Compton was taking nearly 30 seconds per lap from her rivals. © Bart Hazen

Compton wins another World Cup in Kalmthout. (Out front in Koksijde © Bart Hazen )

Compton takes third World Cup win of the season in Kalmthout

by Bart Hazen

KALMTHOUT, BELGIUM – Newly re-crowned US National Champion Katie Compton has won the World Cup cyclocross in Kalmthout, Belgium. The Planet Bike rider soloed to an impressive win on the snowy and icy course to win by half a minute over world champion Marianne Vos and Czech national champ Katerina Nash (Luna). Sanne van Paassen, Sanne Cant, Pauline Ferrand-Prevot, Hanka Kupfernagel, Pavla Havlikova, Sophie de Boer and Arenda Grimberg rounded out the top ten. World Cup leader Daphny van den Brand wasn’t able to start due to illness and lost her leader’s jersey to compatriot van Paassen.

British national champion Helen Wyman had the fastest start, but the Kona rider wasn’t able to fight for the top positions as she couldn’t hold the perfect line and slipped away. In the opening lap van Paassen, Nash, Cant and yesterday’s Scheldecross winner Kupfernagel broke clear from the field. Seven- time US National Champion Katie Compton had a slow start, but once her engine was rolling, she quickly bridged up to the break, forming a five-rider group in the second of five laps.

World champion Marianne Vos had a bad start position due to her lack of UCI points (this is only her second cyclocross race of the season, including yesterday’s Scheldecross),  but she was on fire and quickly sliced through the field. By the end of lap two she was already in the top 10. But by then Compton had already flown the coop, and Vos could never close the gap to contend for the win.

The women's podium: Marianne Vos, Katie Compton, Katerina Nash ©Bart Hazen

The women's podium: Marianne Vos, Katie Compton, Katerina Nash ©Bart Hazen

Just over halfway through the race, Compton attacked and van Paassen and Nash couldn’t follow. Cant and Kupfernagel dropped off the back and were later joined by the impressive Marianne Vos and young French talent Pauline Ferrand-Prevot. Vos was clearly the strongest and left her competitors behind in the fourth lap in search of van Paassen and Nash. In no time Vos moved up to Nash and van Paassen in the battle for second.

Turning into the final lap, Compton had a lead of over 20 seconds, and the Colorado-based rider didn’t make any mistakes to take her third World Cup win of the season after Aigle and Koksijde. Vos finished in second after outsprinting Czech champion Katerina Nash.

In addition to Compton, a few other Americans started in the Kalmthout World Cup. Portland’s Sue Butler (Hudz-Subaru) finished in 24th at 3:26, CXM contributor Christine Vardaros (Baboco) finished in 36th at 5:12, and Meredith Miller (Cal Giant) finished in 38th at 5:32.

Stay tuned for rider comments.

Photo Gallery:

1Katherine COMPTONUSA3338:18200200
2Marianne VOSNED2438:49160160
3Katerina NASHCZE3438:53140140
4Sanne VAN PAASSENNED2339:05120120
5Sanne CANTBEL2139:37110110
6Pauline FERRAND PREVOTFRA1939:47100100
7Hanka KUPFERNAGELGER3739:569090
8Pavla HAVLIKOVACZE2840:178080
9Sophie DE BOERNED2140:277070
10Arenda GRIMBERGNED3340:286060
11Sabrina SCHWEIZERGER2140:285858
12Nikki HARRISGBR2540:295656
13Helen WYMANGBR3040:395454
14Jasmin ACHERMANNSUI2240:405252
15Ellen VAN LOYBEL3140:535050
16Linda VAN RIJENNED2340:574848
17Sabrina STULTIENSNED1840:574646
18Sabine SPITZGER4040:574444
19Christel FERRIER-BRUNEAUFRA3241:054242
20Nadia TRIQUET-CLAUDEFRA3341:284040
21Caroline MANIFRA2441:323939
22Gabriella DAYGBR2741:363838
23Susan BUTLERUSA4041:443737
24Elisabeth BRANDAUGER2641:533636
25Martina ZWICKGER2241:573535
26Reza HORMESNED4442:193434
27Tessa VAN NIEUWPOORTNED2042:403333
28Nancy BOBERBEL3642:503232
29Martina MIKULASKOVACZE1842:523131
30Margriet Helena KLOPPENBURGDEN2342:523030
31Anne ARNOUTSBEL2243:112929
32Daniela BRESCIANIITA2943:192828
33Elke RIEDLAUT4043:252727
34Eva COLINFRA1843:252626
35Ayako TOYOOKAJPN3143:262525
36Christine VARDAROSUSA4243:302424
37Gertie WILLEMSBEL3443:382323
38Meredith MILLERUSA3843:382222
39Genevieve WHITSONNZL3143:502121
40Nikoline HANSENDEN2443:582020
41Nathalie NIJNSBEL1844:001919
42Nicoletta BRESCIANIITA2544:121818
43Katrien THIJSBEL2644:151717
44Suzie GODARTLUX4944:211616
45Christine MAJERUSLUX241515
46Lana VERBERNENED191414