It's time to let loose on day 3 of Jingle Cross 2010. © Michael McColgan

It's time to let loose on day 3 of Jingle Cross 2010. © Michael McColgan

2010 UCI Carousel Volkswagen Jingle Cross Rock SUNDAY. Update – See: Jingle Cross Day 3 Interviews with Todd Wells and Jamey Driscoll Plus Elite Women’s Photo’s

IOWA CITY, IOWA – Jamey Driscoll ( and Amanda Miller (Hudz-Subaru) both took second wins out of the three-day race weekend in Iowa, while dozens braved the cold wearing nothing but Speedos in the singlespeed race. Driscoll went from student to professor in two days.  A college student in Vermont, Driscoll elected to catch up on school work and sit out on the UCI C2 race on Saturday and teach everyone a lesson at today’s UCI C1 Day 3.

Miller went back-to-back wins in impressive fashion, riding away solo off the front in both Saturday and Sunday’s races much to the delight of her fellow Iowans out cheering her on.

Driscoll Delivers

Jamey Driscoll takes the big win. Jingle Cross 2010 Day 3. © Amy Dykema

Jamey Driscoll takes the big win. Jingle Cross 2010 Day 3. © Amy Dykema

Driscoll attacked off the line and carved out an early lead over Ryan Trebon (Kona), yesterday’s winner. Although Trebon would bring the gap down to within 10 seconds on several occasions, he could never completely close it down as Driscoll kept adding fuel to the fire on the front.

Halfway through the race Todd Wells (Cal Giant-Specialized) would make contact with Trebon, and he’d eventually leave the lanky rider in pursuit of Driscoll. Wells, who has shown great late-season form the past several years in the lead-up to Nationals, was putting in blisteringly fast final laps, but would never catch the leader, eventually finishing 24 seconds down.

Trebon suffered an untimely mechanical on his final time down the Mt Krumpit descent, rolling his tubular and crashing. Chris Jones (Rapha-Focus) would capitalize, passing Trebon and claiming the final podium spot, with Trebon able to recover enough to still claim fourth. Todd’s brother Troy Wells would round out the top five with an impressive ride.

Men Hit Off-Camber Descent, Video by Amy Dykema

Amanda Miller Motors to Second Win of Weekend

Miller (Amanda) leads Miller (Meredith). Jingle Cross 2010 Day 3. © Michael McColgan

The Miller Twins. Amanda leads Meredith. Jingle Cross 2010 Day 3. © Michael McColgan

Nicole Duke (Hudz-Subaru) and her teammate Amanda Miller played the team game early on, with Duke storming to the hole shot and early lead, and Amanda Miller sitting on Meredith Miller’s wheel as the Cal Giant rider clawed at the gap. Amanda would eventually set off in an attempt to bridge to her teammate, and Meredith pulled out all the stops to regroup and make the junction.

The two Millers would eventually pass and drop Duke on the steep Mt. Krumpit ascent. On the ensuing laps, Amanda Miller would punch it up the climb and on any power sections, keeping her namesake on the ropes. Perhaps the relentless attacking forced the error, but with just over a lap to go, Meredith Miller crashed, and Amanda Miller had all the space she’d need, going on to take the win by almost 40 seconds.

Meredith Miller would regroup to claim second place, with Nicole Duke maintaining her third place. Kaitie Antonneau ( snagged fourth, with Ashley James (Kenda) in fifth.

Interview with Brian Matter by Amy Dykema:

For more information about Brian and to help him and Mark Lalonde in their quest to tackle Euro Cross this December visit and

Racer feedback from Twitter:

Ryan Trebon: “Man that was a frustrating day out there today. Bad legs, skills, bike problems… Poor Todd Wells had to listen to some choice words being said.”

Todd Wells posing with his fan club after the race! Jingle Cross 2010 Day 3. © Amy Dykema

Todd Wells posing with his fan club after the race. Jingle Cross 2010 Day 3. © Amy Dykema

Troy Wells: “Solid weekend in Iowa with a 5th 7th and 5th. Now it’s time for the post race Jingle Cross party. Always a good time.”

