Providence Cyclo-cross Festival October 8-10

Providence Cyclo-cross Festival, October 8-10

While teammate Jeremy Powers was busy battling Ryan Trebon at the UCI3 races, Tim Johnson flew the team colors to back to back wins at the Providence Cyclo-cross festival (read about Day One here). After winning ahead of teammate Jamey Driscoll in a sprint by the slimmest of margins on Saturday, the reigning national champ had a more comfortable ride as he distanced second place by almost a minute. Italian Luca Damiani (Kenda p/b Geargrinder) and Swiss Valentin Scherz (Cyfac-Champion System) completed the podium.

The gap in the women’s race was similar as Meredith Miller (Cal Giant-Specialized) avenged her flat tire from Day One with a commanding performance en route to victory. Sally Annis ( p/b JRA Cycles) had another impressive ride to claim the podiums second step, ahead of New England star Andrea Smith (LadiesFirst Racing).

Miller Time

The women’s race started much like the previous day. Local racer, Rebecca Wellons (Pedro’s) once again took the hole shot with Miller, and yesterday’s top two, Sally Annis ( and Andrea Smith (Ladies First Racing), right on her wheel. However Miller quickly made it clear that she was the strongest woman of the weekend as she took advantage of the first lap scrum to open a quick five-second gap and was never caught again.

“I was ready to go today, I just decided to put the pressure on from the beginning and see what happened,” explained Miller. “I could go hard from the beginning and open a gap, and then I was able to ride steady from there and do my own thing. It was more technical today, so for me to be able to pick my own lines was better.”

Behind her, familiar faces fell into familiar places as Sally Annis and Andrea Smith surged from the field to chase the raging Miller, with Annis once again putting a small gap into Smith. In the end, neither could find anywhere on the course to close the gap, and the California Giant rider finished with a comfortable lead and both hands in the air.

Johnson Leaves No Question

The men’s race started with a slightly different complexion due to the absence of Jamey Driscoll, who succumbed to the demands of college classwork. At the start, Timothy Johnson, Luca Damiani, Nick Weighall and Valentin Scherz took a quick lead over the rest of the field. With the front group established, Johnson wasted no time attacking through the start/finish on the second lap and opened a gap which no one could close. “I never even saw the front until the end of the first lap,” explained Johnson. “I did an attack on the pavement, then another attack a couple of corners in to get a little bit of a gap – it worked a little bit, but it was tough because the thing with today was the course was in really good shape so you could push as hard as you wanted.”

Behind him, Scherz and Damiani did push themselves in a battle for second until a mishap left Scherz briefly on the ground and Damiani chasing solo. A fight for third then ensued as local Justin Lindine (’s Garage) and California Giant rider Nick Weighall made contact with Scherz. The trio appeared to be slowly making ground on Damiani, who appeared to be tiring as the race progressed. However, the battle quickly turned into one of survival as Scherz attacked his compatriots with a lap to go, nearly making it back to Damiani, but ultimately falling short, leaving Damiani in second, Scherz in third and a distinctly international flavor on the podium.

Full Results:

Elite Women

1Meredith Miller (USA) Cal Giant/Specialized0:42:31
2Sally Annis (USA) p/b JRA Cycles0:00:40
3Andrea Smith (USA) LadiesFirst Racing0:00:56
4Sara Bresnick-Zocchi (USA)
5Linnea Koons (USA) PVD0:01:19
6Rebecca Wellons (USA) PEDRO’S0:01:25
7Ann d’Ambruoso (USA) LadiesFirst Racing0:01:42
8Nicole Thiemann (USA) Team CF0:01:48
9Crystal Anthony (USA) LadiesFirst Racing0:02:08
10Christina Tamilio (USA) LadiesFirst Racing0:02:30
11Rebecca Blatt (USA) silver bull/central wheel0:03:09
12Anna Barensfeld (USA) LadiesFirst Racing0:03:10
13Katrina Dowidchuk (USA) Team TBB/Deep Blue0:03:34
14Sarah Krzysiak (USA) / CBRC0:03:57
15Melissa Ross (USA) Team MMWR/Landry’s Bicycles0:04:13
16Catherine Sterling (USA)0:04:39
17Allison Snooks (USA) LadiesFirst Racing
18Frances Morrison (USA) Wheelhouse / NCC0:04:52
19Andrea Myers (USA) Bethel Cycle0:07:40
20Laura Ralston (USA) MIT
21Jessica Hayes Conroy (USA) North American Velo
22Darcy Foley (USA)
23Margaret Thompson (USA) Team Hammer Nutrition

Elite Men

1Timothy Johnson (USA) UnitedHealthcare pb Maxxis0:55:52
2Luca Damiani (Ita) Kenda p/b Geargrinder0:00:48
3Valentin Scherz (Swi) Cyfac-Champion System p/b Revolution Wheelworks0:00:59
4Nicholas Weighall (USA) California Giant Cycling0:01:11
5Justin Lindine (USA) / Joe’s Garage / Scott0:01:21
6Jerome Townsend (USA)0:01:57
7Philip Wong (USA) Seaside Cycle – Antero Resources0:02:03
8Anthony Grand (Swi) Cyfac-Champion System p/b Revolution Wheelworks0:02:27
9Luke Keough (USA)0:02:51
10Manny Goguen (USA) BikeReg,com/Joe’s Garage/Scott
11Adam Myerson (USA) Cycle-Smart0:03:24
12Nicholas Keough (USA) Champion System p/b Keough Cyclocross
13Steve Fisher (USA) Rad Racing NW / Hagens Berman LLP
15Peter Bradshaw (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal0:03:45
16Dave Hackworthy (USA)
17Alec Donahue (USA)0:04:21
18Christian Favata (USA)
19Adam Snyder (USA) Team Jamis
20Shawn Milne (USA) Antero Resources/Seaside Cycles0:04:39
21David Wilcox (USA) PEDROS0:04:46
22Shaun Adamson (Can)0:04:55
23Jesse Keough (USA) Champion System p/b Keough Cyclocross
24John Peterson (USA)
25Tom Sampson (USA) Cannondale Factory Racing
26John Burns (USA) Bikeman.com0:05:13
27Kevin Wolfson (USA) Independent Fabrication
28Joshua Lehmann (USA) PEDROS0:07:59
29Collin Huston (USA) Moots
30Colin Reuter (USA)
31James Harmon (USA)
32Ryan Kelly (USA)
33Stephen Pierce (USA) Cambridge Bicycle / Igleheart Frames
34Christian Parrett (USA) Team Sprocket Pro Cycling
35Michael Jenks (USA) Highland Park Hermes p/b Kim’s Bike Shop
36Peter Rubijono (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal
37Pierre Vanden Borre (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal / Mad Alchemy
39Ryan O’Hara (USA)
40Tom Gosselin (USA)
41Alistair Sponsel (USA)
42Kyle Peppo (USA)
43Rodrigo Moraes (USA) Edgartown Bicycles
44R. Michael Mckittrick (USA)
45David Sommerville (USA)