by Dr. Craig Callan and Champion System MAC staff

The Champion System MAC Series moved up the New Jersey Turnpike to the town of Jamesburg for HPCX and the second round of MAC’s UCI New Jersey double-header weekend. 451 riders took the start this year, a 28% increase over last year’s entry.

The mens race was an exciting one as Switzerland’s Champion System MAC Points Leader Valentin Scherz (CYFAC/Champion System/Revolution Wheelworks) and Italy’s Luca Damiani (Kenda/Geargrinder) broke out to an early lead, chased by a six man chase group that eventually swelled to eight members. As the gap grew in the early leads, it became clear that there were two races on the track:  the race for first and the race for third. On lap three Damiani attacked and quickly distanced Scherz. It seemed as though the first two spots were sewn up when, with one-and-a-half laps to go, Damiani rolled a tire. Realizing that Damiani had no pit bike, Scherz, in a very classy move, yelled to his crew to give his to Damiani. But the Italian couldn’t clip into the pedals on Scherz’s pit bike and was caught by the chase group. Scherz rode solo to victory, while Adam Myerson (Cycle Smart) won the exciting four-man sprint up the steep finish hill.

In the Women’s race, C3-Athletes Serving Athletes again lived up to the team’s Halloween-edition Star Wars Storm Trooper skin suits by sweeping the podium for the second straight day. From the start, the three teammates, current UCI #1 ranked Laura van Gilder, Arley Kemmerer and yesterday’s winner Dee Dee Winfield, broke away with only Kristin Gavin of Team Cystic Fibrosis able to challenge.  Gavin would be sent off the back of the lead group on the second lap and spend the rest of the race in a tight battle with Carolyn Popovic (  A lap later, Kemmerer was out of the lead group.  Winfield and Van Gilder would trade attacks the rest of the race, with Van Gilder winning in a sprint.  Gavin would hold of Popovic by just one second for fourth.

The Champion System MAC returns to action next Saturday for the First State Velo Sport Xross in Fair Hill Natural Resource Area, located in Elkton, Maryland, just just across the state line from Newark, Delaware and the University of Delaware.

Elite Men Results

Place U23 Time First Name Last Name Team
1 1:01:57 Valentin SCHERZ Cyfac-Champion System P/B Revolution Wheelworks
2 0:00:25 Adam MYERSON Cycle-Smart
3 0:00:25 Craig RICHEY p/b Blue
4 1 0:00:25 Jerome TOWNSEND / Joe’s Garage / Scott
5 0:00:32 Adam MCGRATH Thule/Van Dessel Cyclocross
6 0:00:50 Ryan KNAPP
7 0:01:09 Luca DAMIANI Kenda p/b Geargrinder
8 2 0:01:19 Nicholas KEOUGH Champion Systems p/b Keough Cyclocross
9 0:01:25 Christian FAVATA Favata’s Tablerock Tours and Bikes
10 0:02:03 Andrew WULFKUHLE C3-Athletes Serving Athletes
11 0:02:26 Weston SCHEMPF C3-Athletes Serving Athletes
12 0:02:50 Jonny SUNDT Kenda Pro Cycling
13 3 0:02:56 Steve FISHER Rad Racing NW / Hagens Berman LLP
14 0:03:07 Gavriel EPSTEIN CRCA/Foundation
15 0:04:04 Guillaume NELESSEN Van Dessel Factory Team
16 0:04:08 Michael JENKS Highland Park Hermes p/b Kim’s Bike Shop
17 0:04:14 John BURNS
18 0:05:05 Mark BROADWATER C3-Athletes Serving Athletes
19 0:05:35 Matt SPOHN Cyfac-Champion System Racing Team p/b Revolution Wheelworks
20 0:05:58 Lisban QUINTERO CRCA/Foundation
21 0:06:28 Jesse KEOUGH Champion Systems p/b Keough Cyclocross
22 0:06:41 Andrew CROOKS NYC Velo
23 0:07:55 Christopher CONSORTO Louis Garneau
24 4 2 lap Patrick BRADLEY Rutgers University | Raleigh | Kim’s Bike Shop
25 5 2 lap Peter HAGERTY Rochester Institute of Technology
26 2 lap David SOMMERVILLE Cyfac-Champion System P/B Revolution Wheelworks

Elite Women Results

Place m35+ Bib Time First Name Last Name
1 1 0:38:30 Laura VAN GILDER C3 Athletes Serving Athletes
2 2 0:00:00 Deidre WINFIELD C3 – Athletes Serving Athletes
3 0:00:34 Arley KEMMERER C3 – Athletes Serving Athletes
4 0:00:59 Kristin GAVIN Team Cystic Fibrosis
5 0:01:30 Carolyn POPOVIC
6 0:01:35 Patty BUERKLE Haymarket / SEAVS
7 0:01:39 Nicole THIEMANN Team CF
8 0:01:55 Emily THURSTON Missing Link/ 3rd Rail
9 3 0:03:07 Jennifer MAXWELL Van Dessel Factory Team p/b Sterke Meiden
10 4 0:03:37 Katrina DOWIDCHUK Team TBB/Deep Blue
11 0:03:47 Kristine CHURCH Human Zoom/ Pabst Blue Ribbon
12 5 0:03:52 Erica YOZELL
13 0:04:22 Andrea LUEBBE Human Zoom / Pabst Blue Ribbon
14 6 0:04:39 Lauri WEBBER Secret Henrys Team
15 7 0:05:08 Stacey BARBOSSA Montclair Cyclists
16 0:05:21 Amy CUTLER Team EPS/CSS p/b Brielle Cyclery
17 8 0:06:48 Kathrin SCHUMACHER Guy’s Racing
18 1 lap Nina *SANTIAGO Watchung Wheelmen