European Champion Lars van der Haar Wins U23 Race in Diegem

Pin It
Lars van der Haar © Bart Hazen

Lars van der Haar © Bart Hazen

by Bart Hazen

European champion Lars van der Haar (Rabobank-Giant Offroad) has won the U23 race at the Superprestige in Diegem, Belgium. After a thrilling race the little Dutch rider was the fastest in the sprint over Wietse Bosmans. Van der Haar’s teammate Mike Teunissen completed the podium. Joeri Adams, Gert-Jan Bosman (both Rabobank), Vincent Baestaens, Corne van Kessel, Mathieu Boulo, Gianni Vermeersch and Ole Quast completed the podium. Due to his win, van der Haar extends his lead in the Superprestige series. American national champion Danny Summerhill didn’t have the legs he showed in the Zolder World Cup, where he took 13th place, and finished in 34th, over three minutes down on the winner. Zach McDonald (36th), Jerome Townsend (40th), Steve Fisher (48th), Chris Hurst (51st), Cody Kaiser (56th) and Joseph Schmalz (57th) finished the race as well.

The winner of the World Cup in Zolder, Wietse Bosmans, still had a pair of good legs and broke clear early in the race. Bosmans was followed by Rabobank riders Adams and Van der Haar at 6 seconds. At the moment that van der Haar went down in one of the many icy corners, Adams bridged up to Bosmans. In the penultimate lap Adams crashed too and it looked like Bosmans was on his way to take another big win.

Behind Bosmans a group of three Rabo’s formed, with van der Haar, Mike Teunissen and Gert-Jan Bosman. The three made it a kind of team time-trial, and used that dynamic to their advantage. In the final lap they caught Bosmans. Bosmans turned onto the final straight in first position and made it a long sprint. In the final meters, van der Haar came around to add another big win to his impressive season’s account.

Photo Gallery:

Full Results:

1Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:48:01
2Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
3Mike Teunissen (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:00:05
4Joeri Adams (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:00:10
5Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:00:15
6Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:28
7Corné van Kessel (Ned)0:00:34
8Matthieu Boulo (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole0:00:40
9Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:00:53
10Ole Quast (Ger) Stevens Racing Team
11Elia Silvestri (Ita) Guerciotti0:00:59
12Marcel Meisen (Ger)0:01:03
13Tim Merlier (Bel)
14Karel Knik (Cze)
15Arnaud Grand (Swi) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team
16Tijmen Eising (Ned) Sunweb-Revor
17Vinnie Braet (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
18Jim Aernouts (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
19Jens Adams (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
20Twan van den Brand (Ned)
21Michiel van der Heijden (Ned)
22Kobus Hereijgers (Ned) ZZPR.nl0:01:30
23Ramon Sinkeldam (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:01:36
24Micki van Empel (Ned) ZZPR.nl0:01:49
25Kenneth Hansen (Den)0:01:58
26Matteo Trentin (Ita)0:02:01
27Sven Beelen (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:02:05
28David van der Poel (Ned) BKCP-Powerplus0:02:19
29Radek Polnicky (Cze)
30Angelo De Clercq (Bel)
31Joeri Hofman (Bel)0:02:24
32Xandro Meurisse (Bel) Cycling Champs0:02:34
33Michael Boroš (Cze) Cyklo Team Budvar Tábor0:02:39
34Daniel Summerhill (USA) Garmin/Team Holowesko Partners
35Kristof Cop (Bel) APB Cycling Team
36Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha Focus0:03:18
37Geert van der Horst (Ned)0:03:37
38Matej Lasák (Cze) Max Cursor0:03:44
39Aurelien Gizzi (Fra)0:03:52
40Jerome Townsend (USA) / Joe’s Garage / Scott0:04:00
41Jens Gys (Bel)0:04:10
42Ivo Plevák (Cze) Max Cursor0:04:25
43Michael Schweizer (Ger) Stevens Racing Team0:04:39
44Niels Koyen (Bel)0:04:44
45Raf Risbourg (Bel)0:04:50
46Jonas Guddal (Den)0:04:54
47Elie Regodst (Fra)0:05:05
48Steve Fisher (USA) Rad Racing Nw-Hagens Berman Llp
49Wenzel Bohm Graber (Ger)
50Paul Herman (Fra)0:05:18
51Chris Hurst (USA)
52Bart Barkhuis (Ned) WV Meteoor Assen-Roden
53Stef Boden (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:05:33
54Rudy Kowalski (Fra)0:05:52
55Jelle Cant (Bel)
56Cody Kaiser (USA) California Giant-Specialized0:07:08
57Joseph Schmalz (USA) KCCX/Verge p/b Challenge Tires
58Robin Poelvoorde (Bel)0:07:26
59Maxime Huygens (Bel)
60Vincent Van Hooste (Bel)-2laps
61Matthias Boetens (Bel)
62Sieën Veestraeten (Bel)
63Loris Tursi (Ita)
64Alexis Caresmel (Fra)-3laps
65Kris Vermeir (Bel)
66Jean-Baptiste Taleux (Fra)
67Bruce Dalton (GBr)



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!
Tagged as: , , , ,

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.