Jonathan Page cruising to a win

Jonathan Page Natasha Elliott score wins on both days of the Jonathan Page Planet Bike Cup

by Renee Callaway

Saturday and Sunday’s Jonathan Page Planet Bike Cup elite men’s race had a stacked field with Jonathan Page (Planet Bike), Todd Wells (GT), Bjorn Selander (Ridley), Troy Wells (Clif Bar) and on Sunday Tim Johnson ( in Wisconsin for the race. Add to this three Swiss riders, a Canadian and riders from throughout the US and the racing action was relentless on both days.

On Sunday, Page and the Wells brothers were joined by Tim Johnson and the four quickly got off the front of the field with Swiss rider Michael Mueller (Planet Bike) chasing on his own. Page made three visits to the pits to swap bikes but made his way back to the group each time. However, when Johnson was forced to go into the pits Page and Todd Wells got a gap and the race turned into a two man show. The crowd, filled with local Planet Bike and GT employees as well as fans from throughout the Midwest, went crazy as Page and Wells matched each over the barriers and up the run up and through the twisty grass chicanes. With one lap to go it was any man’s race as they headed up the last hill to the finishing straight. However, in the end Page had just that little bit more and took his second win of the weekend. Troy Wells was able to hang on for third place with Michael Mueller close behind with a hard charging Bjorn Selander in fifth.

In the elite women’s race Natasha Elliott (EMD Serono/Stevens) once again dominated the race and took an early lead that no one could challenge. Just behind her though Sarah Kerlin (HRS/Rock Lobster) was locked in a duel with Junior National Champion Anna Young (Planet Bike). Going into the last lap Young was on Kerlin’s wheel and made a pass on the run-up. However, the experienced Kerlin bided her time and on the climb to the finish surged ahead to hold on to second place with Young just behind in third. Devon Haskell (Pony Shop) and Kathy Sherwin (Vello Bella-Kona) rounded out the podium.

Day 1 coverage is here. Full Results below.

Photos from Jamie Young:

Full Results, Day 2:

Elite Women

1*ELLIOTT NatashaEmd Serono/StevensCAN00:40:53
2*KERLIN SarahHrs/ Rock LobsterUSA00:41:29
3*YOUNG AnnaPlanet BikeUSA00:41:29
4*HASKELL DevonPony ShopUSA00:42:26
5*SHERWIN KathyVelo Bella – KonaUSA00:42:36
6*WALBERG CatherineTrekUSA00:42:44
7*STEWART MariaVelo BellaUSA00:42:44
8*SONE LindaRidley Factory TeamUSA00:43:21
9*WENTWORTH KristinPlanet BikeUSA00:44:00
10*ANTONNEAU KaitlinNova-IscorpUSA00:44:07
11*KLUG HollyKilljoyUSA00:44:14
12*COOGAN CoreyRidley Factory TeamUSA00:44:28
13*WILLIAMS RobinMercy-SpecializedUSA00:45:11
14*PISCHKE AmandaCapitol Velo ClubUSA00:45:23
15*HILDEBRAND EliciaGear GrinderUSA00:46:16
16*KARLEN MoniqueTeam Kenda TireUSA00:47:53
17*KROLL WhitneyCane CreekUSA-1 lap
18*BROWN SydneyMidwest Trek/Sram (Cx) – Team Revolution (Road)USA-2 laps
DNF*MUCH RebeccaXxx Racing-AthleticoUSADNF
DNS*ERICSSON MicheleCapitol Velo ClubUSADNS

Elite Men:

1PAGE JonathanPlanet BikeUSA01:01:26
2WELLS ToddGtUSA01:01:26
3WELLS TroyTeam Clif BarUSA01:02:05
4MUELLER MichaelPlanet BikeSUI01:02:11
5SELANDER BjornRidley Factory TeamUSA01:02:58
6JOHNSON TimothyCannondaleUSA01:03:11
7LALONDE MarkPlanet BikeUSA01:03:11
8MATTER BrianGear GrinderUSA01:03:11
9LALONDE JessePlanet BikeUSA01:03:27
10CORMINBOEUF YvesTeam Scott-Sram-Pro CyclesSUI01:04:03
11BERGMAN AdamTexas RoadhouseUSA01:04:09
12TILFORD SteveTrek StoresUSA01:04:09
13ST JOHN DerrickSteven’S CrossCAN01:05:14
14SCHOLZEN StevenIscorpUSA01:05:53
15BRANDT MattMesa CyclesUSA01:06:10
16JOHNSON JoshBig Shark RacingUSA01:06:13
17WOODRUFF TravisMomentumendurance.ComUSA01:06:45
18EPPEN BrianMercy-SpecializedUSA01:07:29
19LEMIEUX PatBianchi/GpUSA01:07:51
20CONANT BrianThe Pony ShopUSA01:07:53
21ROESSINGH JordanIscorp Cycling Team/Nova Cycle Sports Foundation, Inc.USA-1 lap
22POPPER BenjaminHrs / Rock LobsterUSA-1 lap
23MCLAUGHLIN ScottSram Factory TeamUSA-1 lap
24CAMERON MollyVanilla BicyclesUSA-2 laps
25JACOBSON KyleNova/Is CorpUSA-2 laps
26MCCAULEY CaseyNova/Is CorpUSA-3 laps
27NILES LanceBrones’ Bike Shop/RvccUSA-4 laps
28STREET BillGear GrinderUSA-5 laps
29ECKERT SethGdvcUSA-5 laps
30HACKWORTHY DavidRidleyUSA-5 laps
31HAUGH SpencerGrumpy’S/LgrUSA-6 laps
DNFBERRY GrantRocky Mtn Choc FactoryUSA 
DNFDESSIBOURG GuillameTeam Bmc-TekerSUI 
DNFNEFF IsaacAlderfer BergenUSA 
DNFBARTHEL RyanRocky Mtn Chocolate FactoryUSA 
DNSBAKER JonathanVitamin CottageUSA 
DNSDOWNS RobertPlanet BikeUSA 
DNSRICE NathanMichelob Ultra-Big SharkUSA 
DNSOGILVIE ScottBare Knuckle BrigadeUSA