Stybar Outsprints Nys in Kermiscross

Pin It
Stybar posts up the win © Bart Hazen

Stybar, shown here in last week's GvA, had a tighter battle in Kermiscross © Bart Hazen

As the year’s first World Cup rapidly approaches – on Sunday in Aigle, Switzerland – Zdenek Stybar (Telent-Fidea) continued his impressive start to the season by claiming his fifth consecutive win today in Ardooie, Belgium. Stybar and Belgian champion Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet) came into the finishing stretch together, and Nys launched his final attack a long way from the line. Stybar was able to stay on terms and provide a finishing kick of his own to claim the day’s prize.

Just under a minute back, Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb-Revor) led the charge to claim the final podium spot in front of Niels Albert, who looks to be steadily making his way back to top-end form.

Stybar, the reigning World Champion, will put his undefeated season to the test in Sunday’s World Cup, the most important contest to date this season.

Full Results:

Rank Name Nat. Result
1 Zdenek STYBAR CZE 01:01:08
2 Sven NYS BEL 01:01:08
3 Klaas VANTORNOUT BEL 01:02:02
4 Niels ALBERT BEL 01:01:52
5 Rob PEETERS BEL 01:01:44
6 Dieter VANTHOURENHOUT BEL 01:01:36
7 Jim AERNOUTS BEL 01:01:25
8 Thijs VAN AMERONGEN NED 01:01:25
9 Jonathan PAGE USA 01:01:25
11 Thijs AL NED 01:01:25
12 Ian FIELD GBR 01:01:41
13 Marco BIANCO ITA 01:01:41
14 Kenneth VAN COMPERNOLLE BEL 01:01:41
15 Philipp WALSLEBEN GER 01:02:11
16 Tom VAN DEN BOSCH BEL 01:02:20
17 Eddy VAN IJZENDOORN NED 01:02:32
18 Vinnie BRAET BEL 01:02:36
19 Steven DE DECKER BEL 01:02:39
20 Matthieu BOULO FRA 01:02:39
21 Gianni DENOLF BEL 01:02:52
22 Florian LE CORRE FRA 01:02:57
23 Quentin BERTHOLET BEL 01:03:02
24 Wietse BOSMANS BEL 01:03:14
25 Robby COBBAERT BEL 01:03:14
26 Stijn PENNE BEL 01:03:26
27 Tom VANNOPPEN BEL 01:03:46
28 Wilant VAN GILS NED 01:03:53
29 Xandro MEURISSE BEL 01:04:06
30 Kendric VAN GREMBERGEN BEL 01:04:14
31 Kristof COP BEL 01:04:24
32 Bart HOFMAN BEL 01:04:33
33 Rikke DIJKXHOORN NED 01:05:59
36 Adrien PASCAL FRA
37 Matthias BOETENS BEL
39 Jean-Baptiste TALEUX FRA
40 Brian HOSTE BEL



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!
Tagged as: , , , , ,

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you: