HOOGSTRATEN, Belgium—Yesterday was the penultimate round of the Superprestige series. While there were smaller post-Worlds fields like at Saturdays finale of the Bpost Bank Trofee series, the racing was still fast and furious.

For the Elite Men, Dutch National Champion Mathieu van der Poel had a thrilling, spinning ride on his way to the victory. Trying to hop the barriers, van der Poel nearly came to grief, but was able to right himself with a 360 spin move reminiscent of an NBA dunk contest.


Behind van der Poel, World Champion Wout van Aert took second place with Tom Meeusen coming in a bit further down for third. Stephen Hyde was the only American in the race finishing 26th. Australian Garry Millburn was 32nd while Candain Mark McConnell was 33rd.

@nikkiharris86 in da corner #cyclocross #hoogstraten #superprestige A photo posted by Balint Hamvas (@cyclephotos) on

For the Elite Women, Belgian National Champion Sanne Cant edged out Sophie de Boer by 15 seconds followed by British national Champion Nikki Harris. For the Americans, Britlee Bowman was 17th and Corey Coogan Cisek was 25th. Harris’ countrywoman Helen Wyman was 7th and Australia’s Stacey Riedel was 30th.

Men’s U23 World Champion Eli Iserbyt righted affairs from the day prior and took the win in the Superprestige Hoogstraten. He was just clear of his countrymen Daan Soete and Quinten Hermans who finished second and third, respectively. Scot Smith was the only North American in the race and he finished in 23rd.

And Jens Dekker continued his winning ways in the Junior Men’s race. He’s won everything since World Cup Hoogerheide and the World Champion wasn’t going to be denied Sunday’s contest. He came in ahead of Belgian duo Florian Vermeersch and Seppe Rombouts.

Scroll through the slide show to see the full results from each race.

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

2016 Hansgrohe Superprestige Elite Men's Results

1Mathieu VAN DER POELNED211:00:26
2Wout VAN AERTBEL221:00:43
3Tom MEEUSENBEL281:01:20
4Sven NYSBEL401:01:48
5Laurens SWEECKBEL231:02:06
6Toon AERTSBEL231:02:23
7Lars VAN DER HAARNED251:02:42
8David VAN DER POELNED241:03:00
9Klaas VANTORNOUTBEL341:03:15
10Jim AERNOUTSBEL271:03:18
11Kevin PAUWELSBEL321:03:19
12Radomir SIMUNEKCZE331:03:19
13Tim MERLIERBEL241:03:24
14Joeri ADAMSBEL271:03:25
15Gianni VERMEERSCHBEL241:03:25
16Vincent BAESTAENSBEL271:04:13
17Rob PEETERSBEL311:04:20
18Thijs VAN AMERONGENNED301:04:25
19Corne VAN KESSELNED251:04:54
21Stan GODRIENED231:05:19
22Michael BOROSCZE241:05:23
24Julien TARAMARCAZSUI291:05:37
25Kenneth VAN COMPERNOLLEBEL281:06:16
26Stephen HYDEUSA291:06:43
29Niels KOYENBEL25 
30Kevin CANTBEL28 
31Hendrik SWEECKBEL24 
34Nicolas LEBESQFRA35 
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse