The first traverse across the hill had deep ruts which sent some riders flying off the course.© Amy Dykema

Some riders got off to a flying start. © Amy Dykema

by Jim Lentfer and Cyclocross Magazine

Blues skies and a light breeze greeted the morning racers, who soon found that everything from puddles to the bike wash hoses remained frozen after overnight temperatures had again dipped into the mid 20s. Day two of the Carousel Volkswagen Jingle Cross Rock offered different lighting, temperatures and course conditions from yesterday’s cold night race, and at the end of the day, the result was two new winners.

Race winner Amanda Miller has a big gap on the field. © Amy Dykema

Race winner Amanda Miller took a big win on Day 2. © Amy Dykema

Amanda Miller (Hudz-Subaru) took revenge after yesterday’s ill-timed mechanical and escaped for the win over her teammate Nicole Duke and Devon Haskell (Bike Station-Aptos). Yesterday’s winner, Meredith Miller (Cal Giant) finished in fourth.

Miller attacked on the Mt. Krumpit climb on the first lap to open up a gap – which she held for the rest of the race. Meredith Miller hung tough in second place until a mechanical in the waning laps would eventually knock her back. The Cal Giant rider would battle back to Haskell for a final dig at getting on the podium, but a crash on the last lap would leave her in fourth.

The barriers don't require big steps for Trebon. © Michael McColgan

There were no barriers to a victory for Trebon. © Michael McColgan

In the men’s race, Kona’s Ryan Trebon and Barry Wicks took to the front early again, but this time it was Trebon who lasted, not Wicks. Trebon would battle Todd Wells (Specialized-Cal Giant) for the lead, while Chris Jones (Rapha-Focus) once again overcame a slower start to reconnect with the leaders. That quartet would separate itself from the rest of the field and battle for the spoils. Jones would later crash, and Trebon would open up the gas to win by 30 seconds.

The Mt Krumpit run-up proved to be the decisive course feature, and Trebon was able to add precious seconds each time he made the ascent. Todd Wells would remain with the Kona rider the longest, but a swift run up the climb by Trebon with three laps to go just after a crash by Chris Jones would give him a gap he could hold for the remainder.

Last night’s winner Jamey Driscoll ( did not take the start. Still an undergrad at University of Vermont, Driscoll told Cyclocross Magazine that he was “working on papers as well as resting up for tomorrow.” But he knows after skipping today’s race, that “the pressure’s on” for the C1 on Sunday.

Elite racer Robin Williams and her friends had a blast cheering on their teammates and friends. © Amy Dykema

Elite racer Robin Williams and her friends had a blast cheering on their teammates and friends. © Amy Dykema

Most of the boisterous crowd were sunning themselves along the muddy run-up, as well as lining the course, at the summit of Mt. Krumpit. The long, chopped up run-up certainly confused some of the men’s Elite riders who actually rode the bottom half, despite being passed by their running counterparts. Once cresting Mt. Krumpit, the racers were treated to a reverse of a portion Friday’s course and rocketed down yesterday’s climb, getting their revenge on the narrow rutted section punctuated at the bottom by the first of several muddy drainage crossings. The course extended to the southern reaches of the fairgrounds, enabling the course to cross the muddy drainage four more times. Beginners to Elites mixed riding with running the deepest of the crossings, which became more soupy and challenging as the temps warmed into the upper 30s.

Elite Men on Lap 1:

The course again included trips through agricultural barns of the Johnson County Fairgrounds, including the Grinch’s Lair which was again mysteriously filled with sand. Although the gravel corners near the SRAM pit became more treacherous after being worked by numerous races, the grassy loops and straights of the Whoville Whirly yielded superior traction due to dry conditions leading to the synthetic turf covered flyover.

Racing action concludes with the event’s third day on Sunday, with the men’s UCI C1 race offering maximum UCI points. Also benefiting is the University of Iowa Children’s Hospital, the charity recipient of Jingle Cross Rock.

Check back soon for a full report. Remember to tune in tomorrow for live coverage of Day 3 of Cyclocross Magazine’s community-based Jingle Cross live coverage feed.

