LOENHOUT, Belgium—In a race known for its fast, tactical racing and BMX-style obstacles Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) aggressively positioned herself in the final laps and launched her sprint perfectly, winning the sixth round of the BPost Bank Trofee series in a three-up sprint.

As the race started, Pavla Havlikova (MRM-Avalon) took the holeshot and wasted no time driving the pace from the front of the race. In spite of Havlikova’s best efforts, a large group containing all the favorites, and the young upstart Emma White ( rolled through the start/finish together to start lap two.

While many tried their luck at the front of the race, the dry and wide-open track at Loenhout favored group racing, and the middle laps had the lead group all together. There were flashes of excitement in the pack as Nadja Heigl hopped the barriers and White got crossed up in the pump track section of the course, going down and losing time on the leaders.

With three laps to go, Cant attacked into the famous washboard pump track section of the course, gaining distance on her rivals in an impressive display of bike handling. With a gap established, she was quickly joined by Havlikova and Ellen van Loy (Telenet-Fieda). The trio worked together to establish their lead, and with two laps left, they had a seven second gap on Loes Sels (AA Drink), with Jolien Verschueren 11 seconds behind the lead trio.

Knowing that the race would end in a long sprint, the lead trio battled for positioning the final lap. With Verschueren closing in on the finishing straight, Havilkova was the first to launch, but her efforts would not be enough, as Cant timed her jump perfectly, overtaking Havilkova with enough of a gap to raise her arms in victory. Van Loy would finish third closely followed by her teammate Verschueren.

Behind the leaders, the United States’ Amanda Miller (Boulder Cycle Sport/YogaGLO) would finish in 10th, and recovering from her early spill on the pump track section, White rolled through in 13th place.

You can read how the American Junior Men faired and see the results from the U23 Men here.

2015 BPost Bank Azencross Elite Women’s Full Results

1Sanne CantEnertherm - BKCP00:43:30
2Pavla HavlikovaVZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team00:00:00
3Ellen Van LoyVZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team00:00:01
4Jolien VerschuerenVZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team00:00:05
5Loes SelsVZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team00:00:21
6Lucinda Brand00:00:30
7Maud KaptheijnsAA Drink-Kalas Cycling Team00:00:30
8Helen WymanKona Factory Team00:00:48
9Alice Maria Arzuffi00:01:00
10Amanda Miller00:01:11
11Nikola NoskovaKC Kooperativa Sg Jab00:01:17
12Femke Van Den DriesscheVZW Lotto-Ladiescycling00:01:18
13Emma White00:01:23
14Sophie De BoerKalas-NNOF Cycling Team00:01:39
15Lise-Marie Henzelin00:01:43
16Bianca Van Den Hoek00:01:46
17Esmee Oosterman00:02:17
18Elle Anderson00:02:21
19Martina Mikulaskova00:02:26
20Anna Schappert00:02:27
21Asa Maria Erlandsson00:02:30
22Ceylin Alvarado00:02:36
23Linda Ter BeekWSV Emmen00:02:45
24Nadja Heigl00:02:51
25Maëva Calvez00:02:57
26Lisa Jacobs00:02:57
27Crystal Anthony00:02:59
28Floor Weerink00:03:00
29Hannah Arensman00:03:11
30Shana MaesAA Drink-Kalas Cycling Team00:03:31
31Fleur Nagengast00:03:50
32Allison Arensman00:04:05
33Veerle Goossens00:04:10
34Emily Wadsworth00:04:18
35Elena Valentini00:04:19
36Katrien ThijsKleur Op Maat cyclingteam00:04:43
37Nathalie Redmond00:04:43
38Angelica Edvardsson00:04:43
39Irene Trabazo Bragado00:04:43
40Kristin Endres00:05:02
41Maaike De HeijWV De Valleirenners00:05:27
42Birgit Massage00:05:40
43Joyce Heyns00:05:54
44Meg De BruyneVD Hauwe CT - Gentse VS00:06:22
45Yvonne Fiedler00:06:29
46Nele Van MaldeghemFUJI Medista MTB Team - Neeroeteren00:06:37
47Marlies BeckersB-Cycle Team-1 lap
48Kristien Nelen-1 lap
49Nicolle Van Opijnen-Leuten-1 lap
50Tine VerdeyenCycling Team Zemst VZW-1 lap
51Julia Nikolopoulos-1 lap
52Caren Commissaris-1 lap
53Lara Van Wunsel-2 lap
54Tatiana Vanparys-2 lap
55Sara BeeckmansW.A.C. Team Hoboken (Kon.) V.Z.W.-2 lap
56Anke Van RompayKleur Op Maat cyclingteam-2 lap
57Ruta Brakovska-2 lap
58Dagnija Auzane-3 lap