Sven Nys posing with his new Boone, at his own race in Baal. © Cyclocross Magazine

Sven Nys posing with his new Boone, at his own race in Baal. © Cyclocross Magazine

New year, new teams, new bikes. Last year, Sven Nys wasn’t in attendance at his namesake race, ending his streak of six straight wins at the GP Sven Nys.

This year, he was not only on the start line, but he was also premiering his new Trek carbon cyclocross bike, the Boone, and attempting to remain undefeated in his last seven attempts. [Read our exclusive story on how the Sven Nys / Trek marriage came to be]

Nys, wearing a new Crelan – AA Drink jersey, and riding his new Trek Boone cyclocross bike, was clearly motivated for the January 1 race from the start. Instead of his customary conservative stop, Nys wasted little time in moving to the front. Just a minute into the race, Nys took an early lead, and extended it by skipping the first pit, while nearly every racer behind stopped to swap bikes. Mass chaos in the pit ensued behind the top three, and bikes were flying as mechanics struggled to pass bikes around.

The Cannibal from Baal continued to build his lead, flying through the mud while competitors behind him suffered. Wellens in particular appeared to have an early mechanical and was seen running behind the leaders, but not far—the running seemed as fast as the riding in some of the deep, muddy sections.

Behind Nys, Rob Peeters was battling for second with Wasleben in third after two laps. Martin Bina followed close behind, but the top three were separated by just a couple of seconds only two laps in.

Soon, Nys had established a lead only being answered by a solo Peeters, with Tom Meeusen leading the chase.

Racers were pitting each lap, grabbing bikes at shoulder height since the area after the pit was unrideable. Nys’s bright green, black and white Trek with bright green and black handlebar tape seemed painted to draw maximum attention to the new ride.

Behind them, Niels Albert, flexing his biceps while wearing short sleeves, chased, trying to make his way back to the lead group, found himself in a group with Meeusen and Zdenek Stybar, with Thijs Van Amerongen struggling to make contact.

By halfway through the race, first and second seemed all but final, with Nys well ahead of Peeters and the group of three chasing much farther back. However, on such a muddy and technical course, nothing was certain, and the chasers began to run down Peeters, making contact 33 minutes into the race.

As the clock ran down, it was increasingly obvious that the racers were fatigued from the challenging conditions, after spending most of the race fighting the mud on slogging ascents and trying to stay upright on the equally treacherous descents.

Sven Nys wins and salutes his bike for the second race in a row, only now it's a Trek, not a Colnago. ©

Sven Nys wins and salutes his bike for the second race in a row, only now it’s a Trek, not a Colnago. ©

The chase group began to break up as the lap cards ran down, with Stybar leading and Peeters chasing seconds behind while Albert struggled to maintain contact. Behind them, Meeusen and Wasleben worked together, but couldn’t make contact. Stybar split from Albert and Peeters and increased his lead over the two on a flat straightaway.

Video: Sven Nys in control at his own GP Sven Nys race:

Nys’s lead was untouchable, with Stybar nearly a minute behind, trailed by Albert and then Peeters. He crossed the line carrying his new bike overhead – a familiar scene from Diegem, only this time with a different bike overhead. Stybar handily came in for second place 47 seconds back, followed by Albert in third and Peeters in fourth and Meeusen farther back in fifth.

US National Champion Jonathan Page started the GP Sven Nys after pulling out of Diegem due to crash injuries suffered at Loenhout, but suffered through the race to snag a top 20 finish in 19th.

See the 2014 women’s GP Sven Nys report and results here.


bpost bank trofee #6 - G.P. Sven Nys 2014 Elite Men Results

1Sven NYSBEL381:03:388080
2Zdenek STYBARCZE291:04:276060
3Niels ALBERTBEL281:04:334040
4Rob PEETERSBEL291:04:463030
5Tom MEEUSENBEL261:05:172525
6Thijs VAN AMERONGENNED281:05:332020
7Philipp WALSLEBENGER271:06:001717
8Bart AERNOUTSBEL321:06:001515
9Corne VAN KESSELNED231:06:041212
10Marcel MEISENGER251:06:491010
11Wietse BOSMANSBEL231:07:0288
12Jim AERNOUTSBEL251:07:1266
13Joeri ADAMSBEL251:07:1944
14Dieter VANTHOURENHOUTBEL291:07:5122
16Vinnie BRAETBEL231:08:13
17Lubomir PETRUSCZE241:08:23
18Twan VAN DEN BRANDNED251:08:39
19Jonathan PAGEUSA381:08:54
20Arnaud GRANDSUI241:09:43
21Thijs ALNED341:09:56
22Patrick VAN LEEUWENNED291:10:42
23Kenneth VAN COMPERNOLLEBEL261:10:53
24Radomir SIMUNEKCZE311:11:43
26Kevin CANTBEL26
27Niels KOYENBEL23
28Alexander REVELLNZL29
29Christoph AMBROZIAKGER31