Amanda Miller: “Scored another win today at Jingle Cross. Awesome three days of racing!”

Meredith Miller: “Could have been better, could have been worse, but regardless of the results Jingle Cross ROCKED once again. Three races left this season. Wow.”

Kaitie Antonneau: “Fourth again at Jingle Cross. Such a fun weekend! Except for the getting sick part. I love Mt. Krumpit.”

Check back soon for videos of Day 3.

Photo Gallery by Amy Dykema:

Photo Gallery by Michael McColgan:

Full Results:

Elite Men

1 James Driscoll (USA) 1:00:09
2 Todd Wells (USA) Specialized 0:00:24
3 Christopher Jones (USA) Rapha Focus 0:01:06
4 Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona 0:01:32
5 Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar 0:02:00
6 Tristan Schouten (USA) 0:02:28
7 Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha Focus 0:02:59
8 Brian Matter (USA) Gear Grinder 0:03:22
9 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona 0:03:41
10 Nicholas Weighall (USA) California Giant-Specialized 0:04:02
11 Ryan Iddings (USA) Redline 0:04:20
12 Mitchell Hoke (USA) Clif Bar Development Team 0:04:22
13 Jake Wells (USA) Hudz-Subaru 0:04:23
14 Mark Lalonde (USA) Specialized 0:04:27
15 Bryan Fawley (USA) Park Place Dealerships 0:05:19
16 Cody Kaiser (USA) California Giant-Specialized 0:05:41
17 Christian Helmig (Ger) Metro Volkswagen Cycling Team 0:05:46
18 Kevin McConnell (USA) mercy-specialized 0:05:48
19 Joseph Schmalz (USA) KCCX/Verge p/b Challenge Tires 0:06:04
20 Clayton Omer (USA) Papa Johns’ Racing Team 0:06:11
21 Mike Sherer (USA) The Pony Shop 0:06:39
22 Steve Tilford (USA) TradeWind Energy/The Trek Stores 0:07:33
23 Adam Bergman (USA) Texas RoadHouse Cycling Team p/b Motorex
24 John Curry (USA) GAS/Intrinsik
25 Kevin Fish (USA) bicycle sport shop
26 Michael Hemme (USA) Courage
27 Isaac Neff (USA) Alderfer Bergen
28 Jesse Rients (USA) Nature Valley/Penn Cycle
29 Mathew Allen (USA) behind bars/ little guy racing
30 William Stolte (USA) Tradewind Energy/Trek Stores
31 Christopher Fisher (USA) Velorochester
32 Andrew Coe (USA) SKC Racing
33 Mariusz Czarnomski (Pol)

Elite Women

1 Amanda Miller (USA) Hudz-Subaru 0:44:24
2 Meredith Miller (USA) California Giant-Specialized 0:00:39
3 Nicole Duke (USA) Hudz-Subaru 0:01:05
4 Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) 0:01:33
5 Ashley James (USA) Team Kenda 0:02:06
6 Amanda Carey (USA) Kenda-Felt 0:02:18
7 Kim Eppen (USA) Mercy-Specialized 0:02:26
8 Teal Stetson-Lee (USA) California Giant-Specialized 0:02:34
9 Devon Haskell (USA) Bike Station Aptos 0:03:06
10 Linda Sone (USA) Planet Bike 0:03:19
11 Lisa Curry (USA) GAS/Intrinsik 0:04:46
12 Samantha Schneider (USA) Team TIBCO/To The Top 0:05:02
13 Emily Thurston (USA) Missing Link 0:05:50
14 Brittany McConnell (USA) iowa city cycling club 0:06:14
15 Darcy Sanford (USA) Iowa City Cycling 0:06:24
16 Corey Coogan (USA) Team Plan C p/b Stevens 0:07:03
17 Jeanne Fleck (USA) VELO Duluth/Twin Ports Cyclery 0:07:12
18 Marne Smiley (USA) Scott/Ollett Coaching 0:09:28
19 Robin Williams (USA) Mercy-Specialized 0:09:30