Sunday Preview: Hoogerheide World Cup

Pin It
Stybar wins the 2012 Liévin World Cup in France. ©Bart Hazen

Stybar wins the 2012 Liévin World Cup in France. ©Bart Hazen

by Evan Schmitt | @evanschmitt

After a weekend in France, the World Cup season finishes up in the Dutch town of Hoogerheide on the course that hosted the 2009 World Championships. On Sunday, January 22, 249 athletes from 19 different nations will start the race in Hoogerheide. This is the final tune up race for athletes racing in next week’s World Championships in Koksijde, Belgium. Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) and Katie Compton (Rabobank-Giant) won the Hoogerheide World Cup in 2011.

World Champion Zdenek Stybar (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) is on fire now that he won last week’s World Cup in France. He will be challenged by current World Cup leader Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Revor), who was second last week in France. Radomir Simunek (BKCP-Powerplus) is on good form after his third place ride last week and Belgian National Champion Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet) is looking for a win after finishing fourth last week. On the American squad for Hoogerheide will be National Champion Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus), Ryan Trebon (LTS-Felt), Tim Johnson (, Jonathan Page (Planet Bike), Jamey Driscoll ( and Chris Jones (Rapha-Focus).

Marianne Vos took the win at Lieven World Cup 2012. ©Bart Hazen

Marianne Vos took the win at Lieven World Cup 2012. ©Bart Hazen

Current World Champion Marianne Vos (Nederland-bloeit) is nearly unstoppable after her commanding victory in France last week. But do not count out the regular podium finishers behind her that are ready to pounce when Vos makes a mistake. Daphny van den Brand (AA-Drink) showed some fitness last week with a second place in France. American National Champion Compton is also hungry to knock off Vos, after her third place last weekend in France. The American team backing up Compton will be Meredith Miller (Cal Giant), Katie Antonneau (, Amy Dombroski (Crankbrothers), Nicole Duke (, Andrea Smith and Christine Vardaros (Baboco).

In the U23 men’s race, American National Champion Zach McDonald (Rapha-Focus) and runner-up Cody Kaiser (Cal Giant) will be the two Americans in the field. McDonald will be looking to improve on his 18th place from last week. In the Junior men’s race, the US will field a team including Drew Dillman, Curtis White, Tobin Ortenblad and Cypress Gorry.



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!
Tagged as: , , ,

We are sure of it @Niiicky! If you wear any pink tomorrow (wherever you are), be sure to tweet a picture! #OPQS

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.