Parbo charges up the stairs ahead of Chris Jones. © Kenneth Kill, Light & Shadows

Parbo charges up the stairs ahead of Chris Jones. © Kenneth Kill, Light & Shadows

by Dave Sheek

Humid temperatures and morning rains brought some mud to Southern California (SoCal) for the first UCI double-header weekend the area has seen in two years. The mud was literally a giant pit and, along with a mixture of heavy grass, required a lot of power from racers. Day One was fantastic, bringing more than just exciting racing with a bike swap, morning trail run series, and other advocacy rides for cyclists.

The Elite Women’s race started with Devon Haskell (Bike Station Aptos) being first up the long, curving road start and into the grassy fields of Kross-toberfest. In second it was former SoCal resident, Carolyn Popovich (, who took the lead as Haskell crashed halfway through the first lap. But the women’s field was lined up and ready to attack as California Giant Berry Farm’s Teal Stetson-Lee and Barb Howe (Ibis) made their moves. Haskell was back on the bike quickly and back to the front group of five as they stayed together. However, this early attack from Stetson-Lee and Howe set a pace that separated the women. The chase group got close but could never close the gap to the five leaders.

With two to go, Howe had a mishap in the mud causing a slip that separated her from the front group, while Teal continued to smash the pace on the front and open her gap even more. In the end it was Teal Stetson-Lee to take the win with Haskel second, Sarah Maile (Ventana Bikes) third, Popovich fourth and Barb Howe rounding out the top five.

Elite Men

The Elite Men saw tight, aggressive racing from the start as riders sprinted to the grassy fields elbow to elbow. Within the first quarter of a lap multiple crashes caused tangles that created breaks in the group. The first to take the lead was Chris Jones (Rapha-Focus), and by the end of lap one his lead was almost 10 seconds off the front. But it wouldn’t stick as he unfortunately rolled his tire on lap two, putting him back in around 15th. While the lead group took off, Jones rode his way back to the leaders to settle back in until the finish.

With two to go the excitement grew as Joachim Parbo (Leopard Cycles) took the lead. He raced smart as early on he sat in the group, but the week off from the USGP must have served his legs well as Parbo opened a gap on the field. It was close, but the chase group of Sid Taberlay (Sho-Air), Tyler Wren (Boo Bicycles), Danny Summerhill (Garmin), Sean Babcock (Kona) and Chris Sheppard (Rocky Mountain) could not close. Parbo took the final lap and relaxed a bit on his way to the line for the win. Taberlay came hot out of the last barrier section bunny-hopping his way off the group for second. Jones and Wren took third and fourth with an exciting sprint finish and it was Danny Summerhill, who unfortunately had a mishap in the last turn after the barriers but was able to hang on, to round out the top five for the first day of Kross-toberfest racing.

Elite Men Results

Pos U23 Name Team
1 PARBO Joachim Kch Leopard Cycles
2 TABERLAY Sid Sho-Air/Specialized
3 JONES Christopher Rapha Focus
4 WREN Tyler Boo Bicycles
5 * SUMMERHILL Daniel Garmin/Holowesko Partners
6 BABCOCK Sean Kona
7 SHEPPARD Chris Rocky Mountain Bicycles/Shimano/Giro/Trp
8 * FERGUSON Jeremy California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized
9 RICHEY Craig Cyclocrossracing.Com P/B Blue
10 CANDELARIO Alexander Kelly Benefit Strategies
11 SCHOOLER Aaron Team H&R Block
12 SPITERI Frank Peninsula Velo/Pomodoro
13 PRENZLOW Brent Celo Pacific/B+L Bikes
14 * MCDONALD Zach Rapha Focus
15 * SCHMALZ Joseph D Kccx/Verge Presented By Challenge
16 MCGRATH Adam Feedback Sports/Van Dessel Cyclocross
17 SNEAD Josh C Bay 101/Hrs/Rock Lobster
18 * KAISER Cody California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized
19 CHAPIN Scott Hrs/Rocklobster
20 BEHRENS John Bailey Bikes
21 GRITTERS Kyle J Rock N Road Cyclery
22 SIEGLE Jason Bike Religion
23 BAILEY John Bailey Bikes
24 * RYAN Morgan The Team
25 O’DELL Aaron Bay 101/ Hrs/ Rock Lobster
26 MILLS Adam R Kccx/Verge Presented By Challenge
27 CARROLL Donny Bailey Bikes/Donny’S Café
28 CHRISTENSON Eric J Sdg Factory Team
29 PETROV Anton A Sdg Factory Team
30 SYVERTSEN Brue De La Paz
31 NOBLE Chance A California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized
32 HERNANDEZ Sergio A Jelly Belly Cycling
33 DODGE Benjamin L Bay 101/Hrs/Rock Lobster
34 BOTTGER Frederick Sdg Factory Team
35 COLTON Eric The Team
36 YARRA Derek Box Dog Bikes
37 SHEEK David Sdg Factory Team
38 SMITH Tony Focus Bikes Usa
39 WILLARD Ted W The Team
40 WERTENBRUCH Tyler Slo Nexus-Gym One
41 POSHARD Dean Rock Lobster
42 OSBORN Gregory La Velocity
43 BOONE Alex F Pablove Racing
44 LEONARD Lawrence Successful Living
DNF DOUVILLE Gary Platinum Performance
DNF GRITTERS Brandon Rock N Road Cyclery
DNF NOBLE Mark Franco Factory Team
DNF CAMERON Molly Portland Bicycle Studio
DNF BAKER Jonathan Hudz-Subaru

Elite Women Results

Pos U23 Name Team
1 STETSON-LEE Teal California Giant Berry Farms/ Specialized
2 HASKELL Devon Bike Station Aptos
3 MAILE Sarah Ventana Mountain Bikes
4 POPOVIC Carolyn
5 HOWE Barbara Ibis and the Danger Twins
6 THURSTON Emily R Missing Link
7 DIMPEL Courtney Bike Station Aptos
8 BAUMSTEIGER Katrina Team Rambuski Law
9 MANN Allison Rock N’ Road
10 JORDAN Sarah Bay 101/HRS/Rock Lobster
11 SCHAPER Amanda SDG Factory Team
12 CHANEY Beverly Team Roaring Mouse
13 BRAY Tonya Pablove Racing
14 WONG Dorothy The Team
15 * CRAWFORD Ivie The Team
16 * RYAN Alexis M The Team
17 PADILLA Annette Celo Pacific
DNF * RYAN Kendall G The Team

Photo Gallery