Netting his 14th win of the year, and increasing his 2015 BPost Bank Trofee series record to five-out-of-five, Wout van Aert (Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace) rode to a solo victory at Scheldecross in Antwerp, Belgium.

The first half of the race at Scheldecross was a tactical affair. Van Aert’s teammate Tim Merlier (Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace) took the holeshot and was able to string the race out for the first two laps.

With a lead group that included all of the ‘cross heads-of-state—Sven Nys (Crelan-AA Drink), Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb Napoleon Games), Mathieu van der Poel (BKCP-Powerplus), Lars van der Haar (Giant-Alpecin), among others— David van der Poel (BKCP-Powerplus) launched an attack in service of his brother Mathieu.

David van der Poel’s effort was short lived, after two laps off the front, he was absorbed by a chase group being driven by van der Haar through the start finish. With five laps to go, the race was back together at the front.

Biding their time perfectly, a mistake by van der Haar on a sandy uphill served as the launching point for van Aert and van der Poel. In the blink of an eye the duo had a gap, and were quickly building on it.

With the duo of van Aert and van der Poel established, a chase quickly formed behind with Nys, Pauwels and van der Haar trying to reel the lead duo in, and keep the time gaps close, as the BPost Bank Trofee series overall is time-based.

Chase as they might, the the second group did not make inroads to the leaders, and the race would be won from the leading duo.

Van der Poel was the first to attack our of the lead duo, trying to distance van Aert on an uphill kick, but his effort proved unsuccessful. Van Aert overtook van der Poel, and his relentless pace forced an error on a sand turn, with van der Poel having to put a foot down.

This brief mistake was all van Aert needed to launch his effort, and he opened an insurmountable gap, and continued to open it up until the finish, where he rolled across the line, arms raised, solo for the win.

Van der Poel finished 23 seconds down on van Aert. Making up from his decisive mistake, van der Haar recovered nicely, finishing in third, 31 seconds down on van Aert.

Be sure to check out our Scheldecross Elite Women’s race report to read how Sanne Cant got her 10th win of the year.

BPost Bank Trofee Scheldecross Elite Men's Results

1VAN AERT WoutBEL2158:29:00
2VAN DER POEL MathieuNED2058:52:000:23
3VAN DER HAAR LarsNED2459:00:000:31
4PAUWELS KevinBEL3159:03:000:34
5NYS SvenBEL3959:21:000:52
6VANTHOURENHOUT MichaelBEL2259:23:000:54
7VERMEERSCH GianniBEL2359:23:000:54
8VAN DER POEL DavidNED2359:23:000:54
9TARAMARCAZ JulienSUI2859:23:000:54
10SWEECK LaurensBEL2259:23:000:54
11PEETERS RobBEL3059:25:000:56
12MERLIER TimBEL2359:39:001:10
13SIMUNEK RadomirCZE3259:45:001:16
14BAESTAENS VincentBEL2659:50:001:21
15AERNOUTS JimBEL261:00:011:32
16WALSLEBEN PhilippGER281:00:221:53
17VANTHOURENHOUT DieterBEL301:00:261:57
18BOROS MichaelCZE231:00:452:16
19WUBBEN NielsNED271:00:592:30
20VAN KESSEL CorneNED241:01:082:39
21VAN AMERONGEN ThijsNED291:01:112:42
22VANDEKINDEREN JensBEL221:01:262:57
23SWEECK DietherBEL221:01:293:00
24ADAMS JoeriBEL261:01:473:18
25VAN LEEUWEN PatrickNED301:02:063:37
26CANT KevinBEL271:02:093:40
27HUYS StijnBEL291:02:524:23