The Watch Tower is a signature piece of Granogue scenery © Dennis Smith/

The Watch Tower is a signature piece of Granogue scenery © Dennis Smith/

by Mark Vanderbacon

To celebrate the 10th edition of what has been called the toughest ’cross race in North America, the Delaware Cyclocross Coalition of Delaware (DCCoD) changed this year’s Granogue Cyclocross, part of the Champion System MAC Series,  to a two-day format. Close to 1,250 racers signed on to partake in the celebration that is DCCoD’s “pimpin’ your cross since 2001.” Saturday’s three UCI sanctioned races illustrated three different ways to win a race.

The Elite men’s race was highlighted by Jesse Anthony of California Giant, who broke away from the Elite Men’s field and soloed to victory. Behind Anthony, a tight battle developed between Justin Lindine of BikeReg and Adam (a.k.a. “Newt”) McGrath of Feedback-Van Dessel for the final podium spots.  Lindine was able to out gun McGrath for the silver.

The Elite women’s race was a C3-Athletes Serving Athletes dominated affair with teammates Laura van Gilder, Dee Dee Winfield and Arley Kemmerer sweeping the podium. Winfield jumped to an early lead. But the tenacious Van Gilder clawed her way back to the hard-charging Winfield, and took a close sprint finish for the win. Kemmerer soloed in for the third place on the podium.

Granogue also hosted one of only four UCI Junior races on Saturday. Yannick Eckmann (Hottubes Development) and hometown favorite Jeff Bahnson (Van Dessel Factory Team) separated themselves from the hard-chasing pack, and a two-man battle unfolded. The duel came down to the final lap. On the final section of the course, Bahnson bobbled on the barriers and Eckmann was able to slip away to earn a hard fought win. Karl Hoppner (EMD Serano Specialized) finished third.

Photo Gallery:

Full Results:

Elite Men

TimeBib #Last NameFirst NameTeam
11:02:05103AnthonyJesseJamis / Joe’s Garage / Scott
31:03:42110McGrathAdamFeedback Sports/Van Dessel Cyclocross
4U231:04:06101ScherzValentinCyfac-Champion System Racing Team p/b Revolution
5U231:04:18126DombrowskiJosephHaymarket / SEAVS
61:05:02109SchempfWestonC3-Athletes Serving Athletes / Joe’s Garage / Scott
8U231:05:22115FisherSteveRad Racing NW / Hagens Berman LLP
91:05:24128NietersJaredHaymarket / SEAVS
111:05:46111WulfkuhleAndrewC3-Athletes Serving Athletes
131:06:32117BradshawPeterEmbrocation Cycling Journal
141:07:16113WittwerGregALAN North America Cycling Team
151:08:11124CummingsStephenHaymarket Bicycles / SEAVS
18lap-1130mihalikmichaelFreddie Fu Cycling Team
19lap-1129BroadwaterMarkC3-Athletes Serving Athletes
21lap-1122WeaverDaveALAN North America Cycling Team
22lap-2114WyattNathanaelCarolina Fatz pb Industry Nine
24lap-2131SpohnMattCyfac-Champion System Racing Team p/b Revolution Wheelworks
25U23lap-2127BradleyPatrickRutgers University | Raleigh | Kim’s Bike Shop
26U23lap-4120AdamsZachC3-Athletes Serving Athletes
27lap-4121ConsortoChristopherLouis Garneau
28lap-4133crooksandrewNYC Velo
29lap-4132PierceStephenCambridge Bicycle / Igleheart Frames
30lap-5138PeppoKyleCyfac-Champion System Racing Team p/b Revolution Wheelworks
DNF0:00:00108DewaldRyanHaymarket / SEAVS
DNFU230:00:00118GrandAnthonyCyfac-Champion System Racing Team p/b Revolution
DNF0:00:00135LeaBobbyVan Dessel Factory Team

Elite Women

PlaceU2335+TimeBib #Last NameFirst NameTeam
135+0:00201van GilderLauraC3 Athletes Serving Athletes
235+0:00202WinfieldDeidreC3 – Athletes Serving Athletes
30:00207kemmererarleyC3 – Athletes Serving Athletes
40:00206D’AmbruosoAnnLadiesFirst Racing
50:00211BlattRebeccasilverbull centralwheel
60:00204GavinKristinTeam Cystic Fibrosis
70:00205ThiemannNicoleTeam CF
935+0:00217DowidchukKatrinaTeam TBB/Deep Blue
1035+0:00210MaxwellJenniferVan Dessel Factory Team p/b Sterke Meiden
110:00216SillimanErinALAN North America Cycling Team
120:00225KulieczaJulieALAN North America Cycling Team
130:00215PipesLenoreThe Wistar Institute
1435+0:00213WebberLauriSecret Henry’s Team
150:00212ChurchKristineHuman Zoom/ Pabst Blue Ribbon
1635+0:00232BarbossaStaceyMontclair Cyclists
1735+0:00222HarlowElizabethC3 – Athletes Serving Athletes
1835+0:00220MaldonadoLyndaCannondale/Cadence Women’s Racing
190:00223HillesheimLindseySquadra Coppi
200:00224LuebbeAndreaHuman Zoom / Pabst Blue Ribbon
210:00226Hayes ConroyJessicaNorth American Velo
220:00218CutlerAmyTeam EPS/CSS p/b Brielle Cyclery
2335+0:00221SchumacherKathrinGuy’s Racing
2435+0:00231DubeckKimC3 Athletes Serving Athletes
2535+0:00228MasonBethVerge Test Pilot
DNF35+0:00214Boswell-ViltEviePerformance Bicycle Racing
DNF35+0:00219MostLisaWissahickon/Engin Cycles
DNF0:00229LarsenLaurelSyn-Fit Race Team