LAPS
51CORDIER GillesIndependentCAN.@3LAPS
52LODER JayLa Bicicletta ProshopCAN.@3LAPS
53BASS RickMomentum RacingUSA.@3LAPS
54KAUFMAN LarryVan Dessel Factory TeamUSA.@3LAPS
55LEWIS StevenMillcreek BicyclesUSA.@3LAPS
56MORRISON KirkAg3R-ButlerhealthsystemUSA.@3LAPS
57ANDERSON William360 RacingUSA.@3LAPS
58LINNEN JeffreyTri Cities Road ClubUSA.@3LAPS
DNFABELL RobBicycle Sport ShopUSA.
DNFSTEVENS WilliamGear Works/Spin ArtsUSA.
DNFKEEFER Franz BironInfinity Bike ShopUSA.

Rider diaries, videos, photos, reports and all things veldrijden will be pouring in this weekend for the  2012 UCI Master’s Cyclocross World Championships in Louisville, Kentucky. To see them all, visit our 2012 Masters Cyclocross World Championships homepage.