Sven Nys and Van Paassen Take Fidea Eric Vanderaerden GP in Neerpelt

Pin It
Sven Nys adds the 2011 Fidea Eric Vanderaerden GP to his ever-growing win list.  File photo, © Bart Hazen

Sven Nys adds the 2011 Fidea Eric Vanderaerden GP to his ever-growing win list. File photo, © Bart Hazen

Sven Nys (Lanbouwkrediet) took a narrow win over compatriots Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb / Revor) and Niels Albert (BKCP / PowerPlus) in today’s UCI C2 race in Belgium, the Fidea  Eric Vanderaerden Gran Prix in Neerpelt.

Kevin Pauwels, racing in the new colors of Sunweb / Revor, had a strong race and showed he’s ready to assume defending World Champ Zdenek Stybar’s position as one of the top three Elite men cyclocrossers, as Albert, Nys and Stybar were often battling at the front of most races last season.

The legendary Nys showed he’s entering the cyclocross season with great fitness from a full mountain bike campaign, and led home five other Belgians to snag the top six spots of the race for the host country.  With Zdenek Stybar not racing, Radomir Simunek (BKCP / PowerPlus) did his best to represent the Czech Republic and disrupt the Belgian powerhouse, finishing in seventh.

In the women’s race, Sanne van Paasen (Brain Wash) escaped and kept a gap to the finish, finishing 15 seconds ahead of Daphny van den Brand (AA Drink). Nikki Harris (Telenet / Fidea) rounded out the podium, and Christine Vardaros (Baboco) was the lone American racer, finishing a lucky 13th.

Full Results:

1Sven NYSBEL3656:10:0040
2Kevin PAUWELSBEL2856:14:0030
3Niels ALBERTBEL2656:17:0020
4Klaas VANTORNOUTBEL3056:47:0015
5Bart AERNOUTSBEL3056:49:0010
7Radomir SIMUNEKCZE2957:10:006
8Dieter VANTHOURENHOUTBEL2757:15:004
9Philipp WALSLEBENGER2557:21:002
10Vincent BAESTAENSBEL2358:00:001
11Marco BIANCOITA3058:10:00
12Wietse BOSMANSBEL2158:18:00
13Tom MEEUSENBEL2458:21:00
14Joeri ADAMSBEL2358:30:00
15Gerben DE KNEGTNED3758:37:00
16Vinnie BRAETBEL2159:14:00
17Kenneth VAN COMPERNOLLEBEL2459:49:00
18Arnaud JOUFFROYFRA221:00:22
19Dries PAUWELSBEL241:00:52
20Jimmy TIELENSBEL331:01:13
21Gianni DENOLFBEL251:01:53
22Ritchie DENOLFBEL21
23Yannick MAYERGER21
26Emil Arvid OLSENDEN19
1Sanne VAN PAASSENNED2440:50:0040
2Daphny VAN DEN BRANDNED3441:05:0030
3Nikki HARRISGBR2641:16:0020
4Sanne CANTBEL2241:49:0015
5Sophie DE BOERNED2241:49:0010
6Pavla HAVLIKOVACZE2942:23:008
7Linda VAN RIJENNED2443:11:006
8Reza HORMESNED4543:30:004
9Nicole DE BIE – LEYTENBEL3744:16:002
10Ellen VAN LOYBEL3244:21:001
11Hilde QUINTENSBEL4845:28:00
12Nancy BOBERBEL3745:49:00
13Christine VARDAROSUSA4345:55:00
14Evy KUIJPERSNED1747:13:00
15Carmen MCNELLIS SMALLUSA3247:30:00
16Katrien THIJSBEL2747:48:00
18Margriet Helena KLOPPENBURGDEN24
19Valerie BOONENBEL19
20Marijke DE PAUWBEL22



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!
Tagged as: , , , , , , ,

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.