We can’t make this stuff up.

1989 Paris-Roubaix winner Jean-Marie Wampers was so confident that 2013 Cyclocross World Champion Sven Nys would win Belgium’s Sportsman of the Year title this year that he pledged to eat his newspaper if Nys didn’t.

Nys last won the award in 2008. Classics racer and sprinter Tom Boonen won in 2012, his third title.

Nys lost in voting to triathlete and 2013 Ironman World Champion Frederik Van Lierde, and it wasn’t very close.

When the result was announced, Wampers kept his promise, posting this picture to his Twitter account: