Niels Albert took to the front after a slow start. © Bart Hazen

Albert took to the front after a slow start. © Bart Hazen

Cyclocross Superprestige #2 – Hoogstraten

HOOGSTRATEN, Belgium.  World Champion Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) won the second race of the Superprestige in Hoogstraten, his eighth victory of the season. In a race pummeled by heavy rain, the prince of Belgian cyclocross beat Czech champion Zdenek Stybar (Fidea) and Belgian champion Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet-Colnago). Kevin Pauwels (Telnet-Fidea) and Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb-Projob) finished in fourth and fifth places.

Czech Martin Zlamalik (Auto Hasse) took the holeshot, with Albert giving chase from fifteenth place after missing his start. In the second lap, Albert bridged up to the break, only to go down again.

Up front, Albert’s teammate Radomir Simunek took the lead from Zlamalik. As the rain turned the course into a mudslide, both Nys and Pauwels crashed and had to fight back from outside the top 20.


Niels Albert takes a SuperPrestige win in Hoogstraten. ©Bart Hazen

Albert would rejoin the break and the World Champion didn’t wait for the chasing Nys and immediately attacked with Stybar following.

Albert dropped Stybar on the hilly course, holding a ten second lead  Despite a gap of 40 seconds behind Albert, Nys moved from the back to battle for third place with Vantornout, Pauwels, Simunek, Gerben de Knegt (Rabobank) and Erwin Vervecken (Fidea).

Going into the penultimate lap, Albert held his ten second lead on Stybar and put in a flawless finish. Nys proved to be the strongest of the rest and dropped his companions for third place.

With this win, Albert took the overall Superprestige lead from Nys, with Stybar following in third.  Albert’s position is tenuous, as Nys is behind by one point and Stybar by two.

The next Superprestige race will be on November 15 in Asper-Gavere, Belgium.

Photo gallery:

Full Results:

1Niels ALBERTBEL241:03:3660
2Zdenek STYBARCZE251:03:5240
3Sven NYSBEL341:04:4830
4Kevin PAUWELSBEL261:05:0425
5Klaas VANTORNOUTBEL281:05:2420
6Gerben DE KNEGTNED351:05:3418
7Radomir SIMUNEKCZE271:05:5816
8Erwin VERVECKENBEL381:06:0814
9Bart AERNOUTSBEL281:06:0912
10Dieter VANTHOURENHOUTBEL251:06:0910
11Rob PEETERSBEL251:06:228
12Jan VERSTRAETENBEL321:06:426
13Wilant VAN GILSNED311:06:494
14Thijs VAN AMERONGENNED241:06:492
15Martin ZLAMALIKCZE281:06:591
16Philipp WALSLEBENGER231:07:42
17Ben BERDENBEL351:08:10
18Ian FIELDGBR241:08:27
19Tom VAN DEN BOSCHBEL251:08:27
20Quentin BERTHOLETBEL231:08:37
21Jody CRAWFORTHGBR301:08:44
22Marco BIANCOITA281:08:53
23Tim VAN NUFFELBEL291:09:25
26Zoltan TISZAHUN43