Danny Summerhill takes command of the race.  © Lenny Maiorani

Danny Summerhill takes command of the race. © Lenny Maiorani

by Lenny Maiorani

Golden, CO- After a cold and windy day at Alpha Cross #2 in Centennial, CO on Saturday, the sun came out and Sunday was a perfect day for ‘cross in Golden, CO.

In the second race in the RRV Cross Series, a few were out there with something to prove and each category had some good internal battles. In a reversal of the first race of the series, Danny Summerhill (Felt – Holowesko Partners – Garmin) took the win over Matt Pacocha (Hudz-Subaru Cycling Team). Alison Dunlap (Luna Chix) ran away with a huge victory over rest of the field in the women’s open category.

Watch for Dunlap to continue her domination as she and all the racers are all geared up for the championships next weekend.

Photo Gallery:


Men’s Open

1Daniel SummerhillFelt – Holowesko Partners – Garmin
2Matthew PacochaHudz-Subaru Cycling Team
3Jonathan BakerHudz-Subaru Cycling Team
4Brad WhiteUnattached
5Brandon DwightBoulder Cycle Sport
6Allen KrughoffTeam Rio Grande
7J.J. ClarkCM Cycling
8Ward BakerRocky Mounts/Izze Racing
9Tim AllenUnattached
10Troy HeitheckerTeam Rio Grande
11Chad MelisDale’s Pale Ale / Spot Brand
12Brian FuentesUnattached
13Kevin MullervyRMCEF-Westside
14Aaron BouplonRocky Mounts/Izze Racing
15Shawn HarshmanKonig Racing p/b Harshman Wealth
16Martin GuessRM Elite Cycling
17Skyler TrujilloBlack Sheep Junior Cycling
18Dean HaasBlack Sheep Junior Cycling
19Joseph SapersteinTeam Rio Grande
20Daniel LionbergTeam Rio Grande
21Matthew PronovostMoots
22Andrew FeeneyUnattached
23David SheikOne-Day License
24Dave MessenheimerUnattached
25Daniel DePaemelaere8 Sixteen Racing

Women’s Open

1Alison DunlapLuna Chix
2Lisa StrongNatural Grocers p/b XP Companies
3Karen HoganUnattached
4Kristal BoniBlue Sky Velo
5Becca BlayUnattached
6Lynn BushTough Girl
7Lauren CostantiniBlue Sky Velo
8Jane FinsterwaldMafia Racing-Pabst-Felt
9Margell AbelTough Girl
10Kim BaughUnattached
11Kimberly NufferTough Girl
12Adrianne KroepschUnattached
13Catherine JohnsonRocky Mounts/Izze Racing
14Brenda MoczygembaTough Girl
15Michele BlissChipotle/Titus
16Willa JohnsonTitle Nine
17Susan PrietoBlue Sky Velo

complete results for all categories can be found here