Photo Gallery by Amy Dykema:

Photo Gallery by Kate Hannah:

Photo Gallery by Michael McColgan:

Elite Men tackle the run up Mt. Krumpit


Elite Men

1Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona0:55:02
2Todd Wells (USA) Specialized0:00:30
3Christopher Jones (USA) Rapha Focus0:01:00
4Barry Wicks (USA) Kona0:01:26
5Tristan Schouten (USA)
6Mark Lalonde (USA) Specialized0:01:40
7Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar0:02:26
8Nicholas Weighall (USA) California Giant-Specialized0:02:49
9Brian Matter (USA) Gear Grinder0:02:56
10Ryan Iddings (USA) Redline0:03:02
11Adam Bergman (USA) Texas RoadHouse Cycling Team p/b Motorex0:03:05
12Jake Wells (USA) Hudz-Subaru0:03:19
13Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha Focus0:03:36
14Chris Hurst (USA)0:03:40
15Steve Tilford (USA) TradeWind Energy/The Trek Stores0:03:48
16Jack Hinkens (USA) Team Plan C p/b Stevens0:04:37
17Mitchell Hoke (USA) Clif Bar Development Team0:04:50
18Christian Helmig (Ger) Metro Volkswagen Cycling Team0:04:59
19Cody Kaiser (USA) California Giant-Specialized0:05:03
20Ryan Knapp (USA) BikeReg.com0:05:14
21John Curry (USA) GAS/Intrinsik
22Kevin McConnell (USA) mercy-specialized0:06:05
23Mike Sherer (USA) The Pony Shop0:06:22
24Clayton Omer (USA) Papa Johns’ Racing Team0:07:28
25Michael Hemme (USA) Courage0:07:55
26Andrew Coe (USA) SKC Racing0:08:10
27Christopher Fisher (USA) Velorochester0:08:46
28Jesse Rients (USA) Nature Valley/Penn Cycle0:08:51
29Peter Hurst (USA) AXA Equitable Cycling Team/CRCA0:08:52
30Adam Mills (USA) KCCX/Verge p/b Challenge Tires0:09:58
31Teodoro Ramos (USA) Iron Cycles
32Mathew Allen (USA) behind bars/ little guy racing
33Jeremiah Gantzer (USA) Bikes 2 You
34John Meehan (USA) Bissell

Elite Women

1Amanda Miller (USA) Hudz-Subaru0:34:40
2Nicole Duke (USA) Hudz-Subaru0:00:31
3Devon Haskell (USA) Bike Station Aptos0:00:45
4Meredith Miller (USA) California Giant-Specialized0:00:50
5Kari Studley (USA) Redline0:01:04
6Ashley James (USA) Team Kenda0:01:09
7Kim Eppen (USA) Mercy-Specialized0:01:15
8Teal Stetson-Lee (USA) California Giant-Specialized0:01:21
9Amanda Carey (USA) Kenda-Felt0:01:37
10Linda Sone (USA) Planet Bike0:01:44
11Samantha Schneider (USA) Team TIBCO/To The Top0:02:46
12Megan Elliott (USA) Black Mountain Bicycles0:03:03
13Lisa Curry (USA) GAS/Intrinsik0:03:12
14Brittany McConnell (USA) iowa city cycling club0:03:22
15Corey Coogan (USA) Team Plan C p/b Stevens0:03:45
16Sydney Brown (USA) Joyride Bicycles0:03:56
17Emily Thurston (USA) Missing Link0:04:03
18Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld.com0:04:20
19Robin Williams (USA) Mercy-Specialized0:04:35
20Darcy Sanford (USA) Iowa City Cycling0:04:45
21Jeanne Fleck (USA) VELO Duluth/Twin Ports Cyclery0:05:10
22Holly Klug (USA) Pony Shoop0:05:37
23Emma Bast (USA) Team Plan C0:05:40
24Catherine Walberg (USA) Team Kenda0:06:56
25Nicole Borem (USA) DRT Racing