Johnson, Bazin and Driscoll on the podium at Green Mountain 2012. By Todd Prekaski

Johnson, Bazin and Driscoll on the podium at Green Mountain 2012. © Todd Prekaski

The Verge New England Cyclocross Series got underway today at the 13th annual Green Mountain Cyclocross Weekend with racers vying for series points in a total of ten categories. Under dramatic skies, Bazin and Anthony emerged victorious over strong Elite fields, making them the early season leaders of the series.

The Elite Women’s race took shape early on with’s Crystal Anthony pedaling away soon after the leaders hit the barriers for the first time. “I was feeling good and took a chance,” said Anthony. She was obviously feeling strong, her gap only growing as Mo Bruno Roy and Catherine Sterling vied for second spot for the entirety of the race. Roy led Sterling for more than half the race before Sterling created a gap. Roy chased hard, not letting Sterling out of her sight, but ultimately Sterling held Roy off and crossed the line in second.

Eight leaders in the Elite Men’s race organized early and stayed together for the opening laps. Some of the biggest names in North American cyclocross were there: Johnson, Driscoll, Page, McNicholas, Lindine, and Keough, with Frenchman Bazin making a strong showing. Lindine’s attack in the fifth lap caused the group to break apart, but it was the counterattack by Johnson of Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld that stuck, bringing Bazin and teammate Driscoll with him. Bazin and the two teammates traded attacks for the remainder of the race, Bazin ultimately riding away from Vermonter Driscoll on his home turf, with Johnson following in third. McNicholas, Page, and Lindine crossed next with a photo finish for fourth. “I wanted to race my heart out for all the people that came out and were cheering for me, but it was ultimately the strongest man that won,” Driscoll said.

Elite Men’s Results:

1NicolasBazinBig-Mat Auber 931:01:55  
7FlavienDassonvilleBig-Mat Auber 931:04:17
8DanielChabanovRichard Sachs - RGM Watches - Radix1:04:41
9LukeKeoughCorner Cycle Cycling Club/ Champion1:04:55
10DerrickSt johnStevens presented by The Cyclery1:05:05
11AdamSt. germainNBX Bikes/Quadfire Racing/Narragans1:05:08
13TedKingLiquigas-Cannondale / iamtedking.co1:05:08
14ChristianFavataRichard Sachs - RGM Watches - Radix1:05:27
15DanTimmermanRichard Sachs - RGM Watches - Radix1:05:38
17AdamMyersonSmartStop/Mountain Khakis1:06:03
18BobbyBaileyGreen Mountain Bicycle Club1:06:03
21ConorO'brienStevens Racing P/B the Cyclery1:06:12 / Joe's Garage1:06:28
23MannyGoguenC.F. Racing p/b Trek Portsmouth1:06:28
26JeffreyElieRiverside Racing1:08:13
27KevinSweeneyB2C2 p/b Boloco1:08:26
28CharlieSchubertBikes Not Bombs / Circle A Cycles1:09:01
31TimRattaCheshire Cycle and Repair1:09:10
32AdamSullivanEmbrocation Cycling Journal1:09:21
33AndrewLysaghtB2C2/Boloco/BackBayBicycles1 lap
34GrahamGarberCentral Wheel1 lap
35GeoffreyBouchardNBX Bikes/Narragansett Beer P/B Ape1 lap
36DonaldCummingWolverine Sports Club1 lap
37JoshuaLehmannBoston Bicycle School1 lap
38KiernanOrangeRide with Rendall1 lap
39AndrewFreyeCycle Mania-PVC2 lap
40PeterMancini2 lap
41SylvainJean2 lap
42EthanGilmourParadise3 lap
43AlexanderGrabau4 lap

Elite Women’s Results:

3MaureenBruno royBob's Red Mill pb Seven Cycles0:00:36
5JulieLafreniereStevens Racing p/b The Cyclery0:01:22
6MaghalieRochettePowerWatts - Fit Time0:01:32
7KateNorthcottBeam Team Racing0:01:58
8RebeccaWellonsSeaside Cycle0:02:15
9KarinHolmesRiverside Racing0:02:19
10MarianJamisonLadiesFirst Racing0:02:41
11ChristinaTamilioLadiesFirst Racing0:02:47
13RosanneVan dornTeam Placid Planet0:03:13
14VickieMonahanExpo Wheelmen0:03:26
15NancyLabbe-giguereLadiesFirst Racing0:03:30 p/b VOmax0:03:42
17GiuliaRighiCentral Wheel0:03:42
18AliceHenriquesZanconato Racing0:03:53
19AnaSirianniHUP United0:04:30
20AmyMiner1K2GO-Onion River Sports0:05:48
21CaitDooleyGeekhouse Bikes0:07:06

Gallery by Todd Prekaski: