The clouds and wind remained for the final day of Pro CX racing in Garland, Texas, but the temperatures climbed 30-plus degrees to heat up competition for the fifth annual Resolution ‘Cross Cup.

McFadden Does the Double

Courtenay McFadden (American Classic – Zone) didn’t allow the weather to affect her winning streak, which improved to three in a row on Sunday. The Bellingham, Washington native scored her first win of the Pro CX season in Indianapolis last weekend, on the final day at the Major Taylor ‘Cross Cup. Looking to gain a spot from her sixth-place ranking in the Pro CX standings, McFadden swept both races at Winters Park this weekend.

Similar to proceedings on Saturday, a group of three made the early selection – Amanda Miller (Boulder Cycle Sport/ YogaGlo), Sunny Gilbert (Van Dessel Factory Team) and McFadden. Miller was the aggressor early, but McFadden would not let her get away, and in the process distancing Gilbert with two laps to go. At the bell, McFadden had already put 15 seconds on Miller, and 30 seconds on Gilbert. The three would duplicate Saturday’s podium for the Elite Women, with McFadden on the top step followed by Miller and Gilbert.

Gilbert had this to say, “What a great weekend of racing! The dry-ish conditions made for a fast, flowy course no matter which direction they sent us.  And with the exception of my bobble in the woods (I laid the bike down in a corner on Day 1), I loved the technical challenge and variety – even the soul-crushing climb to the barriers. The competition was excellent, like riding (fast) with friends, each taking the measure of the other.” Gilbert continues, “I wish I had been able to stick to Amanda’s and Courtenay’s wheel mid-race today, especially after that fast start. Also, it looks like there were breakout races for a few other ladies this weekend; always exciting to see. Kudos to the organizers for putting on another fantastic event. Making one of my New Years’ Resolutions to come back again next year.”

Samantha Runnels (Ridebiker p/b Sho-Air) and Laura Winberry (Speedvagen Family Racing) would close out the top five, with Runnels repeating in fourth and Winberry taking fifth.

Wells’ First Win of the Season

Sunday’s full schedule of racing concluded with 41 Elite Men contesting the final event of the 2016 USA Cycling Pro Cyclocross Calendar. It was a three rider race for most of the nine lap distance, taken by Todd Wells (SRAM/TLD/Scott) for his first Pro CX win of the season.

The Durango, Colorado rider finally reached the podium on Saturday in Garland, saying, “Alright, finally found the podium in a race, not the best step but not the worst, fun to be part of the race.” Sunday he made the most of his last effort, holding off Michael van den Ham (Garneau-Easton Cycling) by four seconds for the victory.

Justin Lindine (Apex/NBX/Trek) finished third, just 10 seconds in arrears. Jamey Driscoll was in chase mode all day, made more challenging by a spill with two laps to go. He finished 48 seconds back in fourth position. Allen Krughoff (Boulder Cycle Sport/ YogaGlo) outkicked Craig Richey (Garneau-Easton Cycling) by seven seconds and held on for fifth place.

The Pro CX concluded Dec. 11 with events at the Resolution Cross Cup in Garland, Texas and the Hunter Subaru North Carolina Grand Prix in Hendersonville, N.C. This year’s Pro CX featured 42 scoring events across 16 states. Cyclocross Nationals will be held January 3-8, 2017 in Hartford, Conn.

2016 Resolution ’Cross Cup Day 2 - Elite Women Results

12MCFADDENCourtenayAmerican Classic - Zone47:31:00
21MILLERAmandaBoulder Cycle Sport/YogaGlo47:49:00
34GILBERTSunnyVan Dessel Factory Team48:03:00
48RUNNELSSamanthaRidebiker p/b Sho-Air48:42:00
59WINBERRYLauraSpeedvagen Family Racing48:52:00
63NAUMANAmandaSDG - Muscle Monster49:03:00
75CUMMINGKathrynJalapeno Cycling49:18:00
1012MOORECatherineTrek CXC51:16:00
1110GROSSRebeccaZero D Racing51:40:00
1213DOUGHERTYFionaBicycle World52:16:00
1315BURTONAlexandraBLUE p/b Portland Bicycle Studi52:17:00
1411BLATTRebeccaVan Dessel55:41:00
1514GINSBACHSarahTopo Designs Cycling Club47:26:00

2016 Resolution ’Cross Cup Day 2 - Elite Men Results

22VAN DEN HAMMichaelGarneau - Easton Cycling1:01:16
35LINDINEJustinApex / NBX / Trek1:01:22
41DRISCOLLJamesRaleigh Clement1:02:00
53KRUGHOFFAllenBoulder Cycle Sport/YogaGlo1:02:38
610RICHEYCraigGarneau - Easton Cycling1:02:45
74ECKMANNYannickBoulder Cycle Sport/YogaGlo1:03:23
87KAISERCodyLangeTwins / Specialized1:03:30
917UHLTristanGiant Racing1:03:49
1320DRUMMONDChrisSPCX p/b RK Black1:04:43
1428WHITNEYJoshEvol Racing1:05:20
1534FLISMarkSquadra Flying Tigers pb Jamis1:05:46
1612MACKEYSkylerKCCX Elite Cyclocross Team1:05:58
1735ROTHEStefanELBOWZ Racing1:06:12
1821DIREENJoshDefine Cycling/Focus Bikes1:06:27
2022CLOUTIERTylerRenewed Professional Cyclocross1:07:38
2133STEPHENSMatBicycles Plus Racing1:08:06
2237MILLSAdamSource Endurance@2Laps
2329JOHNSONKyleTeam Yacht Club@3Laps
2536STRICKLANDColinELBOWZ Racing@3Laps
2730FRANKAndrewMontana Velo@5Laps
2825ROBERTSBryanTeam Bikes Inc@6Laps
DNF18POSTIERDylanRenewed Cyclocross
DNF32CRESAPDavidMissoula Bike Source
DNS27SAUNDERSDerrickSmooth Operator