Walsleben Wins Roubaix and World Cup U23 Title – Updated: New photos

Pin It

_G5Y7865.jpg by Bart Hazen of the Daily Peloton
Photos by Joe Sales

German Champion and World Cup winner Philipp Walsleben (BKCP-PowerPlus) has won the final U23 race for the World Cup in Roubaix today. Walsleben who is dominating the whole u23 scene this year won with a big gap on his competitors. France Aurelien Duval and Czech Ondrej Bambula completed the podium.

Surprising Ondrej Bambula had the best start of all. He attacked in the beginning and created a gap on his competitors. Bit by bit Walsleben came closer and over halfway the race the German showed up in front. He immediately attacked and the Czech wasn’t able to follow.

In the final lap France’s Aurelien Duval bridged up to Bambula and outsprinted him for the second place 56 seconds down on winner Walsleben.

For Walsleben, who won all the U23 World Cups this season, it was his 18th win of the season. He is also the top favorite for the World title in Hoogerheide on January 31.

Belgian Vincent Baestaens won the sprint for the fourth place from Guillaume Perrot and Kenneth van Compernolle.

Nicholas Weighall, the only starter from the USA, finished as 45th, one lap down on Walsleben. Full results below.

Photo Gallery:

Full Results:

128WALSLEBEN PhilippGER0:51:03
210DUVAL AurelienFRA+00:56
336BAMBULA OndrejCZE+00:58
44BAESTAENS VincentBEL+01:31
559PERROT GuillaumeFRA+01:32
730MEISEN MarcelGER+01:39
816COMINELLI CristianITA+01:43
1013BOULO MatthieuFRA+01:43
1147SZCZEPANIAK KacperPOL+01:53
1222SINKELDAM RamonNED+02:00
1323VAN POPPEL BoyNED+02:00
1420HUENDERS MitchellNED+02:11
158BERTHOLET QuentinBEL+02:12
1639POLNICKY JiriCZE+02:41
173MEEUSEN TomBEL+02:50
1850REPINSKI TomaszPOL+03:01
1931PFINGSTEN ChristophGER+03:02
2046KONWA MarekPOL+03:13
2118SILVESTRI EliaITA+03:22
2265GRAND ArnaudSUI+03:25
2315BOURGOIN ClémentFRA+03:31
2464TRENTIN MatteoITA+03:38
2521VAN DEN BRAND TwanNED+03:40
266ADAMS JoeriBEL+03:55
2761GAVENDA RobertSVK+04:03
2852FLETCHER DavidGBR+04:11
2957GIZZI AurelienFRA+04:21
3043TARAMARCAZ JulienSUI+04:32
3124VAN EMPEL MickiNED+04:36
3249JANISZEWSKI SylwesterPOL+04:38
3360TABOURY ThibaultFRA+04:39
3442BENEY RomainSUI+04:54
3529WEBER SaschaGER+05:13
3656CESSOT JonathanFRA+05:29
3740MENGER DavidCZE+05:30
3826VAN DER HORST GeertNED+05:37
3944SCHERZ ValentinSUI+05:44
4066HERMAN PaulFRA+06:30
4363DE PATRE RobertoITA-1LAP



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.