GARLAND, Texas—Chilly and breezy were the words to describe the first day of the Resolution ‘Cross Cup in Garland, Texas. Now in its fifth consecutive year, the Resolution ‘Cross Cup in northeast Dallas was held at Winters Park Amphitheater, with a re-designed course that offered a new wooded section and varied route on the park’s steep terrain.

McFadden Attacks Late for Second Win in a Row

In the Elite Women’s opening C2 race, Courtenay McFadden (American Classic – Zone) would bank her second win in a row, the first coming last Sunday in Indianapolis at the Major Taylor ’Cross Cup. McFadden would go out strong with Amanda Miller (Boulder Cycle Sport/YogaGlo) and Sunny Gilbert (Van Dessel Factory Team).

The group of three got separation over Amanda Nauman (SDG – Muscle Monster) and Samantha Runnels (Ridebiker p/b Sho-Air) heading to the third of six laps.

McFadden kept the pace high for the remainder of the race, but didn’t really shake Miller and Gilbert until the bell lap. It was there McFadden distanced herself from the field, finishing 35 seconds in front of Miller followed by Gilbert. Runnels and Nauman would follow in for fourth and fifth.

Driscoll Takes His First Pro CX Win of the Season

Saturday’s Elite Men’s competition saw Raleigh Clement’s James Driscoll capture his first win of the 2016 USA Cycling Pro Cyclo-Cross Calendar. He has scored eight Top 10’s this year, two of those as runner up in C1 races and two as runner up in C2 races.

Pack racing from the gun was the story of the day, with a group of eight taking the front.

Former Cyclocross National Champion and Olympian Todd Wells (Sram/TLD/Scott) did most of the work early along with Michael Van Den Ham (Garneau Easton Cycling) and Driscoll. This trio of racers, as well as Allen Krugoff (Boulder Cycle Sport/YogaGlo), Yannick Eckmann (Boulder Cycle Sport/YogaGlo), Justin Lindine (Apex/NBX/Trek) and Skyler Mackey (KCCX Elite), would make up the lead group.

It wasn’t until three laps to go that Mackey and Lindine would fade from the lead group. One lap later, Eckmann and Krughoff would also drop back. Driscoll had the throttle down and was on the front for the first time on Saturday, leaving Wells and Van Den Ham to chase over the next two laps.

Driscoll held on to a three-second gap to the win over Wells and Van Den Ham, who crossed the line together, and in second and third, respectively. Krughoff and Eckmann finished the day in fourth and fifth.

Day 2 of racing in Winters Park will continue Sunday. This event, along with North Carolina Grand Prix in Hendersonville, N.C., will close out the 2016 ProCX season.


2016 Resolution ’Cross Cup - UCI C2 - Elite Women Results

12MCFADDENCourtenayAmerican Classic - Zone26245344:58
21MILLERAmandaBoulder Cycle Sport/YogaGlo22851345:3335
34GILBERTSunnyVan Dessel Factory Team23952245:5759
48RUNNELSSamanthaRidebiker p/b Sho-Air38566046:261:28
53NAUMANAmandaSDG - Muscle Monster29292247:002:02
65CUMMINGKathrynJalapeno Cycling34984447:132:15
79WINBERRYLauraSpeedvagen Family Racing24409047:192:21
910GROSSRebeccaZero D Racing17601447:522:54
1012MOORECatherineTrek CXC7043647:542:56
1211BLATTRebeccaVan Dessel24120151:076:09
1313DOUGHERTYFionaBicycle World39546752:267:28
1414GINSBACHSarahTopo Designs Cycling Club31982446:49@1Lap
DNF15BURTONAlexandraBLUE p/b Portland Bicycle Studi361902

2016 Resolution ’Cross Cup - UCI C2 - Elite Men Results

11DRISCOLLJamesRaleigh Clement59:16
32VAN DEN HAMMichaelGarneau - Easton Cycling59:20s.t.
43KRUGHOFFAllenBoulder Cycle Sport/ YogaGlo59:5842
54ECKMANNYannickBoulder Cycle Sport/ YogaGlo1:00:0852
65LINDINEJustinApex / NBX / Trek1:00:171:01
710RICHEYCraigGarneau - Easton Cycling1:00:211:05
86WELLSTroyTeam CLIF BAR1:00:311:15
97KAISERCodyLangeTwins / Specialized1:00:381:22
1012MACKEYSkylerKCCX Elite Cyclocross Team1:00:591:43
1117UHLTristanGiant Racing1:01:512:35
1528WHITNEYJoshEvol Racing1:03:003:44
1734FLISMarkSquadra Flying Tigers pb Jamis1:03:334:17
1835ROTHEStefanELBOWZ Racing1:04:315:15
1933STEPHENSMatBicycles Plus Racing1:04:485:32
2222CLOUTIERTylerRenewed Professional Cyclocross1:05:376:21
2336STRICKLANDColinELBOWZ Racing1:06:287:12
2429JOHNSONKyleTeam Yacht Club@2Laps
2531BROMLEYColinPHENOM p/b Phobio@2Laps
2630FRANKAndrewMontana Velo@2Laps
2727SAUNDERSDerrickSmooth Operator@2Laps
2825ROBERTSBryanTeam Bikes Inc@5Laps
DNF21DIREENJoshDefine Cycling/ Focus Bikes
DNF18POSTIERDylanRenewed Cyclocross
DNF32CRESAPDavidMissoula Bike Source