Gazet van Antwerpen Trofee in Hasselt ©Bart Hazen

Stybar finally takes the top spot on the podium. ©Bart Hazen

by Bart Hazen

After many second and third places, Czech Zdenek Stybar (Telenet-Fidea) finally took a big win at the third race of the Gazet van Antwerpen Trofee in Hasselt. In a four-up sprint, “Styby” was the fastest over teammate Kevin Pauwels, World Champion Niels Albert and Sunweb’s Klaas Vantornout. Belgian Champion Sven Nys crashed mid-way through the race and could only finish in sixth. In the overall ranking, Albert retains his lead with 70 points followed closely by Nys and Stybar,  three and four points respectively.

Kevin Pauwels and Klaas Vantornout had the fastest start in Hasselt. Niels Albert went down in the second lap and Sven Nys, in the third.   It took Nys almost 45 seconds before he was back on his bike and his chances for the win were over. Albert had more luck and by the end of the third lap he was back in front.

In the meantime an elite break was forming with Niels Albert, Klaas Vantornout, Bart Aernouts, Kevin Pauwels and Zdenek Stybar. With less than four laps to go, Bart Aernouts made the most from the rivalry between the others and created a gap of over 10 seconds. The Rabobank Belgian stayed at the front for two laps before the work of Albert would bring the four others back into the mix.

On the final lap, an attack by Zdenek Stybar created a gap of 10 meters. Pauwels left the chase to the others with his teammate, Stybar, in front. Bart Aernouts took up the chase but paid for his efforts and dropped off the break.  The World Champion, Albert, went to work and the four leaders were back together as they entered the asphalt section towards the finish.

Gazet van Antwerpen Trofee in Hasselt ©Bart Hazen

Zdenek Stybar hold off his teammate Kevin Pauwels. ©Bart Hazen

The exciting finish came down to a sprint between the four – World Champion Niels Albert, teammates Zddenek Stybar and Kevin Pauwels and lastly, Klaas Vantornout.

Stybar started the sprint early and was able to hold off his teammate Pauwels by half a wheel. Albert and Vantornout finished as third and fourth at a few bike lengths.

Meeusen Adds to His Palmares

Tom Meeusen (Telenet-Fidea) won the U23 race in a similar style, outsprinting his three other breakaway companions. The Belgian beat European Champion and teammate Robert Gavenda, Jim Aernouts and Kenneth Van Compernolle.

Belgian Champion Vincent Baestaens animated the early laps. After his solo attempt was caught, a lead group of ten was formed with Meeusen, Gavenda, Aernouts, Van Compernolle, Baestaens, Jouffroy, Huenders, Denuwelaere, Bosmans and Boden.

The ten didn’t stay together for long as Aernouts, Meeusen, Gavenda, Van Compernolle and Baestaens broke clear. The latter was dropped and a sprint between the four others would decide the winner. Just as in Asper-Gavere Tom Meeusen was the best adding another victory to his impressive palmares.

Van Der Poel, Again

The junior races finished just as in Asper-Gavere last week. The sons of former professional, Adrie van der Poel were again winners. Mathieu van der Poel won the beginners race while David van der Poel took his fifth season win in the junior’s race.

Racing continues for the GVA Trofee on the 12th of December in Essen.
Photo Gallery:

Full Results:

Men’s Results:

1.     Zdenek Stybar (Tsj/Telenet-Fidea) 58:31

2.     Kevin Pauwels

3.     Niels Albert

4.     Klaas Vantornout

5.     Bart Aernouts 0:07

6.     Sven Nys 0:38

7.     Gerben de Knegt Ned)

8.     Radomir Simunek (Tsj)

9.     Dieter Vanthourenhout

10.  Rob Peeters

11.  Tom Van den Bosch

12.  Sven Vanthourenhout 1:06

13.  Thijs Al (Ned)

14.  Ben Berden 1:27

15.  Jan Soetens

16.  Mariusz Gil (Pol) 1:33

17.  Thijs van Amerongen (Ned)

18.  Martin Zlamalik (Tsj) 2:08

19.  Quentin Bertholet

20.  Philip Walsleben (Dui) 2:12

21.  Erwin Vervecken 2:43

22.  Tim Van Nuffel 2:47

23.  Christian Heule (Zwi) 3:19

24.  Marco Bianco (Ita) 3:24

25.  Eddy van IJzendoorn (Ned) 3:30

26.  Wilant van Gils (Ned) 3:53

27.  Jody Crawford (GBr) 4:30

28.  Rik van IJzendoorn (Ned) 5:12

29.  Baart Verschueren 5:22

30.  Lukas Kloucek (Tsj)

31.  Ken Smets 6:59

32.  Naranbat Ariunbold (Mol)

33.  Bolbaatar (Mol)

34.  Gaminde Fernandez (Spa)

U23 Results:

1.     Tom Meeusen (Essen) 52:40

2.     Robert Gavenda (Svk)

3.     Jim Aernouts

4.     Kenneth Van Compernolle

5.     Vincent Baestaens 0:07

6.     Mitchell Huenders (Ned) 0:10

7.      Jan Denuwelaere 0:19

8.     Wietse Bosmans

9.     Stef Boden

10.  Arnaud Jouffroy (Fra) 0:30

11.  Mitchi van Empel (Ned) 0:58

12.  Marcel Meisen (Dui

13.  Sascha Weber (Dui) 1:19

14.  Kevin Cant

15.  Dave De Cleyn 1:42

16.  Kristof Cop 1:59

17.  Karel Hnik (Tsj) 2:08

18.  Zeb Willems 2:18

19.  Dries Pauwels

20.  Sonny Volders 2:27

21.  Niels Koyen

22.  Jonathan Bervoets 2:33

23.  Jan Van Zeebroeck 2:39

24.  Sieën Veestraeten 2:44

25.  Dany Lacroix 3:06

26.  Ruben Veestraeten 3:41

27.  Zeb Veestraeten 5:06

28.  Bart Barkhuis (Ned) 5:22

29.  Naran Khangarid (Mon) 5:30

30.  Karl Peeters 5:42

31.  Ingmar Uytdewilligen 6:10

32.  Baasankhuu (Mon) 6:30

33.  Rutger La Haye

34.  Bert Vermeiren

35.  Pawel Szczepaniak (Pol)

36.  Rinze De Proost

37.  Michael Peeters

38.  Brandon Mart (USA)

39.  Kristof Zegers

Junior’s Results:

1 David van der Poel 0:43:10

2 Bart de Vocht

3 Gianni Vermeersch

4 Dries Heylen 00:20

5 Diether Sweeck 00:46

6 Jeroen Meijers 00:50

7 Frederik Geerts 00:50

8 Hendrik Sweeck 0:50

9 Kenny Kastelijn 01:10

10 Maxim Panis 01:10